We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome Awasi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
“Awesome Awasi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have just added Awasi Atacama to our list of peak life experiences. We had the most magnificent 3-night stay, and we loved every minute of it. The lodge itself is beautifully appointed, and our suite was spectacular. The food was fabulous, and the staff attentive in every way.

We especially loved having our own personal guide--Maria Isabel Sagues (Mabel)--who couldn't have been more helpful and thoughtful from the moment we arrived. Mabel talked with us in detail about our abilities and limitations (we are 65-year-old women), helped us tailor our expeditions according to our desires and altitude concerns, guided us down a canyon trek with her strong arms, played lovely music in the vehicle during each outing, engaged us in interesting conversation, and overall created one of the most memorable travel experiences we've had in our 39 years of exotic and unique expeditions together.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the pool, dining, lounge area. The location of rooms on the other side of the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

How great to hear from you both again! Mabel says hello and remembers you gals very well…we all did. It was always such a pleasure having conversations with you both throughout the times that you arrived at the property from your excursions. Your excitement and joy was visible and only re-instated to us that we were doing a good job.

It was definitely “awesome” having you ladies at our oasis in the desert. We would love to see more of the pictures that you took while out on the desert with Mabel. We only got a glimpse of a few of them that you showed us when you were leaving and loved it. We are just so honored that you have chosen us to be the top of your peak life experiences. I sure hope that we may impact your experience throughout another great place – the Chilean Patagonia. Back in November 2013, we opened up a private reserve and it would be another honor for us, if you were to allow us to show you around this area.

Hope to see you soon!

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    21
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
76
308
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The 3 of us shared a large room, and we had an amazing time. Wished we had more than 3 nights - friendly and helpful staff, great food, a knowledgable guide who delivered what we had hoped to see and more ..... And so much more to explore, so we will be back and staying at the Awasi again.

Room Tip: Do state your preference and I am sure Awasi will help; our room was across the road and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper1Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Tripper,

Thanks for sharing your experience at Awasi with all of us.

Happy to know that you and your friends enjoyed your time at the property.

Isn’t it just great to be able to share your traveling journeys with good friends? Please send our best to your travel companions and we sure hope to see you next time for more than just 3 nights. We sure tried to squeeze as much as possible, especially knowing that you all enjoy the very active excursions at the desert.

Let us know ahead of time of your planned travel dates and maybe you can all squeeze in Awasi Patagonia. We will re-open for our 2nd season on September 15th, 2014 and would love to show you around the “World’s 8th Wonder” in a very private and tailor-made experience.

Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spend 3 nights at Awasi, and we loved it. The staff was wonderful in every way. Thanks to Andres for making all our request happen, also to Son our waiter and special thanks to Chef Juan Pablo Mardones for the delicious meals he prepared for us, and he even gave us recipes for several meals that we love. Also our guides Marcela and Christian made itineraries for us so that we could see as much as possible in our short stay but always making sure that our desires were met to the last detail. We can't say enough of Awasi, if your going to Atacama there is no other place I will recommend,is worth every penny you spend there. Thank you Awasi !!!!! Ernesto and Maria Elena Fuentes

Room Tip: All rooms are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Fuentes,

It is so nice to see a great title to your feedback – it already gives me a smile even before reading it. We really did love having you at our property and Chef Mardones sends his best. He wants you to know that anytime you wish to receive any of the recipes from the time you were there, feel free to reach out. It would be his pleasure to provide them over to you.

Marcela and Christian still feel that they can show you many more great “spots” throughout the Atacama desert. With only 3 nights, they tried their best to show you as much as possible but enjoyed your company very much and are eager to show you even more that the desert has to offer. Maybe, you might both return in a few months and not only see more of the Atacama Desert but may combine it with our new property at the Patagonia – Awasi Patagonia!

Our doors will always be open for you both.

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevele, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We spent 3 nights at Awasi. This was a fantastic experience. The food is delicous, the staff very friendly, our guide Pierre enthousiastic! He adviced us the right excursions and shared his passion for the nature.
Thank you for this wonderful time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bénédicte H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Benedicte,

With much gratitude, we thank you for taking out the time to provide us with your feedback on your experience with us.

Pierre, as well as the rest of the staff sends their best to you. We just loved having you with us and are honored that you chose us for your experience throughout the Atacama Desert.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our oasis. Please feel free to reach out to us if you wish to stay at any of our Awasi properties.

Best Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at Awasi - our family of 3 - in February 2014. As other reviewers have said, we expected it to be amazing, but it even exceeded our expectations. Though the hotel itself is indeed luxurious, - exquisitely comfortable, down to the finest detail - it's the staff and level of personal attention which sets Awasi apart from the rest.
The excursions - these consist of individual, personal guides who spend your entire stay, just with you, taking you on an itinerary mutually designed according to your desires. Our guide went above and beyond, providing extras at all times of the day, including scheduling a stargazing tour for us (even after we were explicitly told that they were cancelled for our dates b/c the moon was too bright), and an excursion the a.m. before our departure, to see petroglyphs and then to a small, remote town which we had specifically requested.
The dining - our daughter is a vegetarian, and the staff had made provisions for her from our first meal there. They could not do enough to be flexible and accommodating. Yet the food is delicious - often local and fresh. And the staff warm and attentive.
Awasi is truly outstanding. It's a beautiful hotel in a magnificent location. The staff conveys the feeling they know and care about you, personally, while providing the highest level of service. We would recommend Awasi to anyone who is traveling to St. Pedro Atacama.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank contessafan253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

How wonderful it is to open up a comment and see that we’re thought of as “Absolutely the best…”!
It is truly an honor to had welcome you to our oasis in the desert and show you around.

It is always very important that our guests do not miss out any of the local fare, so even though your daughter is vegetarian, we really wanted to ensure that she was able to delight in what we have to offer. Having a professional staff working for a maximum of 16 guests, we can always make sure that even the smallest (yet most important) aspects of your meals are according to your dietary restrictions.

We are sure that you will all enjoy spending time at our newest property, Awasi Patagonia in the Chilean Patagonia. Let us welcome you to this part of South America that has so much to offer.

See you soon,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent 3 nights recently at Awasi- a family of 3. We stayed in a rectangular room, and had plenty of space. 2 separate courtyards-outdoor shower and lovely amenities. Our guide Diego was awesome and we learned so much from him about the area. The staff really shines at this resort, always doing their best to make you happy. They could not have been more delightful. My only complaint was the lack of air conditioning. As a picky American who lives in the South, the room was hot for us, and at times the water pressure was nonexistent during showers. However, Awasi is a stunning resort, worth the travel time and money! Everything is included,including antihistamines when my husband's allergies acted up. They even had a special menu for my child, printed with her name on it. They actively engaged her in conversations in Spanish, which I appreciated, as she studies in school at home! Thanks for a great trip everyone-you are much appreciated:)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissamce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Melissa,

Great to have received your very candid feedback on your experience with us, as it is much appreciated.

It was definitely a pleasure having you all at our property and engaging with your daughter in Spanish. Diego sends his best to you all and loved showing you around to your home, away from home.

We appreciate your honesty on how you felt during your time at the suite. Our rooms are made out of adobe, wood and stone and naturally retain the cool air, providing a very comfortable environment. However, for those that require a bit more cooling we can provide fans upon our guests’ request at reception.

We sure will take your suggestions into consideration and appreciate you advising us on your thoughts based on your experience with us. It would be great to get your notes on our newest property in the Chilean Patagonia – Awasi Patagonia, and we can assure you that your daughter will be able to practice her Spanish.

See you soon!

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
228 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I was expecting Awasi to be a terrific hotel because of all the outstanding reviews I had read over the past few years. It surpassed my greatest expectations.
The property,is simply stunning. Every detail is so artistic and beautifully thought out. There are several wonderful ,sitting areas so it is difficult to choose which to enjoy first.
The staff exhibits great warmth and hospitality. They are fluent in English. They are always wanting to anticipate your needs.
The food is very good and the house wines are some of the very best we had in all of Chile. I had spent many days exploring the wine region,of Chile on this trip.
Included in the all inclusive price are the excursions of which there are many to choose. Each couple has his own guide and driver. This is a unique offering for Chile and makes each person's experiences more meaningful . The places to visit in the region are so beautiful and unique in the world
I know their new property in Patagonia will be equally superb because of the personalized attention.
The general manager is a man of great warmth, taste, refinement and intelligence.

Room Tip: Stay in room one of you can afford the superior Round room. There are three large rooms of this typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Joan,

Wow, to be called “The finest hotel in Chile” is definitely something to brighten ones day with.

The entire staff could not be happier to have read these comments and we remember you so well. At this moment our GM, is currently blushing from your praises. He also says that was great having dinner with you and Thomas and also seeing you in Santiago.

We could not have had a better Awasi guest as yourself and enjoyed taking pictures throughout the Salar de Atacama with you.

We are truly happy that your time with us was one of the best during your lengthy stay in Chile. When we hear back from our guests to know that Awasi has impacted their trip in such a way, it validates the hard work that our team presents each and every day.

We cannot wait until we can welcome you to Awasi Patagonia to show you this property and once again, surpass your expectations.

Best Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
2.1 mi away
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
#3 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
#2 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#5 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#7 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#4 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#6 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Tocopilla 4, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lodge located at the Atacama Desert, Chile. Only property in the region to be an affiliate of Relais & Chateaux. With only 8 ample rooms, we provide tailor made experiences, assigning a private guide and a 4x4 vehicle to each cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Awasi Hotel San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing