We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE choice for an overnight stay in Tunxi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Street Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I won't say anything new here. This is an excellent hostel, and indeed, the restaurant across, Meishi Renjia, is a great place to eat (you won't find such quality of cooking, variety of choices or such low prices later, on the mountain). We spent one night in a twin room with ensuite at a discount (member) price Y117. The room was perfectly adequate, the air-con heated the room sufficiently. The bathroom facilities were fairly new, towels and liquid soap were provided.

Just like we hoped, the staff was competent and helpful. They made arrangements for the transport to the Huangshan mountain. They had up-to-date information on which parts of the park were closed, and were able to book dorm beds on top of the mountain for the lowest price available (the prices we saw later on the top were higher). The staff also sells tickets to long-distance buses, with pickup at the hostel. The system of selling bus tickets and hotel rooms by other hotels and private tour guides is universal throughout the mountain, so it is safe ans secure to pay beforehand.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xamhayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

My spouse and I spend 4 nights at the Huangshan Old Street Youth Hostel in September 2011. We had booked a twin bedroom with ensuite bathroom (although that was a mistake, since we really wanted one bed for both, so we should have gotten a double room with ensuite).

What we loved most of all were the super-helpful and super-competent girls who sit at the front desk in the evenings. They did everything for us in a breeze: book us on the morning bus to the Yellow Mountain itself, book a private car with driver for the next day to see the Xidi and Hongcun villages and the bamboo forest for 350 Yuan, even bought our Hangzhou-Shanghai high-speed train tickets for the following week-end! They even managed to get our hot water fixed the last night, and securely kept our laptop during our days at the mountain. BTW, the back of the front desk is constantly piled high with backpacks and suitcases, so they're obviously used to keeping stuff for people while they overnight on the Yellow Mountain . The other "pro" of this place, has got to be the location within Tunxi: right in the middle of the pleasant part of Tunxi (the rest of the town looks pretty much messy and unfinished) and, of course, right across the street from THE MOTHER OF ALL DUMPLING RESTAURANTS! We had already read about that place, so we had decided to try it out and "splurge" for our first night in town, since we assumed that the prices would be up to the place's reputation. One 51 Yuan (US$8, for two) feast later, we decided to make it our exclusive food hangout for the rest of our stay in town. We ate a total of 5 times there, and the most we spent was 94.50 Yuan for both, including beer (that's 14 US$). The way to order food there is a little odd at first, but the staff explains it to you, and then it becomes extremely easy, even if you don't know a word of Chinese. Also, BTW, they have much more than just dumplings, and that stuff's pretty good too! Other "pros" of our stay at the Huangshan Old Street Youth Hostel included the quietness of our room (Only outside noises included the hourly Big Ben chimes from 7 AM to 9 PM -- no kidding!-- and the thuds of the very large wooden hammers they use to bake the local cookies -- no kidding too, you'll have to see that! --), and the nice and clean bedsheets and towels. Oh, and of course, the last "pro" of the Huangshan Old Street Youth Hostel is the price, even for the private rooms.

What we liked less was the fact that, well, you are still in a hostel. Even though our room was really spacious, it totally lacked any closet or shelving space, so you still end up living out of your backpack or suitcase, like you would do in any other hostel. Also, they probably only have one single room with the very nice looking bed they show on the picture, and the separation wall between our room and our batrhroom looked a bit creapy, although we did not see any unfriendly insects. Finally, even though the door to our room felt perfectly secure (a solid wooden door with cardkey access), the window did not lock at all, and anyone would have been able to get into the room from the nearby rooftop. Last negative, which the hostel can do nothing about, is the location of Tunxi relative to Huangshan (the yellow mountain). Even though Tunxi is officially called "Huangshan City", it is actually QUITE FAR from Huangshan itself: 1 1/2 hour by the 6:25 AM shuttle bus, or 1 hour by private car. The real town at the foot of the mountain is actually a depressingly looking strip of hotels and restaurants in a narrow valley. I believe that's what they call "Huangshan Scenic Area" on the bus schedules, but I am not even sure.

Bottom line: When we come back to Huangshan (and we for sure will, because, despite the outrageous entrance fee, the mountain itself is still worth seeing over and over again, especially the West Sea Canyon, and of course one can't have enough of that dumplings restaurant!), we'll most likely stay again at the Huangshan Old Street Youth Hostel - we'll just try harder to "nab" the room with the nice looking bed!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquesXP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We used Old Street Hostel as a base to visit the Huizhou Villages and Huang Shan. We stayed four nights in a twin room with ensuite. The hostel is conveniently located at the archway end of Lao Jie (Old Street). It's easy to find and within walking distance to many restaurants, snack stores and shops. A taxi from the train station cost us about 8-9RMB.

We stayed in a twin room on the third floor. The room was very large and comfortable but looked out onto the roof next door. We did notice that some other rooms appeared not to have windows so we weren't too bad off. The three twin rooms next door to us were being painted while we were there. We weren't sure if the rooms were undergoing complete renovation or just getting new paint job. Our room was fine although a bit run down in parts, especially in the bathroom where damp had eaten through some of the timber and mould stained the tiles and glass.

The hostel staff were very helpful with bookings and travel information. We booked a village tour, bus transfer to Tangkou and our onward bus journey to Nanjing. All had arranged pick ups from the hostel – a first for any hostel we've stayed at in China so far.

We were fortunate to have four days of sunny, albeit stinking hot weather while we were in Tunxi. We arranged to visit the Huizhou Villages of Hongcun and Xidi via a tour the hostel organised with a local agency. The price was Y210 (or Y220, I can't remember) per person and included two entrance fees, transport and lunch. We worked out that this was a similar price if not cheaper than if we visited both villages ourselves, given that the entrance fee for Hongcun alone is Y104. The main downside with the tour was that it was a Chinese tour and there were only limited signs in English. The tour group did tend to race through the village tours and leave a significant amount of time for shopping at both villages and a selection of shops outside of the main centre of town. We ended up walking back to the hostel from some silk factory an hour before the tour ended because we weren't interested in shopping. Since it's currently the busy season both villages were crawling with Chinese tour groups - even if you're going by yourself, you may still feel like you're stuck on the end of a tour group. We found walking around with so many people about a bit tiring. Many people insisted on putting their sun umbrellas up at eye/head level whilst walking the narrow lane ways and also stopped for photos at inopportune moments. I know this sounds petty but it really detracted from the village experience for us. The only way to get around this would be to consider staying the night in one of the villages and having the morning and evening to roam around with some peace and quiet.

We also booked a bus from the hostel to Huang Shan, leaving the hostel at 6:25AM. The hostel advised that everything at Huang Shan was quite pricey (water was Y25 per bottle and meals upwards of Y50 a dish) and that accommodation was expensive based on what it is (Y240 for a dorm bed, Y780 for a double). We were happy they provided this information because after a full day up the mountain we'd had more than enough and we weren't keen to join the maddening crowds to watch a haze distorted sunrise. The mountain and scenery were nice during the day, especially since we were lucky enough to go on a clearer day. However, if your idea of climbing a mountain is to get away from it all then Huang Shan is probably not the place for you. We have been to much nicer places in China and are not sure if the Y230 entrance fee plus all the extra costs is worth it. If you are planning to stay overnight it would be worth arriving at the mountain later to avoid the rush of tourists coming in between about 7 and 9AM. We ended up queuing about 15 minutes for the minibus to the cable cart terminal and then queuing almost 2 hours for the cable cart on the Eastern side of the mountain - and this was a on a weekday.

We appreciated Old Street Hostel's honest and helpful advice regarding the sights around Tunxi. The hostel twin room was comfortable, the breakfast was a reasonable size and good value for what it was. The only issue we had with the facilities was with the wi-fi; we couldn't get it to work on our computer and the internet on the common computers downstairs was also touch and go. Overall though, a great place to stay in Tunxi.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare_nz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

remember to tell you driver that the hostel is near the old stone archway. we did not know, and had to lug our bags from the other end of the old street.

it is located on the old tunix street, pedestrian street. very nicely situated. would definitely go back the next time around.

the front desk was helpful, in arranging bus pick up, when we had to leave for shanghai.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmelieL_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This hostel's location is excellent - very easy to find. It's right behind the Laojie (Old Street) stone archway, opposite a popular fine Chinese restaurant. Though it's on a busy pedestrian street, it's not noisy at all when you're in your room. The private ensuite rooms are beautifully decorated with oriental furnishings (unlike most other spartan-looking hostels).

The Hostel reception can book minivan transport (18 RMB per person for one way; leaves at 6.25 am from the hostel) to Tangkou where you can catch a special tourist bus (13 RMB) to any one of the 2 cable car stations. The front desk provides free walking sticks if you prefer to hike up Mt Huangshan. Staff service is ok with some nicer or more efficient than others. 2 PCs are placed near the lobby for guests' free use. This hostel seems rather popular (front desk is usually busy), probably due to its excellent location and fairly reasonable price. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We had a great stay here. Comfortable,clean and good help from the reception. Location the best. Cafe upstair could have been better. A bit dark and food not so good.
The restaurant over the road was great. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shjMojacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We booked the old street youth hostel based on trip advisor reviews. It was a great choice and are teenage companions loved it. We arrived late at night (11.30 p.m.) and the reception staff was extremely helpful and patient and organized a trip for us for next morning 6 a.m. to Yellow mountain. When we returned ( a bit exhausted) the kids loved hanging aorund the common area, playing pool billard, darts and using the free itnernet. We all enjoyed eating in the chinese restaurant opposite where we had a great range of food very reasonable priced. We felt cold the first night because we didn't figure out that the aircon system could also be used for heating . Take a walk along the river at sunset.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
31.1 mi away
Xihai Hotel
Xihai Hotel
#3 of 487 in Huangshan
274 reviews
1.7 mi away
Huangshan Cheng Jin Hotel
Huangshan Cheng Jin Hotel
#2 of 487 in Huangshan
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Street Hotel
Old Street Hotel
#7 of 270 in Huangshan
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ancient Town Youth Hostel
Ancient Town Youth Hostel
#13 of 35 in Huangshan
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tunxi Lodge
Tunxi Lodge
#40 of 270 in Huangshan
19 reviews
31.1 mi away
Beihai Hotel
Beihai Hotel
#185 of 487 in Huangshan
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Street Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Street Youth Hostel

Address: No.266-2 Yi Ancient Street, Tunxi District, Huangshan 245099, China
Region: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Huangshan
Price Range: £7 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Street Youth Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel is located in the center of the city, right on the 500-year-old Old Street, a great tourist attraction site in Huangshan City. Old Street is the center of bus networks making it easy to travel all around the city.Helpful Staff & good location make your stay at Huangshan joyful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Street Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing