We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hostel on the old street in downtown.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Street Youth Hostel
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice hostel on the old street in downtown.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Good location. Nice views from the window. Very nice old street. Pleasant to walk on it day and night. The staff is friendly. Cheap Excurtion. We went on a tour of two Chinese villages. Everything was organized perfectly, but the guide spoke only Chinese. But it was not anything bad, because we had a guidebook.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kukla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zhao z, Front Office Manager at Old Street Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
thanks for your comments.welcome the next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    50
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
20
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

The staff at this hostel can help out with many local options, including booking buses and trains for your onward travel. I stayed in a triple room with really comfortable beds - what a bonus. The room was clean with a TV and kettle. Bathroom had towels and soap. We were on the 2nd floor right near the bar and restaurant but still quiet. Wifi works well in the reception area. The restaurant has a few food options, pool table, DVD room and an outdoor area that looks over Old Street. We took the tour to Hongcun and Xidi village and it was a good day out. Old Street itself is great for a wander with cafes and decent coffee nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street for a quieter night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

The staff here were so helpful. They booked us our bus to the Huangshan mountain, a night's stay at a discount price in a hotel on the mountain, and our coach back to Shanghai. This included a ride from the hostel to where the coach departs which was excellent and made our trip to the area much easier. Staff spoke good English and were able to give us good directions and a map of Tunxi. The location is fantastic, on the main street of the old section of the city which is easy to locate. The hostel is in a beautiful old building which is nice and spacious, so there is plenty of space to store your things. The bar did good food, but it's a little expensive compared to the rest of Tunxi. The hostel is clean and the showers are great.

The wifi did not work in the rooms and was weak in the communal areas. The bar and reception area is quite cold. Be warned that the bunk beds in the 6 bed dorm are very hard! For the price you pay though, this is hardly a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paperlily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwon, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Simply, this place is awesome. Nice price and kind staff, wonderful location.
Unfortunately, There are no WiFi or Ethernet for rooms, but are WiFi just for lobby and restaurant.
However every other stuffs are just wonderful. If you want to visit Tunxi, here is an answer for stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaeku P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I stayed here instead of staying in Hunagshan town as I was climbing the mountain, and I am so glad I did, Huangshan is nowhere near as nice or relaxed as Tunxi or this hostel. The dorm rooms had comfortable beds, clean internal hot showers and sep bathrooms, plus aircon for $50 Yuan a night. There is wifi, internal cafe/bar (more expensive then street food but big servings).

They can book the mountain accom for you and its cheaper $140 on weekdays for 1 night and have transport to and from the mountain for $19yuan each way. I also booked my bus to Shanghai from here and they picked me up from the hostel. Very convenient and the staff were very happy, helpful and spoke English well.

Meishi Renjia, the restaurant across the street is very good and looks expensive but is really great value. They also arrange tours to Huizhou and other Villages such as Xidi and Hongcun (note the villages charge an entry fee :-(...plus the cost to get there) Hostel however has no faults here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I won't say anything new here. This is an excellent hostel, and indeed, the restaurant across, Meishi Renjia, is a great place to eat (you won't find such quality of cooking, variety of choices or such low prices later, on the mountain). We spent one night in a twin room with ensuite at a discount (member) price Y117. The room was perfectly adequate, the air-con heated the room sufficiently. The bathroom facilities were fairly new, towels and liquid soap were provided.

Just like we hoped, the staff was competent and helpful. They made arrangements for the transport to the Huangshan mountain. They had up-to-date information on which parts of the park were closed, and were able to book dorm beds on top of the mountain for the lowest price available (the prices we saw later on the top were higher). The staff also sells tickets to long-distance buses, with pickup at the hostel. The system of selling bus tickets and hotel rooms by other hotels and private tour guides is universal throughout the mountain, so it is safe ans secure to pay beforehand.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xamhayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

My spouse and I spend 4 nights at the Huangshan Old Street Youth Hostel in September 2011. We had booked a twin bedroom with ensuite bathroom (although that was a mistake, since we really wanted one bed for both, so we should have gotten a double room with ensuite).

What we loved most of all were the super-helpful and super-competent girls who sit at the front desk in the evenings. They did everything for us in a breeze: book us on the morning bus to the Yellow Mountain itself, book a private car with driver for the next day to see the Xidi and Hongcun villages and the bamboo forest for 350 Yuan, even bought our Hangzhou-Shanghai high-speed train tickets for the following week-end! They even managed to get our hot water fixed the last night, and securely kept our laptop during our days at the mountain. BTW, the back of the front desk is constantly piled high with backpacks and suitcases, so they're obviously used to keeping stuff for people while they overnight on the Yellow Mountain . The other "pro" of this place, has got to be the location within Tunxi: right in the middle of the pleasant part of Tunxi (the rest of the town looks pretty much messy and unfinished) and, of course, right across the street from THE MOTHER OF ALL DUMPLING RESTAURANTS! We had already read about that place, so we had decided to try it out and "splurge" for our first night in town, since we assumed that the prices would be up to the place's reputation. One 51 Yuan (US$8, for two) feast later, we decided to make it our exclusive food hangout for the rest of our stay in town. We ate a total of 5 times there, and the most we spent was 94.50 Yuan for both, including beer (that's 14 US$). The way to order food there is a little odd at first, but the staff explains it to you, and then it becomes extremely easy, even if you don't know a word of Chinese. Also, BTW, they have much more than just dumplings, and that stuff's pretty good too! Other "pros" of our stay at the Huangshan Old Street Youth Hostel included the quietness of our room (Only outside noises included the hourly Big Ben chimes from 7 AM to 9 PM -- no kidding!-- and the thuds of the very large wooden hammers they use to bake the local cookies -- no kidding too, you'll have to see that! --), and the nice and clean bedsheets and towels. Oh, and of course, the last "pro" of the Huangshan Old Street Youth Hostel is the price, even for the private rooms.

What we liked less was the fact that, well, you are still in a hostel. Even though our room was really spacious, it totally lacked any closet or shelving space, so you still end up living out of your backpack or suitcase, like you would do in any other hostel. Also, they probably only have one single room with the very nice looking bed they show on the picture, and the separation wall between our room and our batrhroom looked a bit creapy, although we did not see any unfriendly insects. Finally, even though the door to our room felt perfectly secure (a solid wooden door with cardkey access), the window did not lock at all, and anyone would have been able to get into the room from the nearby rooftop. Last negative, which the hostel can do nothing about, is the location of Tunxi relative to Huangshan (the yellow mountain). Even though Tunxi is officially called "Huangshan City", it is actually QUITE FAR from Huangshan itself: 1 1/2 hour by the 6:25 AM shuttle bus, or 1 hour by private car. The real town at the foot of the mountain is actually a depressingly looking strip of hotels and restaurants in a narrow valley. I believe that's what they call "Huangshan Scenic Area" on the bus schedules, but I am not even sure.

Bottom line: When we come back to Huangshan (and we for sure will, because, despite the outrageous entrance fee, the mountain itself is still worth seeing over and over again, especially the West Sea Canyon, and of course one can't have enough of that dumplings restaurant!), we'll most likely stay again at the Huangshan Old Street Youth Hostel - we'll just try harder to "nab" the room with the nice looking bed!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquesXP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
31.1 mi away
Xihai Hotel
Xihai Hotel
#3 of 451 in Huangshan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
30.6 mi away
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
#157 of 451 in Huangshan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
31.1 mi away
Beihai Hotel
Beihai Hotel
#154 of 451 in Huangshan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.2 mi away
Shilin Hotel
Shilin Hotel
#121 of 451 in Huangshan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng
29.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Huangshan
Banyan Tree Huangshan
#2 of 451 in Huangshan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Street Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Street Youth Hostel

Property: Old Street Youth Hostel
Address: No.266-2 Yi Ancient Street, Tunxi District, Huangshan 245099, China
Region: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Huangshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Street Youth Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel is located in the center of the city, right on the 500-year-old Old Street, a great tourist attraction site in Huangshan City. Old Street is the center of bus networks making it easy to travel all around the city.Helpful Staff & good location make your stay at Huangshan joyful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Old Street Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing