We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful week at Awasi in the Atacama”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Certificate of Excellence
Ramseur, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful week at Awasi in the Atacama”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Accommodations:
We loved our Rondavel-style room, especially the outdoor shower (plus indoor shower). Sheets were top quality and we slept very well. The humidifier in the room was a stroke of brilliance, as the air is dry at Awasi's location! The masseuses were a special relaxation treat.

Excursions: Every outing we took was first rate, and we filled up 6 days with activities. The guides are outstanding. They were versatile and talented, for example, they did geology, botany, cooking, first aid, astronomy, and fitness training. Awasi’s policy of hiring energetic young university graduates as guides is excellent. So many times we find that tour guides are tired middle-aged folk of dubious background. So the young, educated and intelligent Awasi guides are a breath of fresh air! Diego and Christian were our guide and driver. I learned that Christian the driver has a Masters degree in art education, and is a painter, so I talked the Awasi manager into organizing a special excursion for me, in which Christian taught a landscape painting class. It was great fun, and I will always keep the painting! If you like the idea of a fun personal painting coach, ask for Christian.

Restaurant: the food was excellent, and the servers were lovely. We especially enjoyed sitting by the roaring fires in the evening and trying Awasi's wide variety of Chilean wines.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Temi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Temi,

We would like to thank you for the time you’ve allotted in presenting us your feedback.

Sure love the precision and great clarity that you provide of your stay at the Atacama.

We all remember you and your spouse very well and are so glad that Christian’s personal art class was a delight for you. As he mentioned, art is his passion as well as providing these different “strokes of art” for our guests while in the Atacama. I bet you did not think you’ll be painting in the desert when imagining your trip to Awasi, right?

Please feel free to reach out to us at anytime so we may be able to welcome you back and hopefully at our property in the Chilean Patagonia – Awasi Patagonia!

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    22
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
84
335
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Atacama desert and the Awasi are "one of a kind" experiences that can't be beat. The Awasi staff were exceptional and treated us more like friends and family than customers. The activities, guest rooms, common spaces, dining room, etc. were all five star. The desert is "other worldly" and sights were sufficiently varied that we were always engaged and happy.

I can't imagine a better place to stay when visiting the Atacama desert.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sueandrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for the great comment!

To say that we are a “one of a kind” experience at the desert is truly an honor. We would not be what we are now if it was not for guests as yourself that have given us the opportunity to provide you with a unique experience at this majestic and “other worldly” part of the world.

We would love to welcome you back and experience the Chilean Patagonia, which I might add has recently become the 8th Wonder of the World! Another great place in South America to enjoy all of its delights in a private manner.

Feel free to reach out to us to organize your upcoming trip back to Awasi!

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were a family party of four - two parents, two mid-teen daughters - and visited Awasi Atacama in April 2014, directly from Sydney. We were very excited about visiting Chile, the Atacama and Awasi, all for the first time. In summary, Awasi Atacama did not disappoint on any front.

Our accommodation was excellent - two lovely large adjacent rooms each with great bathrooms, and private outdoor areas in the pleasant small courtyard annex across the quiet lane from the main restaurant / pool / relaxing / area of the hotel. The main facilities are great - being greeted for dinner on a crispish desert evening by a blazing fire pit always got dinner off on a good footing, and the food - selection, quality and service - never disappointed. Also a great selection of Chilean wines.

One of us is celiac, so how this is dealt with is always a major issue in determining our peace of mind at any hotel or restaurant. Awasi handled it flawlessly, providing a wide selection - or any other special request - of interesting gluten-free dishes, at every meal, and also on all the many picnics. This came with a special (unobtrusive) caring attitude to the issue from all the staff and guides. Seamless gluten-free catering alone would excuse many other shortcomings from our point of view....

.. But there were no other shortcomings. The staff - from the warm welcome at the airport by Carolina our guide-to-be, and Ignatio with the separate baggage wagon (and it transpired that Ignatio is also the astronomy guide), through our welcome to Awasi itself by Johanna the lovely and efficient manager, and right on from there - were superb without exception. Somebody else has said of the staff that they were 'there for us' and that was completely our experience.

The complete personal attention continues outside the hotel. The Atacama and its surrounding mountains are remarkable places to visit, and being shown around privately by people of the personal and professional calibre of Carolina and then Diego who are deeply committed to the area was always a treat. There is no sense of 'the program': what we did was suggested then structured around our own interests - then re-structured to fit the evolving moods and energy levels among our party.

Nothing was too much trouble - and there was always a fluffy dressing gown and towel and a chilled white wine at the salt lake or the thermal springs, always an egg boiling away at dawn in the geyser, bikes for those who wanted to ride to the salt lake with personal vehicular transport by Johanna for the wilting member of our party, always a vehicle waiting at the bottom of the hill on an evening walk, a mellow sand-boarding coach procured when we said that we wanted to try that.

We stayed for five nights - and I'm glad that we did. Any less and we would have been leaving too much not done, outside the hotel, and also just enjoying the comforts and pleasures available at Awasi Atacama.

(We followed our Atacama time with the long trip south to the new Awasi Patagonia: also very special to put it mildly, and another place where we could easily have stayed twice as long. Roll on Awasi Iguazu.)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you so much for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We were very happy to welcome you and your family at our oasis in the desert.

Our chefs Juan Pablo and Federico send their regards and remember you all vividly. They’re both “over the moon” happy that you were all pleased with the options offered.

It seems like you were all able to fully enjoy the Atacama Desert and from the peek at your Awasi Patagonia review, you got the “best” of the Patagonian weather during your stay.

We are all very excited about Awasi Iguaçu and can’t wait to provide you the same enjoyable and private experience at this new locale. We will keep you posted on the opening date and make sure to personally invite you.

See you again,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Awasi was an wonderful retreat set in a spectacular landscape. Our guide Leah was incredible - so knowledgeable of the area and she customized our agenda to meet our exact requests. Awasi accommodations and service were top notch - we loved the firepit set out every evening. Food was exceptional (other than the bread used for picnic sandwiches, which should be changed immediately). We stayed on our honeymoon for 4 nights, and are already making plans to return. Fabulous!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EaglesFanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow, thanks so much for reviewing your experience with us so soon! It felt like yesterday when you were with us and enjoying your honeymoon.

It was an honor to be chosen as your honeymoon spot – these are memories that will last a lifetime for you and your wife. Just so glad that we were able to show you as much as possible within the time-frame you had with us.

Thank you so much for pointing out the bread used on our picnic sandwiches – it is a good point but to be fair, we have tested out many different kinds of breads that might withstand being out for a few hours on the desert and not completely dry out. Then again, we are in the World’s driest desert so I can assure you it was not an easy feat to reach. The type of bread provided on the picnics is a focaccia bread and if another one is used during these outings, we find it that it dries out very quickly becoming a less than standard Awasi sandwich. We hope you may understand…However, there is another place that we would love to show you. Maybe it can be on your list of places to see for your 1st Wedding Anniversary! How about the Chilean Patagonia? We recently opened up a property at the Chilean Patagonia named Awasi Patagonia. Believe us when we tell you, the Patagonia is definitely not a place that gets dry at all. Picnic sandwich breads have no fear in this area (lol).

Whenever you are ready with some firm dates, give your Personal Reservations Assistant a call or send her an email to info@awasi.cl so we may further assist you.

See you both very soon!

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Four of us spent 3 nights here while visiting the Atacama desert. The stay was one of the nicest ever. The staff was totally there for us, from reception, to the bartender, to the waitstaff, the manager and the guides. You meet with the guide and decide what you want to see. The nest morning you take off and anything you go to see is amazing. There is a lunch provided, sundowners and total attention to you. I have never felt so pampered. We left feeling that we were leaving our family! The meals were outstanding. If you ever are in this part of the world you have to go - and Awasi is a once in a lifetime place to stay! We were even treated to a 8.2 earthquake about 200 miles north, but the construction was so good that although we swayed for 2 minutes, nothing cracked. What an experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Gary,

What an experience you all had! You were treated to a real life Chilean earthquake! We were a bit worried on how nervous some of our guests were going to feel after that little “dance” mother nature gave us that night. You were all troopers, though and with some team all was better for all of us.

We are simply thrilled to hear back from you all – it was very nice having you and your family with us for those few nights. It really is like saying goodbye to family because after a few days, we all see you here and chat. As the days go by, we all get so accustomed to seeing you all. Can’t wait for you all to return and hopefully at that time, you won’t feel any other earthquake and/or tremor that might go down.

From the entire “Fantastically Friendly” team, we all send you our best!

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Great experience overall. Our guide Pablo adjusted to our taste and made sure we saw the sites when tourists were elsewhere. As for the hotel, being relais & chateaux we were expecting a lot and we weren't disappointed with delicious creative meals every night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Andrea,

Thank you very much for your review.

It was a pleasure welcoming you to this majestic place called the Atacama Desert.

Clearly, it seems that you’ve visited many other Relais & Chateaux properties and we are happy to see that we’ve measured up to them. We work very hard to provide our guests with a very personalized experience, and comments as yours, truly validates our daily focus. We thank you for giving us this great opportunity in being a part of your experience throughout this place we like to call home.

We hope to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I had wanted to visit the Atacama Desert for some time and had always said we should stay at Awasi and so our expectations were high and we were certainly not disappointed - it all started when we met the charming Director General ( Matias ) in London last year.

He had so much passion for his hotel that you knew it would be good and indeed everything that I asked was catered for - even a tripod for my camera to take photos of the sky at night ( which incidentally was amazing and again Awasi organised a very special trip with a guy called Jorge - we would thoroughly recommend him )

Back to Awasi - it is in San Pedro but is like a luxury haven amongst a very touristy town which I am sure is interesting but there was never a need to go into town as we were fully occupied by our tremendous guide ( Diego ) and his driver ( Christian ) - what a team - our main remit was to see as much as we could but preferably with no tourists - Diego managed to do just that and we had a great time - such an interesting place with such diverse landscapes - quite incredible

As for our room - it was fabulous

As for the hotel staff - all excellent especially Andreas ( who stayed up very late one night to make us a cup of coffee on our return from a night star gazing expedition - he even kept the open fire going for us ) and of course Son ( who managed to reserve my table for our entire stay of 4 nights )

We were very privileged to meet up with Matias and his beautiful wife in Santiago and he was genuinely interested in our stay and whether there were any improvements to make - he has another property in Patagonia which will be a must for us - they are also opening another near Iguazu Falls which I am sure will also be amazing

My last words on this are simply - Atacama is fantastic and the only way to do it is to stay at Awasi - you will not regret it

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are good but we stayed on the side with the restaurant which I think is bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tprees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Mr. Rees,



“Fantastic” is definitely the word that I would use to describe just lovely guests as yourself and Mrs. Rees. It was definitely a pleasure in assisting with your reservations after Matias placed us in contact with you.

We were just so happy to know that the tripod we had worked perfectly for your camera. We were a bit worried about it as we wanted to ensure your time at Awasi was a memorable one.

We all send you our best (including Matias & Veronica, which by the way also had a great dinner with you in Santiago), and simply cannot wait to make your upcoming Awasi experiences as memorable or even more so than this one. We love having guests like you and your wife who are just so engaging and allow us to be a part of your experience.

Our Warmest Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.8 mi away
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
#3 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
754 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
#4 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
742 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#7 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Tocopilla 4, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lodge located in the Atacama Desert, Chile. Only property in the region to be an affiliate of Relais & Chateaux. With only 10 ample rooms, we provide tailor-made experiences, assigning a private guide and a 4x4 vehicle to each room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Awasi Hotel San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing