We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Explora Atacama - All Inclusive
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A remarkable place in a remarkable landscape. It's hard to go wrong in the Atacama Desert because it's so jaw-droppingly beautiful, but Explora's hotel here makes everything just right. The guides who work with you every day to choose your excursions are charming, warm and smart -- as opposed to officially solicitous -- so that you feel like you're in great company the whole time. The on-site stable of horses are magnificent. Just to watch them play, bareback in their alfalfa fields while the sun sets, is a pleasure. And then riding them across the vast dunes...wow.
Combining arduous day treks with nighttime luxury is just a big bang factor for me in an adventure vacation. I can't recommend this experience highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Explora Atacama - All Inclusive
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

this is definitely one of the place that my husband and i consider having the most amazing experience in our life!
the trekking and visits are so exclusive and so amazing made us feel so special!! only Explora can set up a picnic after each trekking in the most amazing places, a place just for both of us!! i am not quite sure if it is how it works but all the tours were just the 2of us with 1driver, 1tour guy in the front, 1in the back carrying the oxigen tank for us!!! it was just beautiful to see all the alpacas and amazing colors of the rock, volcano, plants during all the trekking!!! the foods were just amazing!!
totally worth the money for this exclusiveness and greatest experience we ever had!!
highly recommended!!
the room was great and cozy, but actually we were so tired after each day activity that we passed out and didnt really remember much the room!!
highly recommended!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank julieta0691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I love Explora. We had been to their magnificent Patagonia property 5 years ago and vowed to return to experience Atacama. The lodge is beautiful, the service is 5 star, and the guides made it so special. Be sure to do sunset at the salt flats and the astronomy.

Room Tip: Request a room with a good view of the volcano.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mntngurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at Explora Atacama - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your explora Atacama experience. I was delighted to read that you returned to explora after an enjoyable stay at explora Patagonia to our Atacama lodge.

At explora Atacama we offer 36 full and half-day explorations at different altitude and difficulty levels. Our activities and excursions include hiking, biking and horse-back riding, all of which are undertaken in small groups and led by one of our highly-qualified guides. I was pleased to read that our guides made your stay special and will be sure to pass on your kind comments to them. I would also like to thank you for highlighting the excursion to the salt flats to watch the sunset. I am sure you will agree that the views are wonderful and it is an unforgettable experience.

I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware of the benefits of our Former explora traveler benefit, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. More information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to explora soon.

Best,
Richard Sharman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

the is amazing property
friendly staff not all of them knowledgeable as they should
good food with limited variety
unparalleled views, sunsets and sunrises are out of this world
tours are fantastic, specially the pic nic to the Uyuni Salt plain and the horseback riding
stars observation is a must

Room Tip: i like the ones closer to the pools
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dcuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at Explora Atacama - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your explora Atacama experience.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the activities and excursions at explora Atacama. With 36 half and full-day explorations, guests have a large variety of activities to choose from. Also, I would like to thank you for highlighting the explora Atacama observatory. Atacama boasts one of the clearest skies in the world, and depending on weather conditions, our own private observatory enables guests to participate in astronomic explorations during their stay.

I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware of the benefits of our Former explora traveler benefit, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. More information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to explora soon.

Best,
Richard Sharman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Explora is the best place to stay in the Atacama desert, Excellent food, nice accomodations and the best experience ever...The guides were marvellous, the stars at night unforgetable... The best birthday in many years!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at Explora Atacama - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very kind review on your explora Atacama experience. We also believe that explora Atacama is the best place to stay in the Atacama Desert.

It sounds as if the explora experience was just right for you and that you enjoyed each aspect; from the cuisine offered, to the accommodation provided. I would also like to thank you for your kind comment regarding our guides. I will be sure to pass them on.

explora Atacama has its own observatory with a professional telescope and is the largest of its kind in Chile. The stars that can be seen in the sky of northern Chile are a wonderful sight and as you mentioned yourself, “unforgettable”.

I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware of the benefits of our Former explora traveler benefit, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. More information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to explora soon.

Best,
Richard Sharman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

With the exception of a fall my husband took from his horse which could easily have been avoided and fortunately incurred no injury, this was an amazing adventure and well worth the money. The activities we participated in were magical and educational. We stayed for four days which was the perfect amount of time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tingle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at Explora Atacama - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your explora Atacama experience.
At explora Atacama, we offer 36 different full and half-day explorations at different altitude and difficulty levels. We strive to make each activity interesting, unique and highly enjoyable for everyone. I am therefore delighted by your comments and to hear that you found our activities and excursions “magical” and “educational”.

I would like to take this opportunity to make you aware of the benefits of our Former explora traveler benefit, a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests. More information can be found on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to explora soon.

Best,
Richard Sharman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The setting is beautiful, the property and rooms are lovely and the dining experience could not be better. Kudos for adding luxury to the remotest desert, gourmet meals and an accommodating dining room staff who honored special orders with a smile. BUT we were disappointed in the experience, especially coming directly from explora Rapa Niu. We never got an orientation or introductory presentaton so we did not know anything about the excursions or what oour choices might be to experience the area. Upon arrival we were told to hurry to lunch so we could join other guests in the afternoon excision. I was handed a folder and told to read it in 10 minutes decide with my husband what we wanted to do the next day and let them know immediately. We were told we had to go on excursions that were already planned for other guests as there was no time for us to select anything different, not that we would know what to select anyway. This was not the experience we expected nor was it the one we just had at explora Rapa Nui.
We also spent the first night in the desert freezing because we could not find the heat control in our room. We had an unfortunate incident on a horse back ride that could have easily been avoided but from lack of attention to the guests. We felt the priority here was that the guides got to do fun things, the guests were secondary. It is a lot of money to spend to be disappointed. Perhaps the lack of understanding English very well was a barrier that added to the problem.
Also, there is no doctor on call, so for any medical needs you have to drive 1 1/2 hours to Calama. Most luxury properties have a local doctor that will come to the guest, this is a major oversight in a very remote place. While the Atacama Desert is awesome, our stay was not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtravellerZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorachile, Brand Manager at Explora Atacama - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your explora Atacama experience. We very much appreciate your feedback.

First and foremost, I would like to address the issue regarding the orientations and introductory presentations. I`m extremely sorry to hear that you didn`t feel as well informed as you should have about all excursions. Depending on the weather conditions, acclimatization and physical ability, explora Atacama offers over 40 different full day and half day excursions. Ahead of your trip to explora, you should have received a detailed listing of all the activities that we offer, information about the destination as well as what to expect during your stay. We train our guides to give guests a general and enthusiastic overview of their options and choices for the next day, but stop them short of going into an overwhelming deal of details so as not to ruin the elements of surprise and discovery.

As well as this, your comments regarding the horseback riding incident and the lack of focus from our guides are extremely concerning. At explora, service is of paramount importance, which is why I will address this issue directly with both the head of guides as well as the Lodge Manager at explora Atacama.

If you have anything else you would like to mention about your stay, I'd love to hear from you. Please write to me at: rsharman@explora.com.

Best,
Richard Sharman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.6 mi away
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
#3 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
766 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
#4 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#8 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explora Atacama - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explora Atacama - All Inclusive

Address: Domingo Atienza s/n, San Pedro de Atacama 7580150, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#4 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range: £868 - £1,462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Explora Atacama - All Inclusive 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is located on a plain known as the Ayllu de Larache, once inhabited by an ancient Atacameno community. We have respected the original layout of the land and restored and maintained some of the buildings.Opened in 1998, our lodge is situated on 17 hectares (42 acres) of grounds just a few minutes' walk from the town of San Pedro de Atacama. In the area surrounding the lodge, we have maintained the ancient pathways and buildings which form a labyrinth that invites exploration.There are 50 rooms housed in three long buildings, positioned to form a central square planted with large trees for ample shade. On the fourth side of the square is the building which houses the lodge's public spaces. The views from the lodge's broad terraces enable you to enjoy Atacama's vast chain of volcanic mountains.In 2008, we set ourselves the challenge of intensifying your explora Atacama experience, remodeling the furnishings and the indoor and outdoor spaces. Now that the work is complete, we are pleased to be able to offer you new facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Explora Atacama - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Larache Hotel
Resort All Inclusive De Larache
Explora Atacama - All Inclusive San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing