We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unique and fascinating”

Valle de la Luna - Valle de la Muerte
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.00*
and up
Valley of the Moon Afternoon Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
396 reviews
283 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“unique and fascinating”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Moon valley is a beautiful place to visit and we highly recommend. We signed up to do the tour through Andes Tours and had Francisco as a guide. Francisco was amazing - fun, informative, energetic, and all around a great guy. Definitely do this tour to see the beautiful moon like landscapes and learn more about the geography and region overall.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,997
    1,461
    320
    40
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best of the desert”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Incredible views in the middle of the Atacama desert, you can see how the erosion has shaped this amazing place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank g0nza78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Tour with Desert Adventures”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Fantastic trip to a truly unique part of the world. We travelled with Desert Adventures who were very professional, with great guides who spoke excellent English and couldn't do enough for us. Whilst not the cheapest tour operator, you get what you pay for, and we got a quality experience. Very recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spiglord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
189 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Wish We Had Spent More Time Here”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The bummer about our tour was that we stopped for about 10 minutes at the entrance to Valle de la Muerte, and moved on. We didn't know it was a bummer until a few days later when, with a free afternoon, my wife and I decided to go for a run and went about 20 minutes down the path that leads through the valley.

The views and scenery are totally different than the Moon Valley, with smoother rocks and a winding path leading you through the steep rises on either side of you. While we didn't know as much about this one and didn't learn much on our trip, we really enjoyed the views - as well as the shade provided by the rock faces - as we ran through.

If we had known better, we would have scheduled more time to run through and would still have chosen to do it on foot. We're left wondering what the rest of the valley contained...you shouldn't be. Set aside some time to drive/bike/wander through.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JBATrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
189 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I really liked our visit to the Moon Valley. For about $5 USD per person, we entered the park and spent a good several hours there. The various landscapes - from smooth sand to craggy ridges, all varying shades of red - were beautiful. Additionally, the salt and mineral displays on some of the landforms were incredible to see.

The real bang for your buck here is in watching the sunset over the valley. If you're going with a tour group, they'll take you. If you're by yourself, follow a tour group about 45 minutes before sunset. As the shadows fall and the colors turn a deeper red, the valley transforms like nothing we'd seen before. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBATrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valle de la Luna - Valle de la Muerte also viewed

San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 

Been to Valle de la Luna - Valle de la Muerte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing