We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but a little tired now”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Design Boutique Hotels
Ranked #147 of 482 Hotels in Huangshan
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was an interesting place to stay.

Lured by the round beds, my partner booked this hotel for us but when we arrived, were disappointed to get a regular (but comfortable and clean) regular bed. It seems you must pay more for the more outlandish rooms.

Everything was clean but as this hotel was refurbished about 13 years ago I believe, the paintwork and furniture needs refreshing. Our carpet had some big stains on too.

The staff speak little English which was not a problem as they used a translating app on their phones and half the fun is performing little mimes for them to help you understand what you need.

However they were very friendly, warm and eager to try and help wherever they could and were always smiling.

Would we stay here again? Possibly but would explore some other places first to get a more Chinese experience

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Just a short walk from the train station, but a 15 minute walk to Old Town.

Hotel reception is cold with the staff in their coats to keep warm.

Staff friendly, but unable to help with local attractions, we got help from the local hostel in old town.

The room was unusual, which is what we was expecting. Circles in the walls, bathroom exposed. The room was worn and tired.

If we were to come back to Huangshan we book in to
Hui Boutique Hotel which is in old town and more inviting.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bryan_Jody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

The Design Boutique Hotel, located in the heart of Huangshan City, creates an whimsical and colorful atmosphere for guests. With natural (like Huangshan), ancient (like Xidi and Hongcun Village), and shopping (like Old Street) attractions nearby, Huangshan is boasts a thriving tourism economy. Strangely, there aren’t many hotel chains. Independently hotels, like the Design Boutique Hotel, dot the area.


Once you arrive at the hotel, you are greeted with an traditional and ancient foyer entrance. The initial glass lobby features lots of natural light with an indoor pond. The side entrances of the western and Chinese restaurant flank the sides of the room. As you continue into the main lobby, it feels as if you are going from a traditional space to a more contemporary one. The first thing you notice in the main lobby is the uniquely lit red tubed ceiling. I liked the little details with the butterfly chaise, the colorful flower chest seat, and various other works on the walls. The western restaurant serves up western dishes that Chinese would like, like steaks and chicken, with a breakfast buffet, that is a bit inadequate, in the morning.

The room was also kept the artistic theme with the mosaic bathroom and large wallpaper art. Keep in mind if you are shy, the bathroom features a partial view obscured window into the bedroom. Little details can also be found in the teas and decorative mugs. Though there isn’t much of a view, the hotel is still interesting enough to recommend and try. The rate we had during this busy time was around RMB 400 or so per room.

Check out more pictures at http://wp.me/p12aCk-1xA

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirstypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 6 October 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 24 September 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 31 August 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 30 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
30.8 mi away
Xihai Hotel
Xihai Hotel
#2 of 482 in Huangshan
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
#163 of 482 in Huangshan
258 reviews
30.8 mi away
Beihai Hotel
Beihai Hotel
#184 of 482 in Huangshan
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Home of Huangshan Hostle
Home of Huangshan Hostle
#48 of 482 in Huangshan
24 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng
0.0 mi away
Huangshan Cheng Jin Hotel
Huangshan Cheng Jin Hotel
#3 of 482 in Huangshan
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Boutique Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Boutique Hotels

Address: No.1-6 Xianrendong North Road, Tunxi District, Huangshan 245000, China
Region: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 482 Hotels in Huangshan
Price Range: £16 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Design Boutique Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Design Boutique Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing