We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vibe, comfortable beds, amazing staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers San Pedro Hostel
Pokhara, Nepal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great vibe, comfortable beds, amazing staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. It's a great space and the moment we arrived we were given a comprehensive tour and made to feel at home. The beds were really comfortable in the shared dorm and the shower was hot and had great pressure. The hostel is a 5 minute walk from town which is actually quite nice because you aren't in the busy center. We definitely have to recommend ear plugs though if you want to sleep before 11 or so because it can get a bit noisy at night if your room is near the common area or your roommate shouts in his sleep as ours did. The only problem was that we had our food stolen twice from the kitchen even though it was labeled with our names, so hide your food deep in the fridge or in your room! It's a comfortable, social space, so if you want to meet people this is the perfect place to so it. Definitely one of the best places to stay in San Pedro, highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    60
    37
    17
    11
See reviews for
3
36
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

This hostel was uncomfortable for a few reasons. The girl on reception wasn't friendly and she was also singing along to some of the music being played that had derogatory statements about 'gringos', kind of awkward for us. The bed in the double room was terrible, the springs jammed into your back. There were lots of cats at the hostel. I love cats but they were going to the bathroom everywhere so it was pretty stinky. They played music at the hostel which is sweet however this would start at about 10am and continue through to 11pm. It was pretty loud, which took away from the desert vibe. The one good thing I can say is that the cleaners were very vigilant and thoughtful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy-Bee270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Pedro de Atacama hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I spent three nights at this hostel and I must say that I was pleased with it. I didn't spend much time there as I was mostly enjoying the Atacama desert but I think the hostel was overall ok - clean with a nice bar and hammocks. I really liked their curfew policy of silence at midnight - that's pretty good if you have to get up at 3 am for a tour the next day! However, I disliked the fact that there was no water around that time in the morning which meant I had to use my water bottle to wash my face and brush my teeth. However, I don't want to be too fussy about it because it's a hostel in the desert after all. I would recommend that they turn the water on for 30 - 60 min around 3 am to give the tourist who get ready for the early morning tour the chance to wash at least a bit.... or at least have some buckets with water ready to wash hands/brush teeth.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraPiai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Common areas are oke and the bar is nice. However the 4bed dorm we stayed in was too small for 4 people. Our backpack could not stand anywhere...only in front of the door. We had to change in the shower or kitchen as there was no space in the room. No idea how they managed to get 2 bunkbed in there. The bed itself was however good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Inger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

The hostal is ok, clean, nice staff, they offer good tours, the pool is quite small, hammocks are great even if there is not much shadow. At night they offer drinks next to the fireplace. What you get is what you pay, absolutely correct.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

his is my honest opinion of the place.
location: from the historical square, 10 min walk. Not easy to locate without a map.
customer service: very helpful
cleanness: place was clean and tidy every.
bathrooms: numerous showers and toilets for the entire place
Bedroom: medium dorm size with no Air con in the room, lockers found outside of the building, and use own padlock. new mattress, so comfortable sleep.
extras: 2 computers to use as well as WIFI was goodt and available near reception.
Kitchen room was medium with a fridge. You can cook your own food there.
Noisy: very quite,
Breakout area: outside or reception.
Suggestions: air condition

Room Tip: recommend the 4 dorm rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrOzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I'd a great time in this hostel.

Very social layout, with great bar.
Trips are very well priced compared to town.

staff are super friendly.

It is an entire 5 minutes walk from the town, hard to find the first time, but worth it.

Room Tip: try not to get a room beside on of the kitchens, pots and pans banging at 8am :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muzzled2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.5 mi away
Rey Lagarto Hostel
Rey Lagarto Hostel
#20 of 121 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aji Verde Hostel San Pedro
Aji Verde Hostel San Pedro
#50 of 121 in San Pedro de Atacama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Mama Tierra
Hostal Mama Tierra
#1 of 121 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostel El Toconar
Hostel El Toconar
#66 of 121 in San Pedro de Atacama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.4 mi away
EcoExplor
EcoExplor
#19 of 121 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Pangea
Hostal Pangea
#21 of 121 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers San Pedro Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers San Pedro Hostel

Property: Backpackers San Pedro Hostel
Address: Portal del Inca 486 | Condeduque, San Pedro de Atacama 1410000, Chile
Region: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 121 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Backpackers San Pedro Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers San Pedro Hostel Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing