We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best tour to do in Cambodia”
Review of Butterfly Tours

Butterfly Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Sunset and Batcaves
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Like the beautiful and serene butterfly, Butterfly Tour seeks to introduce visitors to the lush and peaceful Cambodian countryside of Battambang, Siem Reap, and Kampot. Our bicycle tours are led by local student leaders who are keen to share their extensive knowledge about Cambodian communities, its people, and traditions. Visitors will have the opportunity to encounter and experience local Cambodian life at a comfortable pace, away from the usual tourist hotspots.
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

We did the traditional livelihood full-day bike tour. Everything was awesome including our guide Vanna, the food and the places we have been. This is your chance to meet local people and interact with them as they show you how they prepare bamboo rice cake, rice paper, rice noodles, rice alcool, fried bananas and more. The guide provides as much water as you need during the tour, snacks and lunch. The road is always flat but be prepared to sweat because of the intense heat. We did the tour in april and it was 42 degres! However, there is no rush and you can stop anytime you need to. Also, Butterfly Tour is a student initiative run by students. It is always good to support that kind of project!

Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopheap897, Manager at Butterfly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Dear Melissa,

We are very happy to learn you have enjoyed our Traditional Livelihood Full-Day Bike Tour. Thanks you for your time to try out our activities like how they prepare bamboo rice cake, rice paper, rice noodles, rice wine, fried bananas and more . Thanks once again to write us a five star review here. Your support was appreciated by joining student inititive activities that it is hard to find and you helped all the families we visited. We hope to see you again in the near future. Please enjoy the rest of your traveling around.

All the best,
Butterfly Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"livelihoods tour"
in 33 reviews
"rice noodles"
in 24 reviews
"local students"
in 15 reviews
"the bat cave tour"
in 4 reviews
"student run"
in 4 reviews
"morning tour"
in 7 reviews
"dried bananas"
in 13 reviews
"local food"
in 12 reviews
"tuk tuk"
in 22 reviews
"back roads"
in 5 reviews
"bike riding"
in 3 reviews
"visiting local"
in 4 reviews
"spoke very good english"
in 6 reviews
"tour takes"
in 3 reviews
"great tour"
in 14 reviews
"great insight"
in 6 reviews
"killing caves"
in 17 reviews
Filter

72 - 76 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2016

A few days ago we did a full day bicycle tour with Butterfly Tours and we had such good fun. Our guide for the day; Chenda, was a local student and he, along with about 15 other students, ran the company with the ethos to "turn more Cambodian people into employers instead of employees." We spent the full day cycling around the Cambodian countryside with several stops to learn about and sample local street food and other traditional food and drink. We visited a stunning temple and learned a little of Cambodia's harrowing history. We had a delicious feast of local dishes for lunch and then had chill out time after to laze in a hammock. The afternoons cycle included a visit to a heritage house and a bone shaking rocket of a ride on the local bamboo train. Chenda was fun, friendly and informative throughout the day and really added to our experience. Overall the tour was the perfect way to see the real Cambodia and have good fun whilst doing it.

Thank EmsieOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopheap897, Manager at Butterfly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Dear EmsieOnTour,

First of all we would like to say THANKS to you for your time to leave us a sweat review on Tripadvisor about Butterfly Tour Battambang(Full-Day Bicycle Tour). It was a great honor to get you as our client, we were very glad to have heard you really enjoyed with our activities. As you said we are student and we would like to turn more Cambodian people into employers instead of employees, we are building up our bright future together to push our country developped. Thank you again for your strongly support, your review would help others to get to know our team and join with us. Good luck and enjoy the rest of your trip, we hope strongly to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Butterfly Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

My wife and I signed up for the Battambang Full Day bicycle tour. Our resort host warned us that we should do a 1/2 day due to the heat but we wanted the full experience. It was awesome. Tuk Tuk pickup was included from our resort to the tour location. They give you a hat which is great since it was our first day in Cambodia and hadn't bought one yet. We had two guides just for the two of us which was great. We saw a temple turned to a prison, bamboo rice, ate morning soup at the market, rice noodle making, rice wine making/tasting, fish paste making (optional due to the INTENSE smell), dried banana making (I got to try my hand at it), ate lunch at the rice paper house, saw an old wooden house and the bamboo train.They included water whenever we needed it, a sugar cane drink, and a coconut so the experience encompasses just about everything.

Such a great experience to see the local people in their everyday life. I think it was about 7-8 hours in total pick up to drop off. It was so great we did another tour in Kampot with the same company but on Motor Bikes.

2  Thank Christopher1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopheap897, Manager at Butterfly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Dear Christopher,

We are very happy to learn you were impressed our Full-day tour and thank you very much for writing us a great review on TripAdvisor. It was our great honor to have guided you around Battambang to learn about life style of the villagers, tried their hand-made products like bamboo rice , rice noodle, rice wine and so on. We are trying to create more tours to offer tourists. We just can`t thank enough for your strongly support and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Enjoy your day,

Butterfly Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Excellent. Superb guide. She was lively and did everything to make our cycle ride comfortable. All stops were great and guide was very knowledgable. So nice to see local people doing local jobs. The older lady and gentleman who were drying bananas were so welcoming. Highly recommend the livelihoods tour half day. Be warned the fish market stinks so close your nose and breath through mouth lol

Thank leehuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopheap897, Manager at Butterfly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

Dear Leehuckle,

Thank you very much for your time to get us a sweet review what you have done with us. Your guide and the rest of our team are very glad to hear you enjoyed our activities( Traditional Livelihoods Tour) around Battambang seeing people made their hand-products by eyes. Thank once again and we hope to you again.

Enjoy the rest of your trveling,

Butterfly Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We booked the half-day Traditional Livelihoods tour of Battambang based on excellent TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed! We were met promptly at our hotel by Tuk Tuk and taken to the offices of Butterfly Tour where we met our guides for the afternoon. We were a little wary of riding through the city but one of our guides led us and the other stayed at the back so we felt safe at all times. We saw how rice paper, rice wine, rice noodles and dried banana were made. We also visited the fish market to see how fish paste was made - it was very smelly but fascinating to see! At each stop we tasted the produce, which was all delicious, so don't eat before you go! Our guides were both lovely, informative, spoke excellent English and were really good fun to be with. I would highly recommend booking this tour, it was wonderful riding through the countryside and so interesting to see how the Cambodian people live.

Thank LadyWillow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopheap897, Manager at Butterfly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Dear LadyWillow2014,

Thank you very much for getting us a top star review about our tour.We were very glad to learn you were impressed with our tour "Livelihoods"(people making different food products like dried banana, bamboo sticky rice cakes, rice wine, noodles, and fish past....) and guide. We are here university students who learning and building up our abilities by guiding,meeting new people like you. Again, thanks for your strongly support and we hope to see you next time in the near future.

Enjoy the rest of your traveling around Cambodia/SE Asia,

Butterfly Team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butterfly Tours also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Butterfly Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing