We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice chalets in San Pedro de Atacama”
Review of Hostal Puritama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Puritama
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice chalets in San Pedro de Atacama”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

During low season, we managed to bargain a matrimonial room at a very decent price.
The room was clean but no heater was available.
We had Satelitte television in the room.
The staff was nice and helpful

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohlolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    74
    29
    4
    7
See reviews for
21
54
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of our G adventures tour. The hotel was nicely decorated and I liked that they incorporated glass bottles in to mud brick-work which was very unusual and quite cool.

The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable but we had to share a communal shower and bathroom which wasn't great, particularly as there were lots of people staying and I really had to wait a long time even to clean my teeth in the evening which was slightly annoying.

The owner had a zero tolerance policy when it came to noise which I am all for but telling people who are respectfully enjoying a drink outside at 9:30pm to go to their rooms when the cut off is 10pm was a bit harsh, especially as they were explicitly told to finish up at 10pm. This left us feeling a bit annoyed and like being back at school again!

San Pedro Atacama is such an incredible place and I have never encountered anything like it. The Valley of the Moon was ace and great for taking photos because the light is so perfect.

I would recommend this place for 1 or 2 nights and if you are staying here, venture out in the evening if you fancy a few cheeky drinks post 10pm otherwise you face the wrath of the manager!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Puritama is on the edge of town, but as San Pedro is so small that is not an issue. The best thing is that the place has a good relaxing feel to it. Rooms are either in small main building or, as we had, a detached chalet. freezing at night (being in the desert) and not all rooms have a heater so my tip is to say you need one as soon as you get there if you find yourself in a non-heater room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ElFantasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed here for one night after leaving our other hostel due to noise and it was bliss in comparison!Lovely host who offered us a cheaper room, rather than encouraging us to take the more expensive option. Rooms were clean and warm. Nice courtyard area to sit in.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosats148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed here for two nights in August 2010 as part of a GAP Tour. The hostal is nothing special but did the trick. It has a bed, a warm shower and the rooms are clean and that is about it to be honest. However San Pedro de Atacama itself is a great place and make sure you squeeze in some sand-boarding and the hot springs, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Stayed here with our tour group for 2 nights. My girlfriend and I stayed in an en-suite double. Rooms were very comfortable; although there's no heat, the beds have fleece sheets and comforters and so are very warm and comfy, the room is spacious enough, and the bathroom was nice as well. Owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Location is perfect: right on the main street of San Pedro but far enough away from the center (less than 5 minutes walking) for it to be quiet at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axcxtxixoxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.0 mi away
Don Raul Hotel
Don Raul Hotel
#20 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Takha Takha Hotel
Takha Takha Hotel
#18 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kimal
Hotel Kimal
#12 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel
#13 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Kirckir
Hostal Kirckir
#16 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Mama Tierra
Hostal Mama Tierra
#1 of 135 in San Pedro de Atacama
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Puritama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Puritama

Property: Hostal Puritama
Address: Caracoles 113, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Region: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 135 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Puritama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Puritama Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing