We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Francisco de Aguirre Hotel
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in La Serena
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The hotel was In great condition. Evidently the construction that others complained about has been completed. The hotel staff was very amiable, but I did not understand why I could not check in before 3 pm even though rooms were available. Like in much of Chile, the wifi connections were weak, but worked well in the lobby. Without a doubt, the pictures that I took of the condors on top of the church across the street was a moment that MasterCard would find priceless.

La Serena was interesting and the central market was a short walk from the hotel. Try one of the restaurants in La Recova, the central shopping center, in the center of town. Your decision on which restaurant to choose should largely depend on the weather and the time of the year. In May, the southern restaurants are cooler and the northern restaurants are warmer.

I walked the more than a mile to the faro, the light house, but I stopped at a beachside hotel and asked them to call me a collective taxi to take back. In general, and with normal precautions, you should be able to feel safe here.








Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EstebanRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

Probably ok for business and conferences. Far from homely and nice. Overpriced and a bit run down.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europetravellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed for two nights and used it as a base for la Serena - Coquimbo. Great location near the plaza de armas and the centre of la Serena. Across from the park and near all transportation. We took advantage of the free underground parking.

The rooms were adequate and the bathroom was renovated even in our ¨Normal¨room. Each room has a safe and a bar fridge - not necessarily a guarantee in Chile. We enjoyed the pool which is in a courtyard and surrounded by hibiscus - very refreshing on a hot day. The morning buffet was adequate - nothing special but good enough.

The service was underwhelming. This seems to be a constant theme in Chilean hotels and retaurants in my experience. The front desk could provide no information about restaurants or transit and provided a poorly photocopied map of downtown la Serena. And don´t even try to call the front desk from your room as they won´t answer it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The difficulty with reviewing this hotel is that there is such a difference between the Superior rooms and the Normal rooms. The Superior rooms are newly remodeled with wood floors, great showers, lots of light and simply have that new modern feel. They deserve a 4.5 star rating. The Normal rooms, which are less expensive, are in the older part of this colonial hotel and define the word "average". Everything works, they are clean, and there are views to the swimming pool/garden, or to the church across the street. These are the rooms other reviewers refer to as small, but we would stay even in these rooms anytime we stay in La Serena.
The big plus is location, near the main plaza and park, and the main shopping streets.
Hint to the owners: if you want to attract visitors from outside Chile, use expensive coffee beans for your breakfasts. The coffee you serve now tastes like Nescafe. You will be amazed how this will put guests into a better mood for favorable TripAdvisor reviews!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Superior room unless you are on a budget. The corner Superior room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifeafteracctg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The location of the hotel is good, but have small rooms, the bathrooms were not very clean, if you want to get dress in the bathroom, you aren't going to have problems

Is good people who travel in bussines and is going to stay only 1 or 2 day, is not for tourist.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulmue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My room was tiny, the wardrobe door was broken and couldn't open, the bathroom wasn't big enough to get dressed in, the toilet broke and the breakfast was poor. However, the hotel is superbly located, next to the plaza de armas, there's free internet and it was clean. For a short trip where you only sleep in the hotel, it's fine, however, I expected more from a 3-4* hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank eurojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Yes, they are doing some construction. But other than some noise (after 8am and quiet before bedtime), the place was really quite nice. The rooms are clean. The bathrooms are tiny (but this is throughout Chile). The pool was nice as the sun was shining and just to relax in the quiet was good. It's right around the corner from the main plaza, so you get some noise from that, but it wasn't enough to keep you up all night. You can walk to just about anything from this location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Serena hotels
0.2 mi away
Costa Real
Costa Real
#8 of 24 in La Serena
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Diego de Almagro
Hotel Diego de Almagro
#5 of 24 in La Serena
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Cid
Hotel del Cid
#14 of 24 in La Serena
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Playa Campanario Hotel
Playa Campanario Hotel
#22 of 24 in La Serena
122 reviews
1.6 mi away
Canto Del Mar Hotel
Canto Del Mar Hotel
#13 of 24 in La Serena
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primera Hacienda Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francisco de Aguirre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francisco de Aguirre Hotel

Address: Gregorio Cordovez 210, La Serena 1710100, Chile
Region: Chile > Coquimbo Region > La Serena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in La Serena
Price Range: £70 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Francisco de Aguirre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Atrapalo, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Francisco de Aguirre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing