We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great enough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodge Altitud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodge Altitud
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great enough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were staying here as a couple, as our children were with their grandparents in Concepcion;) We live in Norway, but i am a Lithuanian and my wife is Chilean. So we were on vacation and came to SanPedro de Atacama. We chose this hotel because of described rustic style and affordable price (comparing). It was a great stay, we didn't have a major problems or difficulties. Altho once we ran out of hot water, but this was fixed soon enough and when we just arrived, there was no one at the reception and we tried to call the number that was posted in the reception in case no one was there, but no one answered, but shortly after that(+-15min) the owner showed up, who apparently was working around, and soon a young woman named Valeria came too. She is the nicest receptionist slash 'i do everything around person' i've ever met. She offered to help with whatever we needed including driving us to/from the town which was not too far just around 10-15min slow walk. Breakfast was served outside and inside the 'restaurant' so you could choose were you want to sit. They have nice pool area with hammocks and places to sit with the tables and beach chairs just outside the houses. Altho we didn't make it to use the pool, cuz of all the busy schedule with the tours, but we would have our own made dinner just right by the pool under the stary sky! Oh, yeah, we could always use their kitchen if we wanted and they would provide with filtrated drinking water for the day if we needed. Altho they should upgrade their kitchen,cuz it is falling apart..:)

Room Tip: The house that is behind the main houses is much more private cuz it stays there alone, same kind is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefRaimondas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    36
    14
    8
    9
See reviews for
22
47
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wimbledon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

As a frequent traveller, I like to record those special moments here where I feel something special must be experienced by others. Lodge Altitud is one such experience, that I can't recommend highly enough to those contemplating the Atacama. Rustic, and in keeping with the village, the Lodge offers its' guests just the right balance of service and privacy. The warm cabins and super comfy adobe beds serve to transport you far away from the hustle and bustle of modern living - to a place of contemplation and relaxation. Owned and run by the most kind and lovely family, my friends and I had a wonderful, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband and I were on a 3 week tour of South America and we made sure we went to Atacama desert as it blew us away! What an amazing location! It almost felt like we were on Mars or the Moon! What made this even more enjoyable was our stay at Lodge Altitud, a quaint collection of cottages run by husband-wife duo of Alvaro and Ana Maria. The lodge blends nicely into the adobe color of the desert and has great outdoor space where one can lounge during the day or star-gaze at night and take a swim in the pool during the summer months. Alvaro plans on building an observatory on the grounds very soon so we would love to go back when that's done. The only thing we wished was if the bathrooms could be bigger. The lodge is not exactly in "downtown" San Pedro de Atacama, but it's only a few mins walk from it, located on a large piece of land.

The best part was the personalized guided tour offered by Alvaro in his 4x4! We walked through Cari canyon, where usual tours don't take you, and admired the beauty of the salt formations all around. We enjoyed the view of the setting sun in Valle de la Luna while sipping Chilean wine, a surprise from Alvaro's backpack. The trip to see the Miscanti and Miniques lagoons or the Flamingo reserve were fantastic! Having only 1.5days in hand and so much to see, it would've been difficult to cover so much ground if not for Alvaro's dedicated guided tours. Ana Maria was great to communicate with while coordinating everything before our trip and was a warm and gracious hostess. We really enjoyed our stay at Lodge Altitud.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravelvanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
187 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

We stayed at this lodge because we could not get a room anywhere else in town for the 4 nights we needed. It is a 15 minute walk from town on dirt roads with no street lights so take a head light with you, also you have to cross a small river which is sometimes dried up but other times not. Elviro, the owner was not there to great us when we checked in but when he came to meet us later on in the day he was very friendly and offered to take us in to town and pick us up whenever we wanted - the only problem with this is that you have to find Elviro to arrange these lifts and he is never around (his house is down the drive from the lodge).
We stayed in one of the standard rooms (CP$48,000) on the first night and then moved to the larger room that is separate from the main block (CP$55,000 per night), they said they would move us but then came and told us our room was ready and waited while we helped the cleaner move all our gear. The rooms are nice and the beds are comfortable but they could do with some renovations (paint is chipping, showers are old and they look like they haven't been renovated since the lodge opened 6 years ago). Some of our towels had holes in them and bleach stains too. The baby bed that they gave us was filthy, they washed the sheets and blankets but never even wiped down the bed! I wiped the bed with a white towel and it came out brown with filth and dirt.
The pool was nice but way too cold - it is only heated by water running through black plastic tubes on the ground sitting under the sun - we could not swim in it because it was too cold, this was disappointing because the lodge advertises a heated pool.
The breakfast is average - cereal, yogurt, 1 type of chopped fruit (didn't always look fresh), juice (not real fruit juice), cowboy style coffee, tea, stale bread, cheese, jam. The breakfast room and reception area were filthy with dust and crap all over surfaces and the floor - the cleaner would be just sitting around waiting for people to show up for breakfast when she could have been cleaning!
Getting hot water is an issue and pressure in the showers too - we had to go and ask Elviro various times to get the showers to work (as did other guests). This is somewhat understandable when you are staying in the desert but when you are paying US$115 per night I expect more!
The lodge only takes cash which is a pain! so we got US cash out in order to pay them - we knew exactly how much cash we had (8 x US$100 bills) and one of the bills went missing from our room! Elviro seems shocked when we told him and said only 3 things had ever gone missing there (a bra, a sweater and our US$100) but then I saw on trip advisor that someone had their camera stolen too. I think that Elviro needs to fire the 1 staff member he has because it is obviously her that is stealing (he said she had been working for him for 1 year so she has probably got away with stealing quite a bit over that time). Elviro did offer to give us US$50 which was nice but we felt that it was more important that he reprimand the staff worker.
There is no internet/WIFI facilities at this lodge which is a shame.
There are no fridges in the rooms so it is hard to have a nice cold drink when you get home on a hot day!
My husband brought a bottle of wine home one night and Elviro gave us glasses and wine opener so that was nice service.
The tour company that Elviro recommends (he has brochures for) is the most expensive one in town so shop around and ask for a deal from another place - they will give you a discount if you do more that 1 tour because there are so many companies offering tours.
I would recommend this lodge if you want a quiet retreat out of town but don't go here if you don't want the walk or if you want any kind of luxury.
Elviro has a fantastic telescope and he did a free star viewing for the guests one night - we got to see craters on the moon and Saturn too! it was awesome.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Netty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Yes, it's probably 10-15 minutes walk to the centre of town, but it has nice clean rooms; good quality linen; a decent breakfast; good swimming pool; fantastic views and charming hosts. If you want the all in Explora type 4 - 5* luxury stay then this isn't it - but here you feel you're in San Pedro in the middle of the Atacama, and at a fraction of the cost.
The rooms are all adobe (including the beds) and charming, bathrooms (smallish) but adequate. Power and hot water is solar panelled so more reliable than in town.
There is no service organisation per se - no bar/restaurant/concierge/turndown service/minbar - other than breakfast, but you can buy your own essentials and keep them in the kitchen fridge
There's no wifi, but Alvaro might set up his monster telescope and you can spend the evening drinking wine and looking at stars - he'll organise any tours you might want to do (including having horses coming to the lodge to take you riding) and show you around town if you haven't been there before. If you want to tour on your own he'll help with recommendations and instructions. Titi, his wife is delightful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexburg, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We called to let them know that we had arrived, and immediately the owner came to pick us up in her car with her little son. They were really really nice, and took us to our hotel. We loved the whole environment and feel of the place. It is smaller, quaint and off the beaten path. There is a beautiful view of the mountains and the ruins of pukara de quitor. She let us move into the room early, and then drove us back into town and showed us all the best and cheapest places to eat (where the locals go to not get ripped off) as well as some good places to go hiking. They were very hospitable, and had a breakfast waiting for us in the morning. Even with all the driving around, the early check in and late check out, they stuck to the original price with no extra fees. I thought the price was more than resonable for the experience we had. The pool was a little dirty, but hey, its surrounded by the driest desert in the world, a little dust never hurt anyone anyway.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

i was supposed to stay 6 nights there and left as soon as i could find an other place, we arrived around 9pm and were welcomed by Alvaro wearing a headlamp to show us the way to the cabana ( which was supposed to be the best at 110 us dollars ) there is no light outside and you walk on gravels having no idea where to go, the cabana has a queen bed and a small one , one ampul on the ceiling , one cheap lamp on one side of the bed
all is in adobe of the cheapest kind, the bath room has a shower and we got either burning hot or freezing cold water of course with quite no pressure, it was really dirty and stayed like that, we could never see the owner again but the evening before we left and he came to fix the shower whicg worked better after but with very little pressure too and left the bath room without cleaning his mass,
the breakfast consist of yoghurt ( in a jar with a plastic film on it) white bread coffee and tiny peaces of butter and jam plus an orange juice
there is no service , it is dirty ,the "swimming pool" is surrounded by a few plastic armchairs ,its water so dirty you cannot see the bottom! everything is decrepit and it looks like the owner Alvaro does not care anymore , he does not do tours , never show up , the place being run by a very " placid" woman
it is one of the most remore " hotel" and you have to walk in total dark crossed a rio " which always countains some pockets of water and of course swallow all the dust of cars passing on,it is better and much cheaper to stay in an hostal in the village, this place has to be avoided,

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franckplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.7 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#4 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#9 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#8 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#5 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Incahuasi B&B
Incahuasi B&B
#9 of 64 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Altitud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Altitud

Property: Lodge Altitud
Address: Av. Pucara 9, Casilla 44, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Region: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a beautiful place with an amazing view of the volcanoes and a swimming pool. We are located 800 mts. From downtown, 15 min. Walking, 2 min. By car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lodge Altitud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Altitud Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing