We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was pretty bad….”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal D'Vid B & B

Hostal D'Vid B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal D'Vid B & B
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It was pretty bad….”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2008

We were surprised at just how bad this hotel was after reading such positive reviews on TA before our trip. Although the bed was comfortable, our room was tiny, tiny, tiny, with absolutely no space for opening your luggage unless you put it up on the bed. Even the TV was suspended from the ceiling because of the room was so small. We found this very much at odds with all of our other hotels in Chile, which tended to be very spacious with high, lofty ceilings. The bathroom was grimy, and in a general state of disrepair – for example broken tiles and towel hooks. But worse then the tiny room and grimy bathroom, was the LACK OF PRIVACY!!! Our room was situated only a few steps away from the reception area, and from our bed we could hear every single sigh, sniffle, sneeze and cough of the owners who were both sick with a common cold, but still spent all day at the reception desk. We could even hear when they were typing on the keyboard, and every squeak of their office chair. In terms of privacy, it was awful. If you (for some reason) decide to stay here after reading this review, beware of rooms #1-#3, which are located beside the reception. Continuing on….the secure parking had enough room for 2 cars to be parked in tandem, which meant we were delayed while waiting for the other guests to get their car out in the morning. Breakfast was without a doubt, the worst on our entire trip because of the stale bread, and stingy servings. It appears that the owners are running this business by themselves without any hired help, and the wife seems particularly miserable to be doing all of the domestic work. With so many options available in Santa Cruz, we do not recommend Hostal D'Vid - it is a suburban home very poorly converted into a B&B.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank shnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    12
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2008

DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT STAYING AT THIS DIVE! After reading several reviews on Trip Advisor, my husband and I decided to give it a try. We arrived after a full day of travel to find: a minisule room, even though they had guaranteed a king sized bed, a bathroom, or should I call it a closet, with broken, dirty tiles, the sink falling off the wall & mold and mildew in the shower. You can do much better in Santa Cruz, especially if you try Hotel Vendimia. For just a few dollars more, it is a palace! Contact them at hotelvendimia@yahoo.es You will not be sorry.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank werhappy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Athens, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

We stayed two nights during a side trip from Santiago. The hotel is very clean, the rooms adequately furnished, and the beds were firm and super comfortable. There is wi-fi in the sitting room near the breakfast area. Breakfast was filling - rolls, butter and jam, cheese and cold cuts. The only complaint was that they serve instant coffee; however, when we tried to find real coffee elsewhere, we were offered Nescafe at every turn. Overall, this place is a good value. It's about 8-10 minutes walking to the central plaza and 3-4 blocksto the bus station. The neighborhood is quite safe. Be sure to bring a map with the hotel's address and location - we foolishly didn't and the three taxi drivers we asked were not familiar with the hotel. We finally found it after going to an internet cafe. If you reserve ahead, they will request a credit card number to hold the room, but you must pay in cash at checkout.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Instant coffee for breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTAAthens_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2008

We stayed four nights and were pleased with the relaxed feeling and quiet location just a short walk from the center of town. The rooms are modest but D' Vid has a sense of style, which is not surprising, considering that Patricio, the owner, is a graphic designer. His friend Nicolas Jimenez was our guide for a day and a half of touring wineries. His local knowledge gave us cultural insight and easy access to wineries, which is crucial in Chile and Argentina. Unlike most other wine-producing countries, security is tight here. Although Nicolas made it clear that he had no experience as a tour guide, his personality, command of English, and local connections make him uniquely qualified. And he will charge a lot less than the local tour company that seems to have a monopoly on wine tours in the region. Finally, any stay at D' Vid is made brighter by the beautiful and charming Jacquie, who served our breakfast and was always patient with our bumbling attempts at Spanish.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricksing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2008

We recently stayed here with our in-laws so got to sample two rooms both of which were of a very high standard for the price.

The rooms are very nicely decorated, with Wi-Fi, very comfortable beds with crisp bedding, and clean private bathrooms with big fluffy towels. The only slight downside was that the bathrooms tended to smell rather a bit after each shower (we think there was a problem with the drains) and if you didn't shut the bathroom door the whole room took on a rather unpleasent smell. My in-laws room was also by the front door of the property so there was a little noise when other guests arrived at night (inc. the rather loud door bell).


The property is in a great location; within walking distance of Plaza de Armas, where you'll find Ruta del Vino the place you can book your vineyard tours, there are also a few little touristy shops and restaurants nearby. And make sure you visit the museam as it's amazing!

The garden and pool are really nice and we happily chilled there in the afternoon and even made ourselves a light supper in the kitchen which we ate by the pool one evening.

Breakfast is great too!

All in all for the price we don't think you'll find better. But be aware they do only accept cash (not a problem though as there are cash machines in the plaza).

We also found a laundry off of the plaza which did all our washing in a day too!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank TishnGiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2007

My husband and I stayed here in late September, a convenient stopover to tour some vineyards before heading further south. Hostal D'vid is fairly new, and has obviously been put together by someone with taste and high standards (compared to many hostals of similar price throughout the rest of the country). The room was comfy, spotlessly clean, with nice furnishings, and a small (but again, very clean) bathroom with gushing hot water. The dining room and lounge were cosy (the fire was roaring)...and I could see the pool would've been inviting had the weather been warmer.

The manager gave us a map of Santa Cruz (the hostal in only a five-minute walk from the town center) and recommended a restaurant that turned out to be quite a find (there will be a separate review forthcoming).

My one comment would be that Room 1 is right next to the front door, so we heard pretty much everyone's comings and goings. Didnt bother us much, but I can see how it might bother some.

In all, a charming place to spend a day or two, good value, clean and friendly!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fassia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerez de la Frontera
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

We found this hotel with an internet search when planning our visit to the wine country. The Hostal is a converted house with a pleasant living/dining area and pool, just a few blocks away from the Plaza de Armas. Our room wasn't huge but it was comfortable, clean, and tastefully decorated. At 28,000 pesos per night with breakfast included it also ended up being one of the best values we found on our trip thoughout the central valley and lakes district. They also provided helpful info such as contact numbers for local wineries, and the restaurant they recommended was a good one. We were told the hostal had been open for a mere two months. All in all we were pleased at being able to find a nice place to stay that didn't break the bank.

Helpful?
1 Thank chano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#5 of 11 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Vendimia Premium
35.7 mi away
Tumunan Lodge
Tumunan Lodge
#2 of 26 in Santa Cruz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal Cruz del Valle
Hostal Cruz del Valle
#5 of 26 in Santa Cruz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Cepa Noble
Hostal Cepa Noble
#3 of 26 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Tierra Noble
Hostal Tierra Noble
#9 of 13 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal D'Vid B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal D'Vid B & B

Property: Hostal D'Vid B & B
Address: Alberto Edwards 205, Santa Cruz, Chile
Region: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Santa Cruz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Santa Cruz
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hostal D'Vid B & B Chile/Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing