We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis for travellers”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Tierra & Vino
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis for travellers”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I found myself unexpectedly a lone Canadian traveller with little Spanish. Visited Santa Cruz for wine tours and museum. Enrique, hotel owner, took me under his wing and made my stay very memorable. From personally escorting me on wine tours, arranging for English speaking wine tastings, to finding an excellent restaurant, and finally (I was driving) directions and helpful advice for interesting sites around Santa Cruz. I would highly recommend this hotel for its location and personal service.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMMEGillanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    14
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The rooms and the hotel are great but it's all about the service. I had, unfortunately, only one day to spend in Santa Cruz. Enrique, the owner, helped me get 3 days of activities into that day. From personally taking me to 2 wineries for tastings to showing me where to eat and to see a few of the places the locals go in the evenings. Enrique is proud of his town and enjoys showing it to visitors. If I'm ever in the area again there is absolutely no question about where I'll stay

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gLoBe-HoPpErMaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

The hotel is really good and the manager (Enrique) is incredibly nice and takes care of everything from very early in the morning to late at night when you come back from your long day of visiting wineries :) when we came back at night after our dinner, he offered to sit with him and opened several bottles of wine (free of course!) because he really wanted us to taste some wine that he likes from the Colchagua region.

The room we got was small, but fortunately it was clean and comfortable and the bathroom is good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beti92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Excelent service. New administrator Enrique was very caring and attentive. Hotel is very well located 2 blocks away from the town square. Rooms are clean and have huge TVs with premium cable service. Free wifi is a huge plus. Breakfast was plentiful and delucious. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prussmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel in September 2011 under the old ownership and had an okay experience. In February, 2012 I returned for Vendimia and the new family owning this hotel makes all the difference. They are very attentive, friendly and kind. They will go above and beyond to ensure that you have the best experience possible in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaritaSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2011

The place has 1 to 6 rooms named with Mapudungun native words, a little hall and a pool at the side. The overall hotel is an adapted residential house.

The hotel is very well located, in a very quiet and a good looked street, and apparently safe where you can trustly leave your car (if any). Taxi cab service is not so regular, but hotel can call you one, at a really convenient rate (comparing the general overpricing infunded on the commerce of the overall city to tourists). 

A little drawback is the 6th room and the pool being located at the same building but disconnected from the reception and the lounge - i.e. if you're at the 4th room you need to get out to access the pool, and if you book a room you'll probably will get that- but the place is so quiet that this is really a minimum disadvantage.

Room is fully equipped: cable tv, 220v, phone, clean bed, private bathroom with towel sets, hot water, soup & shampoo, nice decorative carpet & wall accessories, hair dryer, safe box, cooler (you must ask for their keys), so the price is good returned.

Location is excellent and the big deal with this hotel, actually just few meters from the Colchagua Casino, you can stay here and go to casino on foot and return late at night with no problem (other places can't say the same).

The breakfast is also good - not a free buffet, but a prepared service, that got you ready for the Colchagua Museum. Although not so publicited, this is a surprisingly comprehensive repository of historical objects of every kind - there is even a lot of local fossils from corals to animals - telling part of the  overall Chilean history. This is really a must of the zone, an requires about 3 hours to appreciate it in its complete dimension.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hypfco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Based on the Lonely Planet, we tried to book a night at Hotel Santa Cruz, which has been closed since the earthquake. We were referred to Tierra & Vino, which is a nearby house posing as a hotel. All of the rooms are off of one hallway, the doors are hollow, the beds are tiny. There's no place to put your luggage. The window opens to a view of the next house. The shower water starting running cold during my 3 minute shower.

Breakfast was some processed ham and cheese, white bread, orange sugar water, and highly processed yogurt. I had hot water and a teabag instead. On the other hand, free WiFi, free parking in front of the house, the neighborhood is quiet, the staff is friendly and tries to be helpful, even if the restaurant they suggested was closed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boberonicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Vendimia Premium
1.2 mi away
Hotel TerraVina
Hotel TerraVina
#4 of 11 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cava Colchagua Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#5 of 11 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Vina la Playa
Hotel Vina la Playa
#10 of 11 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Parronales
Hotel Parronales
#6 of 11 in Santa Cruz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tierra & Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tierra & Vino

Property: Hotel Tierra & Vino
Address: 5 de abril 162 ; valle Hermoso, Santa Cruz 3100300, Chile
Region: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tierra & Wine is located in the city of Santa Cruz and only 50 meters the Casino and the Museum of Colchagua, just one block from the Plaza de Santa Cruz, cozy and comfortable. His ethnic-style decor achieved Mapuche and Creole roots together, We have only seven rooms deliver a personalized service to our guests ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Tierra & Vino Chile/Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing