We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home away from home”
Review of Posada Colchagua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Colchagua
Ranked #1 of 26 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This charming property is very small and run by the owner. Leonor exudes such warmth and a wonderful sense of hospitality.
She is extremely knowledgeable about the area and has excellent suggestions.
The inn is centrally located to visit all the vineyards.
I highly recommend this special place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Posada Colchagua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

The owner makes you feel very welcome - glass of wine and helpful suggestions of where to eat. However this cannot disguise the fact that this place is in the middle of a dusty housing/commercial estate in the middle of nowhere. Santa Cruz is @10 Km away. Rooms are adequate but nothing special -no views. Pool is small and one family's two children monopolised it very noisily. Break fast was OK but nothing special. Slightly concerned that when asked about eating we were told we would have to drive and not worry about drinking and driving!
We had to cut short our stay thankfully as other than very commercial wine tours little of interest in area. As we lived in France for many years we were hoping for the small very enthusiastic winemaker with a personal touch. I do think it exists most are big enterprises much as I envisage a Coca Cola bottling factory -geared to big bus tours.

Room Tip: Away from pool? Upstairs?
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The good- clean, basic rooms, nice landscaping, the woman (Leonor?) and kids were helpful with suggestions for itinerary. Breakfast was good- when it was served...
The bad- oh man. Let's start from the end and work backwards- we woke up on Sunday morning having been told that breakfast starts at 7:30. Great, because we need to leave at 8am to catch a flight in Santiago. As of 7:50am the dining room was deserted, not even the tables had been set! So much for that breakfast that was included in our price.
Continuing our walk backwards in time, ah yeah, the kids that were running around and SCREAMING, at MIDNIGHT, pretty much ruined the night of sleep that we were counting on given our early morning departure. After banging loudly enough on the wall to make the parents realize that, in fact, young kids shouldn't be awake at midnight in the first place and that it is also actually really rude to allow your kids to run screaming in a hotel at midnight, I could at least console myself with the promise of a delicious and filling breakfast before we hit the road in the morning...
Before that, the restaurant recommendations were appreciated but a little bit off (Vino Bello is in fact spectacular), and wifi didn't extend to our room despite the router being on the other side of the wall.
But the part that bothered us the most was the service. Leonor seemed completely distracted dedicating herself to her foreign clients and it was very difficult to get her attention. For example, as soon as we arrived we were ushered quickly into our room with zero intro, then some kid came to pour us a (very nice) glass of wine, and that was that. It wasn't until we heard her telling other guests about the wifi password that we realized there was even wifi, much less that it required a password. And we had to ask her how breakfast worked, what times it was served, etc (while interrupting her lovefest with the foreign couple, who had interrupted out discussion with her in the first place!) C'mon, breakfast and wifi are really basic things that you shouldn't need to ask the proprietor about. And then of course, the information she gave regarding breakfast start time was wrong, and she also should have told us at that point that if we are leaving early we should let her know ahead of time (we had told her we needed to leave on Sunday morning and so couldn't do any vineyard tours that day- if she hadn't been so distracted, it would have clicked). And please- if you don't have staff on hand 24/7, then you need to leave contact information in case there are any problems- again, really basic stuff. By the way, all of our interactions with Leonor were done in Spanish by my Chilean wife, so this wasn't an issue of language misunderstandings.
Having said that, it isn't like this place doesn't have its merits. And I think Leonor is very capable and tries to be helpful, but is basically a one-woman show and has a tough time when there's more than one thing requiring her attention (and there was some very basic stuff she missed here). We had a fun trip to Santa Cruz, and the price we paid for Posada Colchagua was 1/2 of Hotel Santa Cruz, so we were able to buy many bottles of good wine to make up the difference- there is indeed good value here. But you also get what you pay for- there's no free lunch (or unfortunately breakfast, sometimes!)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McSmitty00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donamamma, Propietario at Posada Colchagua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Sr Smith :
Su comentario nos puso muy triste,pero hay cosas que debemos agradecer, por ejemplo que valorara positivamente la calidad de nuestras habitaciones y nuestro esmero en la limpieza, dos factores muy importantes.
Cuando ustedes entraron senti, por su actitud, que estaban fuera de lugar, que ustedes querían y esperaban un hotel 5 estrellas, con una atención exclusiva para ustedes, su comentario me dá la razón. Estuvimos primero yo y después Felipe, explicando para usted hasta los más mínimos detalles de las viñas y Ruta del Vino,ambos por largo tiempo,mas que a ningún huésped, de ese día, ni de otros días, pero no fue suficiente.
Lo del desayuno y del check out me olvidé, pero es la primera vez, que un huésped que necesita retirarse de madrugada, no me lo recuerda el día anterior....Yo hubiera estado a cualquier hora y con la buena voluntad, y excelente actitud, que tienen las señoras que preparan el desayuno, ellas les ofrecieron preparar algo rápido, pero ya era tarde.
Las otras personas que estuvieron ese fin de semana, todas felices, muchos de ellos son huéspedes inolvidables, por su simpatía y calidez.
Gracias a esas maravillosas personas,que han puesto un lindo comentario en tripadvisor este año 2014,hemos recibido dos importantes distinciones, estamos el el lugar numero 7 entre los 25 hoteles más románticos de Chile.
Con respecto a los niños que los despertaron.....ustedes tienen toda la razón, los padres se descuidaron unos minutos,yo fui a verlos a penas senti que subian la escala, pero si uno viaja con niños debe preocuparse de la tranquilidad de los demás, fue tanto nuestra preocupación que el resto del verano vendimos solo habitaciones matrimoniales, para dos personas, por lo que tuvimos pocos niños.
Ustedes y todos los huespedes son muy importantes para nosotros, pero debemos reconocer,que no somos un hotel 5 estrellas y no podemos aspirar a recibir gente que espera un 5 estrellas porque va a ver una desencanto, que no es bueno para nadie.....porque nuestro objetivo mas importante es ser" feliz " en nuestro trabajo,si vamos a sufrir no lo hariamos con amor y no tendría ningún sentido.
Por ultimo les doy las infinitas gracias por pagarme la estadía y aceptar descontar el desayuno que no les servimos.
Reciban nuestros saludos y gratitud por este noble gesto.
María Leonor Donoso.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Posada is tucked away in the countryside of the Colchagua valley surrounded by vineyards. Leonor is a friendly, gracious host who made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. She goes out of her way to ensure your stay is comfortable and, despite a bit of language barrier, she made some great suggestions for winery visits and restaurants. Posada also has bicycles available for use and Mont Gras, one of the area's best vineyards, is just a 5km bike ride away. Leonor was able to arrange a great tour there for us as well. I highly recommend Posada if you are visiting this valley and want some quiet time in the country.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jstaffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Peace and relaxation from the moment you arrive at this beautiful, perfectly maintained posada. Close to surrounding vineyards, Leonor will make suggestions and reservations for you for excursions, lunch and dinner. The rooms are spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast is served when you are ready for it and included fruit, ham & cheese, eggs, homemade buns and jam. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. An evening spent on the verandah with a bottle of Chilean wine ends a perfect day!

Room Tip: All the rooms are exactly the same but 1-4 opening onto the verandah are lovely.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Really nice accommodations with amazingly well maintained grounds all around. Breakfast ever morning was really good and a great way to start the day off. Leonor goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable it's as if you are staying with friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Staying in this lovely and comfortable posada was an experience in and of itself. Situated a few miles away from many prestigious vineyards, and great breath taking views of the valley. The rooms are clean and really comfortable. Leonor was gracious and sweet, accommodating my friends and I dietary needs and bringing us a beautiful breakfast. She helped us navigate the village and had many good suggestions to make the most of a short and sweet visit. We wish we would have had more time in Colchagua, but I'm happy we spent our time there. I highly recommend to stayed at the Posada

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Karenchuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#5 of 12 in Santa Cruz
909 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Vendimia Premium
3.9 mi away
Hotel TerraVina
Hotel TerraVina
#4 of 12 in Santa Cruz
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cava Colchagua Hotel Boutique
6.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de Campo
Hotel Casa de Campo
#8 of 12 in Santa Cruz
148 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Parronales
Hotel Parronales
#7 of 12 in Santa Cruz
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Colchagua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Colchagua

Address: Isla de Yaquil s/n, Santa Cruz 3130000, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £81 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Island of Yáquil, to 8 km to the north of of Santa Cruz's city. It is a beautiful built field house according to the architectural tradition of the central area of Chile. Located in the center of the Valley of Colchagua, in which will be able to enjoy the tranquility and unique atmosphere that it offers the Chilean field. From their balconies, corridors and terraces are sighted the most beautiful landscapes that compose a replete square of beauty in any time of the year. We offer a personalized service, assisted by their owner and next to a personnel of first level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Posada Colchagua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Colchagua Santa Cruz
Posada Colchagua Chile/Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing