We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atacama Adventure Wellness & Ecolodge
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The hotel is a dusty couple of kilometres from San Pedro de Atacama. We saw people walk it, but I wouldn't want to. The neighbourhood is seedy, and there is a small bridge to get to the hotel. The bridge is narrow and diagonal to a small canal and has no side protection. Be careful especially at night. The parking area is small and hard to park in. Our room was partly flimsy plywood with apparent screws. There is a certain charm to the place, considering the unwelcoming desert it is set in. The jacuzzi and pool are nice. It is overall quite peaceful. The bathrooms are clean and modern. The lighting is 12 volts LED (there is an effort to be solar powered) and insufficient. The internet is terrible (but this is not specific to the hotel, I think). The staff were kind and breakfast was excellent, outstanding even.

What really got me was the price, USD 300 per night for the room for 4 people (writing this in a luxury room overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Antofagasta: USD 120/night for 4). And they briefly attempted to charge for a little map they had given me! It was about USD 180 per night for a double room.

Summary:

Overpriced, but then again all of San Pedro is.
Overall decent, but not impressive.
Outstanding breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

First of all you have to get into the mind set that you are in an oasis (San Pedro), in the middle of the Atacama desert, an hour and a half drive from Calama Airport. Don't expect 5 star luxury here. What you do get is rustic charm in abundance. The dirt track leads out of San Pedro, a good 20 minutes walk, (the only real draw back), and first impressions could be off putting - wicker fencing, irrigation channels, wooden walkways, lead to the mud coloured, straw roofed buildings. are we roughing it a bit here? No, you certainly are not! Our standard room was spacious, plenty of shelving/storage space, comfortable bed, clean (considering there is dust everywhere outside), not a great view onto wicker fencing, the bathroom was enormous, and everything worked.
The main eating area is delightful, all wood, high ceilings, and a bar/kitchen area where all the meals are prepared. We had the all inclusive option which we would strongly recommend, especially with the location out of San Pedro. Breakfast is pretty standard, the usual fruit, yoghurts, cereals, cold meats/cheese, bread/toast, juice/tea/coffee. However the lunches and evening meals we had were fantastic! Having just completed a 5 week tour of South America, they were one of the highlights. Three courses, beautifully cooked and presented, including wine. Saved trekking into San Pedro and after tiring tours, for us it was absolutely perfect.
Also as part of the package, we had a set number of excursions, Rainbow Valley, Valley of the Moon, Punta del Inca (gorge walk), Atacama Salt Flats, and the Tatio Geysers, all with Javier our guide who was first class. A rich variety of desert splendours made even richer by this superb guide. We stayed for 3 nights and just wished we had planned more.
There are outdoor seating areas to relax, plus a hot tub and small swimming pool. One feature the lodge does lack is a general inside lounge/seating/ relaxing area. There is a small mezzanine/landing area above the main eating space accessed up a steep staircase, however sitting on the floor on cushions in a relatively confined space is not our idea of comfort. This apart, we would not hesitate in recommending the Atacama Adventure Ecolodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pensionerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I were here for five nights this last week. I made the booking largely by using Tripadvisor. We really enjoyed our stay here. We were met promptly at the airport and made the 100km drive to the lodge which is about a 20 minute walk from the town. We stayed in the Yapen room which had a large bed, small couch, desk and funky shower. It was perfect for our needs. The meals were very good especially the ones we had while on excursion that had been prepared by the lodge. Dinner was a bit late for us but it did give us time to relax and shower after the afternoon excursion. The best part was by far the excursions which exceeded our expectations. We had a fabulous guide, Javier, who went out of his way to figure out our interests and then tailor the trips in that direction. He is very experienced and found lots of different places to take us. Our groups were small, no more than 5, which was quite different from other lodges. The only complaint was the noise of the nearby dogs barking in the night. Ear plugs fixed this though. They are doing some upgrades and renovations, it doesn't interfere in the quality of stay. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajy733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

we found this place to be everything the reviews said the staff was terrific and the excursions were great. the food was good though I found that meat was to cooked for my taste but that is easily fixed the rooms were nice size and bathrooms good as reviews say it is a 15 minute walk to the center of town and if you go out at night you will need a flashlight!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wlke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Worst experience ever. Reserved and paid in advance for 3 night stay. Without prior notice or choice in the matter, when we arrived we were told that we do not have a room, we were transferred to another hotel which they claimed was of same quality and of "greater" price. The only reason given: a mistake. We were sent to a hotel that was significantly cheaper, not the same at all, noisy, no pool, etc. New hotel told us we were moved there because the Ecolodge needed our room for a tour group. The Ecolodge also refused to refund us the difference in price. NOT a wellness spa dedicated to spirituality as advertised!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ac5221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoi17, Gerente at Atacama Adventure Wellness & Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

The guests were advised upon arrival about technical issues of their room booked at the lodge. As we only have 6 romos - all the other rooms were fully booked. We were forced to reaccomodate these clients to hotel Kimal, which is by means of Expedia ( agency used in this case) as a higher class accommodation than ours. Equipped with swimming pool and outdoor jacuzzi. We have taken care of prepayment. At no point these clients have contacted us for partial or total refund - which in their case would be complicated, since they have booked and prepaid Expedia. Finally I wish to clarify that our lodge is not published as spiritual retreat or spa. It is Wellness Lodge - which means, there are services such as variety of massages in our massage room , outdoor jacuzzi, indoor heated pool and infrared sauna. We do not announce anywhere the lodge as a spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabi_Kwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mariangela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#7 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
377 reviews
1.1 mi away
Takha Takha Hotel
Takha Takha Hotel
#18 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
739 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel
#12 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#10 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atacama Adventure Wellness & Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atacama Adventure Wellness & Ecolodge

Address: Pasaje Alana no.2 | Ayllu de Solcor, San Pedro de Atacama 1410000, Chile
Region: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range: £76 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atacama Adventure Wellness & Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Atacama Adventure Wellness & Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atacama Adventure Wellness & Ecolodge San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing