We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views!”
Review of Portillo Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portillo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portillo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A stunning place to stop when going between Chile and Mendoza. We only stopped for breakfast but we were awed by the lagoon view! Breakfast was delicious and a good price. Definitely worth stopping for!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ninjakitten007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was our 3rd stay at Portillo in the summer. The best place for a stopover between Mendoza and Santiago to relax before or after the long wait at customs.
The place is always also beautiful.Relaxing in the summer
This was our 3rd stay at Portillo in the summer. The best place for a stopover between Mendoza and Santiago to relax before or after the long wait at customs.
The place is always also beautiful.
Best: low price for the cottage during this period. Renovation of the bathrooms. The Lady at the reception has a lot of experience and is very effective.
Least: the restaurant: the view is magnificent but better choose sandwiches or salads. All meats are presented with too much sauce. Meals appeared out of the freezer and the microwave. Meat and pasta were soft and sticky

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed in the Inca Lodge and it was dreadful. Cramped accommodation with horrible shared toilets/showers and rubbish food at the “self service canteen”, which is a pity as the rest of the hotel appeared very nice. If Tio Bob’s, the café at top of the Plateau Lift, is anything to go by the food elsewhere in the hotel must be brilliant, but as I’m rating the Inca Lodge I need to give a thumbs down and would advise no-one to go there :-(

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Everything (except drinks at the bar) is included. It has a child care program, which they let the adults join in too :). They have ski and boot valet, you take your skis off at the door, and hand them to the chap, then come back and pick them up when you are ready to ski again. The boots are dry in the morning when you head out. Unless you are the Canadian Ski team who got up and skied before the boot valet - bless em.
The skiing itself was average, and the ski area small but the views were amazing and the total experience was awesome.
The food, especially the deserts were 4-5 star, every day was different and every day was great. The personal service in the dinning room was exceptional and they took great care of the kids we had with our group.
The rooms were quite plain but with the variety of activities and the spa and pool we didn't spend much time there.
Don't think about it, just go there and see for yourself. IF you love skiing your next Summer holiday should be Portillo (and after that head down under to Australia for some really cool stuff) hehehe

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

the rooms are three star quality. the cuisine is good comfort food. the ski area small. the service is acceptable. in-spite of this, the place is a 'total blast'. the instructors are 'world-class'. the atmosphere is 'fun'. overall we 'raved' about our time here. we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snownyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We just got back from our weekly stay at the Portillo Hotel. This is not like any other ski vacation you'll ever experience. We have been to many places across the US to ski but this is a must if you are a hard core skier and want to ski n the summer!. Don't be afraid of Roca Jack !
We stayed in the suite on the 6th floor and the view was incredible. The food is 5 stars; the pasta is home made, the vegetables and fruit are locally grown and the Chilean wine is superb.
Very kid friendly. Bring your Nanny.

Room Tip: Stay on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erinaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

This is one if the best places in the world to stay and go skiing. Unbelievable views, great facilities, fantastic service, amazing location, stunning food and you meet and get to know like minded die hard skiers.
This is the Total package, different to any other ski holiday anywhere in the world. The rooms are clean and warm, a little dated however you are never in them and everything else is Superb.
I can't rave about Portillo enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anotherkiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portillo
24.4 mi away
Termas El Corazon
Termas El Corazon
#1 of 5 in Los Andes
255 reviews
21.2 mi away
San Francisco Lodge & Spa
San Francisco Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in San Esteban
246 reviews
4.9 mi away
Portezuelo del Viento - Mountain Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ski Portillo Inca Lodge
Ski Portillo Inca Lodge
#1 of 1 in Portillo
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Portillo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portillo Hotel

Address: Renato Sanchez 4270 | Las Condes, Portillo, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Portillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portillo
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portillo is a ski resort located 100 miles from Santiago, Chile near the city of Los Andes. Beneath imposing mountains, Portillo rises from 2880 meters above sea level to its highest point 3332 meters with 23 ski trails and 12 lifts. Portillo is the oldest ski area in South America, and its history holds an important place in the legend of skiing. Over the past 50 years, Portillo has gained a reputation as an excellent destination for skiers and boarders. Practicing ski sports in Portillo is a very popular activity among people from all around the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portillo Hotel Las Condes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing