We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but too expensive”
Review of Hostal Intipara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Intipara
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

No heating, no hot water (only luke warm), stone bread for breakfast and only so and so clean rooms makes it by far too expensive! We also missed a certain wellcoming kindness so we changed the place after only two nites. Kitchen is ok, but not well equipped.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank arck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Intipara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Hostal Intipara is situated in the center of San Pedro de Atacama. All sights of the city, such as the curch, the central square or the museum are within a small walking distance, as well as shops or tour agencies.

The building seems to be an old private house. Like most buildings in San Pedro, it consists of a small front building at the street and an inner courtyard, that is surrounded by the guestrooms.If you enter the hostal, you have to try to ring the bell, untill someone pics you up at the reception desc. The landlady is friendly, but does not speak any English. So, if you don't speak Spanish, you have to communicate with hands and feet. But it works.

The rooms are not very comfortable. Just basically equipped with the things, one needs. Nothing more. If you don't have a private bathroom, male persons have to share just one bathroom with all other male guests. Female guests have access to at least two bathrooms. The bathrooms are clean, but not in best conditions. In the male bathroom the water plug was broken the whole time, and it was impossible to get toilet paper.

The rooms are clean as well, but very simple. The breakfast is ok and is served in the inner courtyard, which is a very nice place. The service is charming.

At least, the prices are quite high for a quite simple hotel. But San Pedro nothing seems to be cheap, anyway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamburger-Nordlicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We booked a double room here for two nights and extended to three, for $55 a night for the room. We booked through booking.com and therefore had breakfast included - which was good compared with the spartan breakfasts we were used to in Argentina. Coffee, juice, bread, yogurt, ham and cheese. On arrival we were told they didn't have a double available so we were given an apartment which consisted of a double room and a 4 bed dorm, ensuite, small sitting area with tv, and a separate little kitchen (but with no gas). So we had loads of space for our time there. The internet works very well, and it is five minutes' walk from the main square. The staff are lovely. I know we got lucky with our upgrade, and the price we paid seems lower than others, but we had a great stay and I think that for San Pedro this is good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 11 is the apartment we had. Don't know how much it usually costs. Go through booking.com to...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We booked a double room ensuite (two single beds with shower) for a night - the room itself was clean and spartan. Nothing fancy which is fine but in hindsight I would have saved a bit of money and paid less to stay at a dorm. It was certainly more expensive than the places we stayed in Peru but its understandable since San Pedro is in the middle of a desert.

San Atacama is a tiny place so Intipara isn't far from the main restaurants and main square (7 minute casual walk). The lady didn't speak any English but she was friendly. Intipara has a computer in the entrance way and I assume it is free to use/has internet access.

The hostel is locked to the outside streets at night. It was relatively quiet on the streets at night when we stayed there so sleeping was fine. Wifi is good if you are in the courtyard. No complaints except the price, not a bad choice out of the limited hostels available in San Pedro.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borntorunJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

You can rent a fancy apartment in the center of Santiago cheaper than a tiny double room in this hostel - however, this may actually be one of the more reasonable deals in San Pedro, because the village seems to be an expensive place to stay during summer.

Location is excellent - just a five minute walk from the bus station and five minute walk from the main plaza, so plenty of shops, restaurants and travel agencies nearby. San Pedro is small, but still, there are quite a few hotels/hostels on the outskirts, where getting all the services would be much less convenient.

The room was very basic - just two beds with a small space between them. Showers and toilets are outside and shared by all guestss. There was no toilet paper in men's toilet for more than a day. It also took some time to get hot water in the shower (which makes the environmentally thinking ones feel guilty - wasting water like this in the middle of the driest desert in the world). Wi-fi did not work most of the time. And we had to pay cash, even though officially, credit cards were accepted.

There is also a noisy restaurant in the next house - you can hear the local band playing (same songs every night) behind the wall... not a major problem when you are dead-tired and fall asleep immediately after a busy day full of activities, but could be annoying to some.

Stayed here for three nights (originally booked only one night - but after getting a taste of the troubles one would have to go through to find a comparable place in the middle of a busy season, decided to stay for two more nights). The owner does not speak any English, but was very friendly and let us keep the same room.

So despite of a few shortcomings, this place was quite OK.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_vj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Run by a lovely lady who doesn't speak a word of English but tries to communicate as best possible.
Good location so quiet at night but as it's such a small area only a 5 minute walk into town.
Basic cold breakfast as expected in South America.
We booked a double with private bathroom. Our first ever hostel stop.
In fairness it did what we wanted. A bed for the night amd clean sheets.
The shower is far too small and held up with a rusty chain but none the less did the job.
A little pricey as you can get self catering places for the same money but we were desperate and it was high season.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the toilets as you'll hear people passing all night. Room 8 was ours and...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithChalmers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

a place to sleep and get somewhat clean. poor shower units, degraded surfaces. for $80 a night for a private room, i would hope for more, but then again, every place has it's relative price. this place is on the low end of what you could pay. woman who runs the place is kind and helpful, although you will need a translator to get complex ideas across. i would look elsewhere next time im there, but i think they are all about the same until you pay $300+ per night for the fancy stuff.

Room Tip: pay less and get the shared bathrooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyhppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.6 mi away
Hostal Lalcketi
Hostal Lalcketi
#23 of 70 in San Pedro de Atacama
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Los Duendes
Casa Los Duendes
#10 of 70 in San Pedro de Atacama
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Chiloe
Residencial Chiloe
#25 of 70 in San Pedro de Atacama
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Jama
Hostal Jama
#112 of 138 in San Pedro de Atacama
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Casa Flores
Hostal Casa Flores
#16 of 70 in San Pedro de Atacama
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Laskar
Hostal Laskar
#18 of 70 in San Pedro de Atacama
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Intipara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Intipara

Address: Tocopilla 331 | Tocopilla 331, San Pedro de Atacama 1410000, Chile
Region: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range: £39 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostal Intipara 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Intipara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Intipara Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing