We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great location, poor hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huangshan Yu Ping Lou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Huangshan Yu Ping Lou Hotel
Ranked #145 of 445 Hotels in Huangshan
Yangshuo County, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great location, poor hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The location of the hotel is great, so we enjoyed the views in front of the hotel very much. But it's definitely not a 4 star hotel. In november it was very very cold in the hotel, but they did not want to close e.g. the entrance door. The lobby where you could have a drink and use the internet, closed at 6.00 pm? The girls working there had to go home, they told us. So we could only sit at the couch in front of the entrance door (not allowed to close). The restaurant was also very cold, the waitresses worked with their coats on. Hardly any choice and we had to be in time (we did not know) because otherwise the restaurant was also closed. Rooms have thin walls, we could hear our neighbor snore. We won't come back in this hotel. It's a pity, because the location is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YJB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blueys Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Having read reviews about hotels on the mountain I had very low expectations. At least there was no unpleasant odour coming from the bathroom! The room was poky and shabby with two very narrow twin beds. We were on a lower floor with a small window with a view of a wall below the footpath. We could hear people talking and laughing in the next room. We called housekeeping to bring toilet paper to our room. A positive is that the shower had hot water.

The only guest sitting area I am aware of is open to the foyer and has tables and seating overlooking an amazing view of the mountain. We sat here for a drink on our arrival. Later in the day I decided to wait for my husband here but there was a group sitting smoking despite the "No smoking" sign on the wall. I am allergic to cigarette smoke so had to wait outside. I asked the young man at reception if smoking was allowed. He was very embarrassed, his English was limited but he told me it was his "boss" entertaining "important friends". I asked if we were not important guests and added that it was not his fault.

In our room was one green teabag and no coffee or sugar. My husband went to the desk to ask for some coffee and "Bin" at reception explained there was no coffee but gave him some good green leaf tea. He said that his mother grows green tea in one of the villages nearby which was better and he would bring some for us. This was obviously his way of showing that we were important to him. The next morning he arrived just before we left with a large bag of his mother's tea which he explained was "last year's".

Yupinglou Hotel is also known as "Jade Screen Hotel". It is built in amongst the rocks almost at the top of the mountain. The views are nothing short of spectacular. Most of us would be happy to sleep in a tent just to experience this location!

Room Tip: Not sure there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huangshan hotels

Shanghai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

This hotel wasn't the best but good enough for a hotel placed on the top of a high mountain. People have to carry all the stuff to the top of the mountain by walking up stairs.. The room is pretty small but consists of all the basic things. A bad thing was when I had a shower the water leaked out of the shower room and flooded the bathroom. Still, I called the service and they cleaned it all up. In the morning I woke up at six and waited for the sunrise. It was fantastic! I strongly recommend this hotel if you are planning to see the sunrise. You have to be lucky to see a good one though.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Located on one of the mountain peaks in Huangshan mountain itself.

It's a pretty bare bones hotel about 3 stars.
The rooms are just ok, nothing to write home about.

The nice thing about this hotel is that you can stay out late and wake up early to take in the amazingly nice scenery without tons of people around.
The day crowd would be all gone by then around 5pm before the cable car shuts down.

The dawn and evening views with the evening ambience are just stunning!
Took a ton of photos.

Just spend one night there and move to another hotel in the upper peak and back down to town the next day.

Overall:
Standard 3 star Chinese hotel.
Worth staying one night for the great evening/dawn views.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

From an American point of view, it is pretty much a ramada. The rooms were clean and basic. The beds are hard as a rock but linens were nice There were tents outside the hotel and mat storage which explains some of the other reviews but seriously, if you are paying 300 rmb to be at the best location on the mountain what could you possibly expect?? Due to location you will pay more than you think the hotel should be. For hiking on the mountain, to avoid the heavy crowds don't head up on the cable car until after 2 pm and wait until after 4 pm to hike when the masses leave. The hike to lotus peak and bacjpk is max 2 hours to get in before sunset. then hike again at dawn (6 am). It will be foggy when you start out but it burns off and it is well worth beating the hoards of ppl that flood the mountain. Bring as little a you can possibly manage if you plan to hike with your stuff the next day. Some of the descents are vertical with no handrails, and niether of us felt comfortable doing that with a heavy load. If you are doing a pre stay in old town, strongly recommend the hui boutique hotel. Inn keepers were a huge help and they will hold on to your luggage that you don't want to take up the mtn.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoSTLCards6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We originally booked 2 dorm beds, for 280 RMB/person. On arrival, they said no dorms available, stay in a tent outside (8C at night) for 400 RMB. Upon asking around, dorm beds are actually 200 RMB/person, and the tent is actually 300 RMB, but do you really think it's safe for 2 foreigners to sleep outside in a back corner? While we were there waiting, the manager gave 5 newly arrived people common dorm beds (no bathroom), and then said there were no more available for us. In the end, we moved the blankets from the tent to the lobby and slept on the floor behind a desk- the manager said it would be impolite for the foreigners to sleep with the guides on the floor of the bar, although we all did share the one bathroom, without a shower, and we were all woken up at 5am by tour groups going out to see the sunrise.

There was no dining service for individual travellers, so we had buffet dinner with the guides in the back, 80 RMB/person.

There's no other hotel nearby, so they are free to do whatever they want. Recommend to stay higher up the mountain where there's more selection, so you can move if you don't like the service.

太差!我们订了两个床位。到了酒店经理说没有位,要我们付400RMB睡帐篷。 但是我们发现睡帐篷真实价格是300RMB。我们判断睡外面太冷,不安全。所以我们睡了大堂地板。男女导游一起睡了酒吧地板。大家用一个卫生间,没有得冲凉。非常不满意。

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shuxian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
Beihai Hotel
#159 of 445 in Huangshan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Shilin Hotel
#149 of 445 in Huangshan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Paiyunlou Hotel
#187 of 445 in Huangshan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xihai Hotel
#3 of 445 in Huangshan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
#155 of 445 in Huangshan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Huangshan Resort
Huangshan Resort & Spa
Huangshan Resort & Spa
#52 of 445 in Huangshan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huangshan Yu Ping Lou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huangshan Yu Ping Lou Hotel

Property: Huangshan Yu Ping Lou Hotel
Address: Yuping Scenic Area, Huangshan Tourism Resort, Huangshan 242709, China
Region: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 445 Hotels in Huangshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing