We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MUST SEEN.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valle de la Luna - Valle de la Muerte

Valle de la Luna - Valle de la Muerte
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.00*
and up
Valley of the Moon Afternoon Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Moscow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“MUST SEEN.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Amazing place, absolutely breathtaking. The landscape really looks similar to moon surface. MUST SEEN. I published a post about Moon Valley in my blog, you may find it here: http://fashionpeekaboo.com/moon-valley/

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nastya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,800
    1,404
    312
    38
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a mix of wonderful texture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

the rocks, sand dunes and salt are a wonderful mix of nature's diversity. An incredible place to visit and take photographs.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bazlen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

You can enjoy the view the entire day, but mostly on sunset because the light do shadows on the other side, at licancabur volcano and the colours of the rocks and canyons is awesome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank priscilasanches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique views and cool bike trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

As the sun goes down we hike up the Valle de la Luna. Following the ridge the path leads to a stunning view point, set perfectly for the sunset! The valley got its name because the intense erosion process. For 1000s of years strong winds affected the landscape, creating canyons, huge fields of sand dunes and unique rock formations. Mark this place for sunset, it's definitely special! We came here by bikes and drove back in the pitch black night, while stars above us!

Helpful?
1 Thank StanPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Do NOT go with Latchir Expediciones”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I allowed myself to put a review of an individual agency here, as they have no separate account on tripadvisor. The trip however was to Valle de la Luna.

I really don't like to post bad reviews, but the situation we experienced with Latchir Expediciones deserves it. In brief: due to delayed start of the tour (guide's fault) and bad time management we have basically MISSED THE SUNSET, which supposed to be the highlight of the trip.

Valle de la Luna is an absolutely beautiful place, although it's overridden with tourists. Especially the sunset observed from the big dune is a truly magical moment.
Tours to Valle de la Luna are by far the most standard and the most popular tour sold by San Pedro's travel agencies. You depart at 3pm and come back around 7.30-8pm. Prices vary between 6-10k CLP. This tour is an absolute commodity in SP. We decided to contract it with Latchir as we had a pleasant conversation with the seller in the office and we were quite convinced that this tour is impossible to be ruined as it is so easy and so standard.
Unfortunatelly due to late arrival of the guide (all the people already waited at the office) and then even later arrival of the car, we have started the tour with 30 min delay. Then, due to bad planning – we went to valle de la luna first, then went back to valle de la muerte and then again to valle de la luna - we have spent 30 mins more than required travelling back and forth. As a result, once we arrived at the dune to observe the sunset, the sun was basically already way behind the mountains and whole valley was in shadow. Of course it was not dark immediately, so some may say nothing happened, but if you want to take a pictures of the warm evening light over the valley, there was no chance. It is worth to mention that ALL the other agencies arrived on time and were comfortably settled down on the dune long time before.
The next day we went to complain to the agency. At first they didn't see the problem and kept on saying that 'all the points of itinerary were covered' and claimed that as compensation the guide was kind enough to wait until the moon appears. Well, actually ALL the other groups stayed longer that evening as it was full moon. After me being insistive they reluctantly apologized and offered 2k CLP discount, if we book another trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank AventureroPolaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valle de la Luna - Valle de la Muerte also viewed

San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 

Been to Valle de la Luna - Valle de la Muerte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing