We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Altiplanico Atacama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We spent 3 nights at Altiplanico and enjoyed excellent service throughout the stay. We really liked the way the hotel consisted of a series of rustic houses with both an indoor and outdoor shower so you can watch the amazing starry skies in Chile while you enjoy a hot shower. For us the character fitted in so well with our first experience of the Atacama region. The menu was limited but we found the hotel flexible in introducing ideas off the menu to make it more interesting and every course was delicious and served by a lovely team. We want to go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Good, peaceful hotel, away from the town. Nice rooms with space and tastefully furnished. Restaurant expensive and has very limited choices which is disappointing as it is quite a trek into town. Good Internet. We found that the staff at Front Desk were not efficient nor helpful and feel that they were young people on temporary hire and hence their lack of professionalism. Definitely need better and more informed front desk staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shyamala84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The hotel is a complex of individual beautiful red coloured bungalows set in well maintained grounds. There is an unheated swimming pool that’s is very cold and does not seemed to be ever used. Nice to relax around though. Our bungalow had an outside shower that was a nice little touch. There was a gas heater should it get really cold. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk into town along a dirt road. Lots of good places to eat in the town so no need to eat at the very expensive restaurant at the hotel. The breakfast was average with a not to bad selection. Very good Wi Fi throughout the complex. Would stay there again if we ever have the misfortune to be in San Pedro again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very overpriced for what you get, much better deals available in San Pedro. No hot water one morning so cold showers for everyone, maintenance staff working.......

Front desk staff, young with no experience, incompetent and bordering on just plain rude definitely not helpful.

Included breakfast very basic and no choices other than the buffet.

A nice setting but way overpriced and lacks service.

Room Tip: Bring your own bottled water because you won't get anything included in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The rooms look fantastic here, lots of individual huts with plenty of privacy, making it feel a really exclusive place. We had our own veranda, and some even had rooftop balconies or private (ish) gardens, and fantastic views of the volcanoes and hills from everywhere.
Although it was technically winter when we came, it was still red hot in the day, and the pool was great to relax by in-between tours - we were surprised how quiet it was, and had it to ourselves most of the time.
Most people have covered off the location, and although it is a bit out of town, this is not really an issue, other than avoiding the fairly extreme temperatures you get on the walk in and out (looking for shade in the daytime heat, and layering up at night to stay warm.
Being a bit out of the way actually makes this feel more secure, and the buzzer on the gates helps, as well as the friendly staff who always recognized us. Also the little touches like putting on the heating while you are out in the evening so it is not freezing when you get in!
We would be more than happy to stay here again if we are ever fortunate enough to visit San Pedro in future!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Excellent hotel, big bungalows built in a local style with nice decoration. Probably one of the best and slightly upscale places to stay at in San Padre with a direct access from some rooms to -freezing- swimming pool. You will be welcomed by a very nice and old white dog, running away if you try to pet it unless some cookie will be involved in the process...
Good breakfast and internet with some decent speed - rare enough to be mentioned. Great place to visit surranding geysers, moon valley or Death Valley.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

When we first arrived at the hotel I was surprised by its rustic charm. The rooms are clean and have everything you need. It is a few minutes further from the center of town than many hotels but it is worth the extra few minutes walk. The young men and woman who work the front desk could not be more accommodating. The hotel is deserving of its 4 1/2 star rating.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
569 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#10 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#8 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kimal
Hotel Kimal
#12 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
332 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
#4 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altiplanico Atacama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altiplanico Atacama

Address: Domingo Atienza 282, San Pedro de Atacama 1410000, Chile
Region: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range: £144 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altiplanico Atacama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a gentle stretch of land in the outskirts of San Pedro, surrounded by the quiet presence of the Andes, Altiplanico San Pedro faces the impressive Licancabur Volcano, with a unique design inspired in the style of an Altiplano village. Enjoy the famous Atacama sunsets and relax from the smoldering sun in the fresh covers of our private terraces and beautiful swimming pool after a day exploring the driest desert in the world. The hotel was developed following the concept of visual silence, the eye registers the hotel in its totality included in the in the immensity of the Atacama desert. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altiplanico Atacama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altiplanico Hotel
Altiplanico Atacama San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing