We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis in the desert”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We were meant to stay for 3 nights, but due to flight delays, unfortunately we only ended up staying 2 nights, but either way the place was an oasis, it was relaxing and the food, amenities and staff was great. The staff were always very accomodating & very friendly, including booking in for excursions or the spa. We had the full package so all food & drinks (incl cocktails & wines) & transfers were all included.
There were alot of American & Italian families with small kids and we mostly saw them during mean times, as they were very annoying, but luckily only saw them infrequently.
The excursions were all inclusive and were pretty good, not as good as Patagonia - but different locations have different things to see & do. The spa & massage was great & relaxing, the jacuzzi in the spa area was great.

this place maybe a tad expensive, but the service & quality of the property was 5 star

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groovysho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    82
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
140
377
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

People should take 2 days just to stay an experience the hotel in itself, unfortunately, there is so much things to see around too that we didn't really had the time to only relax at the hotel.
Location is a must, just on the out-squirt of the town, far from the noise and the dust, right at the bottom of millennia old red rock cliffs. You just can't stop staring at the landscape. The way the atacameñian style gardens are put together is a delight to the eyes every single morning. The rooms are so beautifully decorated local style.
We mostly eat breakfast there as we were on excursions the rest of the day, but it was awesome. They change the buffet choice every morning so it is a surprise every morning.
One morning we ask for some hot chocolate for the little princess and it was to hot, so we spent 10 minutes getting it to cool down blowing on it ... the point is they probably noted that cause next morning hot cocoa came at right temperature, How is that as far as personalized experience.
Staff is friendly without being overwhelming, ready to satisfy your every needs.
The powerfull vibes of the Atacama desert probably added to the positive perception of the hotel but in the end i would definitely go back there ... in fact i will go back there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusyTrav_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceHAA, Guest Relations Manager at Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
BusyTrav_9,

We're so glad you enjoyed your experience at the Alto Atacama. We agree that the hotel's secluded location provides a very important element of calm and tranquility to return to throughout the activity-filled days. That being said, we encourage guests to take at least one morning or afternoon off to soak up the sun and relax in our award-winning Puri Spa.

Thanks for taking the time to write. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Best regards,
Kristina Schreck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moravia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Alto Atacama is a wonderful place to stay; the whole team make you feel very comfortable and important. The food is delicious and the tours are guided for people who really know everything related the places. I'll return with no doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyV74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceHAA, Guest Relations Manager at Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Cindy,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with the Alto Atacama, and we're happy that you enjoyed our excursions as well as our staff's friendly and attentive service. We hope to see you again!

Kristina Schreck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Alto Atacama is gorgeous property with endless (amazing) opportunities at your fingertips. The hotel itself is stunning and the excursions are out of this world and the guides make all the difference. They know the best places to take you and how to make the experience truly unique for your group. The food was beyond fantastic and they will accommodate any diet. The stars are amazing at this location as it is set just outside of town- great for night photography or just star gazing! Definitely an unbeatable experience in Atacama!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceHAA, Guest Relations Manager at Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Cally,
We're glad that you enjoyed yourself and thank you for your comments about the Alto Atacama. Most of our guides are local and love to share their experiences and local knowledge with our guests. We also take pride in our cuisine and like to offer our guests not only delicious cuisine but a chance to try local Atacaman specialities, and we of course can accommodate any special diet. The Atacama is one of the world's grandest stargazing destinations -- glad you participated in this night "excursion".

Best regards,
Kristina Schreck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I spent 5 days at this hotel with my 2 children (full board and excursions) and it surpassed my expectations. The hotel is really as beautiful as it looks in the photos, blending beautifully into the surroundings. Everything was tastefully done, both in the hotel and in the gardens.
The transfers from and to Calama airport worked like clockwork. We stayed in a Tilo suite which we loved, especially the terrace overlooking the lagoon and red cliffs. The bathroom was very clean and modern, with a wonderful back terrace with outside shower. We had one small problem with the bathroom which was sorted out by maintenance in less than 5 minutes!
The food was good, albeit sometimes a bit too refined an elegant for the taste of children. On New Year's Eve there was a big BBQ accompanied by a folklore group singing and dancing - all very well organized.
All the excursions were included. I did somewhat get the impression that the lady who planned them with us tried to steer us a bit too much to excursions already planned for other guests, but all (bar one) were very good. All guides (again bar one, the same one of the disappointing tour) were very friendly and caring of all guests, both young and old, fast and slow.
The only drawback of this hotel is that it is quite far from San Pedro. Don't think of walking in the summer heat - take the hourly transfers from the hotel. Oddly enough the lady in charge of excursions did not even offer a half day in San Pedro (which according to the website is a possibility). It would be a pity to miss the small town and focus just on the surrounding nature.

Room Tip: We had a suite which of course gave the 3 of us more space. But from what I could see even the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceHAA, Guest Relations Manager at Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Anna,
Thank you for posting such a complete (and positive!) description of the Alto Atacama and all it has to offer. The setting of the hotel is indeed spectacular, and getting to the village really isn't a problem -- our guests are free to head over to San Pedro whenever they wish -- simply ask at the front desk and the reception staff will have a driver take you there. Some guests enjoy riding a bike to town. The Alto Atacama is the only hotel outside of San Pedro and the benefits are substantial, including clear skies for stargazing, and a totally natural and spectacular setting that is tranquil, beautiful and puts travelers in the heart of the Salt Mountain Range.

Our Tilo Suites do come with an outdoor shower, one of the perks of booking one! Also, the Alto hosts weekly BBQs on weekends, and they are a treat.

We hope to see you and your family here again one day.

Best regards,
Kristina Schreck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Picturesque desert location and great accommodations. Excellent excursions (nice mix for all types from hard core to lightweight activities). Staff very nice. Not all staff understand English and room walls are a bit thin.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have unobstructed and private views, so ask for that if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustuws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived late afternoon and asked for a snack before dinner ad the children were hungry after travelling and the long csr journey. What arrived wad shocking dry chunks of bread with turkey. No garnish and just inedible. We were greeted feebly and told to wait there and the lafy in charge of excursion s would chat to us. Wr waited quite a while and then wheen we were spoken to we realised that the lady sitting in the corner of the bar was the same person. We were told that ee could join in on various excursions. When we indicated yhst we preferred tp go on our private trips dhe was quite put out and grumpy. We were confused as wr had specifically told our tour operator that was the kind of places we wanted to stay at. One of the other small but unpleasantly sights. The one morning we got up early to go to the geysers the entrance hall and bar was dirty. It was covered with dirty dishes and glasses from the previous night. I found this quite unacceptable for a 5 star establishment. We were told laundry was included but it was not. The food wasd also sub standard. The choices and portions were not of the sort of standard on expects

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CharlenevRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceHAA, Guest Relations Manager at Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Charlene,
We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the Alto Atacama, however we think you were wrongly informed about the Alto's services by your tour operator. The Alto offers a wide variety of excursions daily that are usually shared with several other guests depending on occupancy, unless you are traveling with a group. The Alto Atacama's packages include everything with the exception of laundry, phone calls and spa services.

Our cuisine receives high ratings from our travelers and from specialized media who have visited the hotel, we offer our guests cuisine using the freshest products available with three options available for starters, main courses, and a large selection of desserts.

We do hope that in spite of these issues that you enjoyed yourself in the Atacama Desert.

Best regards,
Kristina Schreck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
2.4 mi away
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
#3 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
2.1 mi away
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateau...
#1 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#7 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#8 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.3 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa

Property: Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Address: Camino Pukara s/n | Ayllu de Quitor, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alto Atacama is located in the fertile Catarpe valley, just 3 kilometers away from the San Pedro plaza. Our total area is 3.5 hectares, with a park area of 2 hectares. The Hotel has 42 spacious rooms and state of the art facilities including an award-winning spa, business center, hot tub, wooden decks with 6 swimming pools and we offer more than 25 excursions to get a closer look at the Atacama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Atacama Hotel
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing