We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Hostal Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Florida
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We ended up here by accident due to flooding in the hostel which we had originally booked. There was no hot water during our three night stay, and this is extremely problematic when it is below freezing at night and very cold in the day - it is difficult to try and manage a cold shower.

The dorm room has a ridiculous padlock style lock on the outside and only one key. Meaning that if you are in the room but others are not, then you have to leave the door open and let the cold draft come in ! Crazy! It is a shame because the dorm room itself was perfrectly acceptable.

The staff dont speak any English,which is a real nightmare when you are trying to get them to sort out the hot water.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ell148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    33
    46
    8
    11
See reviews for
2
24
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

1) There is no hot or warm water. We had to ask the staff to turn on the heater before showering but the switch is openly available, so some [--] turned off the heater while I was showering. After I turned it back on, the water remained ICE COLD. There is a sign saying we are supposed to shower between 7am and 12pm and I don't know if that is meant to be a joke - first time a hostel imposes a showering slot of 5 hours?

2) Dormitory rooms have 1 key for 6 guests and doors cannot even be closed completely without locking. If you want to sleep earlier then you just have to leave the door open for the other guests to come back and sleep IN THE COLD

If you like being cold and feeling unsafe, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Pedro de Atacama hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pucon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I only recomment this place. The rooms are nice and the beds confortable. The shower is clean and the water is hot, maybe a little bit to hot. It has 2 Computer to use and the Wifi is fast.
I liked as well the courtyard with the hammocks.
The kitchen was well staffed and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hostel One Way ... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banos
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

SPDA is an expensive place and you are forced to pay high prices for very average accommodation.

This hostal is no exception. Hot water not working for the whole week unless you asked the staff to turn it on and then you got a hot and cold rushes of water for a few minutes. The staff seemed to resent you asking for this "service".

The kitchen is small and chaotic if more than 1 group use it. Our room was not serviced all week despite wet and muddy streets making everything dirty. Courtyard area was OK but when used by other guests as social area late at night made sleeping for 4 or 6am starts to tours very difficult.

They charge to leave your bags if you are catching a late bus which is a blatant rip off. The staff in general showed no interest in guests and treated them more as a nuisance. No toilet paper in cubicles - only on bathroom wall.

This place needs to be reminded it's there to serve customers and maintain it's limited facilities better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
169 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

You know, indeed the kitchen is small, the staff to the point and some doors don't lock without a external chain but come on, the wifi is decent, there is warm water under pressure, the rooms ( I slept in dorm of 4) and bathrooms are clean, there are lockers and the location is superb. All that for 8000 pesos. No, for the average backpacker, this is a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_vid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

We arrived to San Pedro without a reservation and FloridamHostal was the first place we stopped in. We had checked prices on line at various hostels so we knew San Pedro would be pricey. We asked for a matrimonial room with private bath so she took us to another location just off the main street. This was perfect for us. A small courtyard with a clothes line, chairs for relaxing in, nice clean room with a comfy bed, lots of hot water and very quiet. There are only three other rooms at this hacienda. Room was cleaned daily. The last day we had an evening bus and were offered to use the hostal facilities if we wanted to shower, use the kitchen, etc.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

It was ok , location was good , it was a small hostel but u get the meet with lots of people. The women at the reception spoke no English !! Check out is 11am if u have a bus in the evening they want extra money just to stay in the common area in the hostel !! But you won't see any signs of that anywhere in the Hostel .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zigggggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hospedaje Casa Redonda
#64 of 130 in San Pedro de Atacama
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Pangea
Hostal Pangea
#18 of 130 in San Pedro de Atacama
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harickuntur
Harickuntur
#50 of 130 in San Pedro de Atacama
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residencial Chiloe
Residencial Chiloe
#31 of 65 in San Pedro de Atacama
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Desert
Hostal Desert
#2 of 65 in San Pedro de Atacama
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Siete Colores Hostel
Siete Colores Hostel
#16 of 65 in San Pedro de Atacama
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Florida

Property: Hostal Florida
Address: Tocopilla 406, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Region: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 130 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro de Atacama
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Florida Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing