We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portillo Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Plaza Hotel(Los Andes)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Los Andes(Los Andes)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Valle Nevado(Valle Nevado)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
139
70
15
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
70
15
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski resortcruise shipandes mountainsmain restaurantinteresting peoplechilliamazing hotelrooms are smalloff pistesantiago airportski schoolsnow conditionsother resortsdel incaoverlooking the lakeexperienced skiersactivities planned
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Skiing in South America: Portillo has one great part about it: community. It does really feel like cruise ship/ski lodge. I went with my sister and we had a blast. NOTE: we were both 20 somethings and for us it was very expensive, I lived in Chile for a year and wanted to ski in the Andes, I heard that Portillo was the best. I didn't go anywhere else, because the experience is a week long. We stayed in the "Hostal" part, which is not actually in the hotel and was a 6 ft x 20 ft room with two bunk beds and a small area for your luggage/things. It was VERY small, for 4 people, I paid the extra for just us two to stay as my sister came with me. It was really fun for us and we met a lot of people our age and had a great time.

The Service was excellent, we lost our luggage on the way there, they find you at the airport and bring you up(if you pay for this service). The luggage was brought up in 2 days(no skis/snowboards). The ski instructors are from all over the world, as winter in the southern hemisphere is the Northern's summer. The ski instructors and staff were very inviting.

The food is something to be lacking(in the cafeteria/taste wise), but that was case with me in all of Chile. I could have been full all day if I ate every meal. You could pay for a restaurant dinners, but we decided to eat at the cafe every night, except one, we stayed at the bar and paid for sushi, which was delicious.

Skiing: it is nothing like North America(Rockies). I live in Chicago and there are no mountains. There are no lift lines, not compared to Colorado, but for intermediate skiers/snowboarders there are only a few runs that were available to us. That being said, it apparently didn't snow that much that year and most of what you could do was rock(in July)... So skiing the same 6 runs isn't my kind of fun. Where the pullman lifts were, were too steep for us snowboarders, and I can do blue blacks in Colorado.

Night Life: Note: we like to party, bring your own booze if you can, it is like a cruise and you overpay for everything. The bars are kinda fun, there are two inside the hotel, one with live music and the other was a disco for dancing. However, the real party is at the employee bar(La Pasada), someone should be able to direct you there and the cost is cut in half, in cash using Chilean pesos.

Hotel: You could get haircuts, there was a play area with pool and table tennis(mostly full of kids). I lifted at the weight area when we didn't have our snowboards, it was nice. Free espresso shots in the lounge at night. There was a movie theater, never went. The Pool/jacuzzi area had the best view of all, especially during the sunset.

En Fin:
I wouldn't return to ski at Portillo, and it is more of a family environment. But I would go once for the experience and the sights are breathtaking.

Room Tip: Depends on your budget. I met some Chileans that had an entire lodge for themselves and we partied there one night, it was nice.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Its not skiing in the northern hemisphere, it's entirely different. No lift lines, but the lifts to the good runs are not a time to rest because you have to pay attention and hold on. The snow is great and the people all get to know each other and were fun. It's an amazing experience to be at the hotel and ski along side the Austrian ski team (who was there when we were...but I hear there's always an Olympic team training here). We never got bored, we took our 1.5 yr old who got sick in day care...it could happen anywhere, but despite being sick, he had a great time. The runs are pretty nice, but don't expect northern hemisphere runs because they are not. I would stay in the hotel or the lodge (we stayed in the hotel) despite the fairly expensive cost. Definitely stay the whole week like everyone else.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnnymalakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have been like 10 times to Portillo. So... I have been through many different conditions. I love the place. It is now expensive in dollar terms due to the weak US dollar for the best rooms. However... el Inca Lodge (really a hostel) costs USD 100 per night all included (except alcoholic drinks). This is just basic basic lodging. The place has a pool outside that is kept warm all winter, a disco, a bar, a small cinema, a basketball court. My advise regarding Portillo... wait for the season to start and check the amount of snow. Best time to go is early September when it is now clear the amount of snow. Just forget about going in early July: it hardly ever works. The octogon has intermediate pricing and the actual hotel higher end. There is TV in the few chalets that are available... those work well for a group of people. I think you need 6 for the smaller one to make it worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Transportation to the resort:
Getting to Portillo seems to vary by people. This is our 2nd time to Chile and like the last time we flew into Santiago and spent a night in Santiago to recoup from our flight. Next day we took the ski total bus to the resorts. We do this because flight from Atlanta doesn't land until close to 9am and the ski total bus that we take for about $40 USD per person round trip leaves around 8am from Santiago- by the time we get our luggage and get to the ski total bus stop, the bus would have left anyways. Although I think leaving time may depend on how many people are on the bus since last year our bus left promptly at 8am and this time we didn't leave until past 9:30am. We heard from others that taking a private cab from the airport is around $200 USD each way. If anyone has other transportation methods, I would love to know. We also used the extra day this time to load up on wine, water, and snacks from the local grocery store since these items are fairly expensive at the resorts.

Ski Terrain:
If you love Alta you will love Portillo. Lots of fun terrains and places where pro skiers and locals hike up and ski. Ask one of the staff about the super C! You can also go heli skiing in Portillo which is a fun addition to the trip.

Hotel:
We stayed at the Hotel Portllo(there are other lodging options as well) and pleased with the accommodations. There is alot of history at the hotel and definitely captures an old ski lodge feel. Overall there are plenty to do including skiing swimming, hot tub, fitness, game room, indoor gym, disco tech, bars and internet room with a small library. However, be aware that there is no TV in the rooms at Hotel Portillo. There is wireless in every room but it can be choppy and limited certain times of the day. There is also a clinic here with 2 full time doctors and 2 full time nurses which is nice to know.

Room:
I admit, this is by no means the Ritz or the W but the room is fairly large and the closet is spacious. We stayed on the 6th floor and at times it can be a pain to wait for the elevators, the balcony makes up for the wait. You can also get family rooms which has adjacent rooms for parents and children. There is options for a suite and private house rentals as well.

Staff and overall Service:
I absolutely fell in love with the staff. This hotel is privately owned by the Purcell family and it seems like the staff here actually stay here for many seasons. From the activities guide to the wait staff all remembers the guests and treats you like they've known you for a long time. When they see you, they actually say hello and know your name. :) They remember little things as to what I like (i.e. I prefer certain things with my meals and every meal there was whole wheat bread with my decaf coffee and tobasco sauce ready for me at the table). Mr. Purcell(the owner of this resort is always visible and happy to talk with his guests. You can buy a book on Portillo Hotel and he will even sign the book for you which is a nice treat.

Food:
We got 4 meals a day(breakfast, lunch, tea and dinner) and the it was fantastic. We are pretty big eaters and felt like we were constantly being fed. One of the previous review talks about dining room being hot....I am not sure where they got that from....and unlike Valle Nevado water is included and there was always a carafe of water at our table....We got juice every breakfast as well. You can order a la carte but there are so many choices from the daily menu it's almost hard not to want to try what the chef offers for the day. Remember, this is like the old fashioned ski resort so everyone eats in the dining room at a certain time. No worries they feed you constantly here and you will never be hungry!

Compare to Valle Nevado and Termas de Chillan:
Well, each place offers different things I think. Valle Nevado is a newer hotel with more modern feel but the staff and the service varied because they have heavy turn over every year. The fact that only 2 meals were included at Valle Nevado was definitely a minus for me. Lunch, drinks, snacks were pricey. No water anywhere aside from option to buy was also a double negative. Portillo is great for those people who have families and/or like children because this resort is a family friendly place and you will run into many many children everywhere! so if you are looking for a quite adult only place, Portillo is not the place for you. Termas de Chillan-great place for couples or people who like higher end resorts. They do offer various options for entertainment such as the casino, spa and pool service but again, only 2 meals a day is a minus.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chrisyeajin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

dining room service, spotty at best. the ski guys are great the resort itself is missing the boat on several areas,(except the cruise ship feel) and they do try and" nickel and dime" you for things(for instance bacon at breakfast costs extra?? etc. etc. ) $ 3000 u.s a piece for the week should cover ALL the food!!! but all being said you're there for the skiing and it was awesome . if there is no fresh snow it would get a little boring but all in all we had a really good time. getting out atlanta where the temp was 95 and skiing in august was great!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews