We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng
Ranked #1 of 482 Hotels in Huangshan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Booked 2 club rooms and were able to check in at 9.30am which was great. AC wasn't working in the hotel the weekend we were here, no note in room to explain this and although April, room still was 28c. Reception staff were superb and gave us a fan which didn't help so asked for a portable AC unit which they didn't have. While having dinner, room manager came over and offered to upgrade us to a suite. This was much cooler. Used the hotel car for a trip to the mountains - 300rmb more than a taxi but well worth it. Driver waited all day for us and could take us right to the cable car. Like other have said, food in on the 3rd floor restaurant is quite Chinese and the staff in general could do with some training. Club lounge was very good although not open on the Thurs night so we got 150 drink credit per room and 2 buffet dinners. Pool was very nice, but spoilt by the snorting and spitting at each end (this is allowed, but swimming without a swim cap is not!). In conclusion, I would highly recommend this hotel for the money you pay. The girls on the front desk and room managers were superb at handling our complaint, not quite 5 stars though due to poor/no English of some staff which meant things taking much longer than they should, lack of western choices at breakfast and dinner (although the curry was very good).

Stayed: April 2014
Thank DRS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah W, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng.Your review is greatly appreciated. We are pleased to know that you would like to recommend us as a worthy choice of accommodation, however we do apologize for the service components that you felt that did not meet your expectation during your stay. Your input is taken seriously and we will ensure that the concerned areas are addressed. Thank you for staying with us again, we are certainly looking forward to another opportunity to serve you and we are sure that your next experience will be perfect.

Sincerely

Deborah Wang
Marcom Manager

Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng is a beautiful hotel with comfortable rooms. The location is great and the rooms have great amenities. Front desk staff and the concierge are very nice, professional, and helpful.

As others have mentioned in their reviews, the food quality is terrible. Food is not fresh and it seems they re-serve the same food day after day. We had the breakfast and dinner buffets and both were very low quality. Food isn't kept hot. The restaurant isn't kept very clean. It seems the staff need more training on how to keep the restaurant clean and the food fresh and hot. The restaurant seems to be managed separately from the hotel.

I've been to several Crowne Plaza hotels in China- Guangzhou, Xiamen, Huizhou, Beijing, Changshu, Shanghai, etc and this hotel is the first location I've seen that has sub-par restaurant quality. Additionally, this is the first Crowne Plaza that I've been to where there is no executive club lounge for breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres.

The hotel has a nice swimming pool and gym, but beware of the girl at the entrance. She's aggressive and rude and yelled at us about having a swimming cap for our hair. I don't know what the big deal was. My friend and I both had the caps. After walking downstairs to the pool, she watched my friend and I like an angry wolf. She literally stared directly at me for several minutes. I have no idea what the big deal was, but she was a really rude person for no apparent reason. Also beware of the swimmers hacking up and spitting disgusting things into the water while they are swimming. The gym/pool also seem to be run separately from the hotel.

The Crowne Plaza Huangshan is a nice hotel overall, but don't pay extra for the food.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank CDubChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah W, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your stay in Huangshan and we would like to appreciate you also for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.
we were really thrilled when reading your positive comments about our beautiful hotel, comfortable rooms, great location and nice and professional hotel staff, but on the other hand, we did feel disappointed to learn that our food quality had failed to meet your expectations of what a Crowne Plaza hotel should be. We also would like to make apologies for our ill-trained gym staff who had really upset you when you were swming in the pool.
Finally, what I want to emphasize here is we truly value your comments and have discussed your feedback with our management team in the department morning briefing. We will immediately start a training program in order to prevent similar guest experiences from happening and by this training program, we hope we are able to further improve our services and standards!
Once again, thank you for your precious time and we do look forward to welcoming you back again during your next trip!

Sincerely

Deborah Wang
Marcom Manager

Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Pros - swanky decor and clean because it is new, comfortable beds, decent bathroom. Cons - everything else. This was a stopover en route to Jingdezhen from Shanghai. We booked a club room for three people which was supposed to have a sofa bed and two double beds. The room was very small with barely enough room for two single beds. There was a short daybed but no convertible sofa bed. When we pointed this out, they told us at the desk that an extra bed was 200rmb more. After much discussion, they waived the charge and brought a fold-up bed you could feel the springs through. We were paying twice the price of a standard room to get the usual club benefits: bigger room, club lounge with all day coffee and tea, afternoon tea, cocktails and hors dóevres and a decent breakfast. Having stayed in many IHG hotels before with excellent club lounges we were looking forward to cocktail hour after a long day's drive. We were told that there wasn't a club lounge but we could go to the lobby bar for a drink and were given a coupon. This was a surprise because the website gave the usual IHG hotels description of club room benefits. We found out at checkout that the club lounge was closed but were given no explanation. Two dinners were included in the price (perhaps to compensate for the lack of a lounge but we were never told that) and we purchased another for the third person in our party for 168rmb. At cocktail hour we were told we could only have a soft drink, coffee or tea. The tiny print on the coupon said we were entitled to local beer or wine but we had to insist at the desk to get one. They had one kind of wine only - a mediocre Spanish white. The desk clerk told us the dinner (a Mexican buffet) started at 7:30 but when we got there on time, the hostess said the restaurant was closing at 8:15 and the buffet was over. We asked to speak to the manager but he/she never came. Finally the mexican chef came over and fixed us a couple of veggie soft tacos with beans, uncooked onion and jalapenos from a jar. The tacos our meat-eating friend had contained literally one teaspoon of meat and a lettuce leaf. There was no guacamole and none of the salsas were homemade. One of the chinese women behind the buffet shouted at the chef for putting cheese on the tacos because it was too expensive! This is supposed to be a 5-star hotel and we had paid US $27 for our dinner. The breakfast was appalling too. Given what we paid, it was scandalous. IHG need to intervene and fast because this hotel is giving their brand a bad name.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the club room - there's no such thing in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah W, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. As an IHG Rewards Club member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and Hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered on some aspects of your stay with us. All of our guest reviews are evaluated by management and yours is of course no exception. You will be contacted by our EAM by email within a working week, and you are also welcome to contact me via the hotel Telephone Operator. Despite your disappointment we do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely
Deborah Wang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel decoration splendid! Rooms very beautiful and clean.
Staff is very nice BUT would really need some training. The food experience was the one that would really need improvement. We live in China and do speak some Chinese so communication is Ok. Lets give some examples: for dinner, pastas were not cooked enough for the first dinner we had (almost crunchy!) They prepare the breakfast the evening before: all pastries, butter, vegetables are out during whole night. Butter is old, hence a strong taste... Same for pastries. Staff does not stay at the different stations, you have to ask around to get your eggs. Chinese food is really not of quality, usually cold. I actually doubt the freshness of food. Hopefully the management team will take note and supervise better the food experience! Because the environment is trully pleasant!

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank anabelleinSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is as good as it gets in this part of the country.

Nice Big lobby, a bit cold, but the grandeur is there.
Facility is new and everything works.

Nice big indoor pool, but a rather make shift looking gym. But sufficient for a serious workout.

The Breakfast offers a rather good spread, but somehow, I can't find something that is really nice. But then again how many good hotel breakfast have you had.

My best so far was the abalone porridge at Banyan Tree Seoul.

I you are used to the city hotels, stay here and you will not go wrong.

Cheers.
WY

Room Tip: Ask for the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeweeyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

It has started the operation for more than a year now. However, many things still not very well organized.

The facility is new and the overall hardware is all right. However, I do not think it is a 5 star hotel as it supposed to be. The staff is eager to serve, however, I believe they are lack of training, so the management should shoulder the responsibilities for the shortfalls of the operations.

This trip we have the whole family with few friends and relatives taking up about 10 rooms including a suit. It is during the Chinese new year, so some chaos is understandable. However, I think the management should anticipate the servicing to a large crowd and make appropriate counter measures. But it is obviously not the case. The breakfast is such a confusing site, little details like there is a bowl of peanut butter and a bowl of honey sitting next to the toaster with breads piling up, but no utencils for people to get the peanut butter, under my suggestion, they start to put a spoon on the bowl, and the next day improved to a knife, but still not an ideal setting. Personally I think they should use small packed spread like hoeny and peanut butter for the guests' easy access. In cases, people have to wait 10 minutes before the next batch of drinking glasses to be replaced. The foods are bad as my last experience, quality and taste even not match the level of a 3 star hotel.

The signs and the room directory indicates there is a Crown Club on 7th floor. However, we disappointly found it is not in existence yet. Room service cannot even get a Chinese fried rice. The Lattee served at the lobby bar is luke warm. One of our room has internet connection problem, we called the housekeeping clearly stated the problem and ask for a technician, but they sent a regular room service maid, then she seems clearly understood our issue, but called her fellow worker that is only slightly better then her IT knowledge, and finally they sent one we asked at the first place, a technician could solve the problem. In the process, we answered the door three times and waited a long time before we can get on the internet.

The lobby is totally out of control during the holiday period, the kids are running around and making loud noises, adults are yelling accross the lobby, no one seemed care enough to take any action.

We have made cash deposit of RMB60,000, when we checked out, asking for the money refund to us, and we would like to put the charge onto our credit card, the clerk made a very poor excuse saying they do not have this kind cash to refund, all banked, I cannot believe a large hotel like this has no money refund to us, not even RMB10,000.

We are frequent visitors to that area, and I like the location and facility of this hotel, I may come back to them one more time to see if there is any hope for the future; or I will discard this hotel for good and there are plenty new hotels in that vicinity as alternative.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niubull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed there for two nights while exploring the neighboring Huangshan and Chengkan Village. The room was very clean and quite large. It wasn't a river view room but very comfortable. The concierge was incredibly helpful. We wanted to explore Huangshan and he arranged a car with a driver for us for the day trip at very reasonable price. He also recommend local food restaurants that were outstanding. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLKho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
Xihai Hotel
#2 of 482 in Huangshan
271 reviews
Banyan Tree Huangshan
#4 of 482 in Huangshan
79 reviews
Huangshan Resort
Huangshan Resort & Spa
Huangshan Resort & Spa
#69 of 482 in Huangshan
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beihai Hotel
#184 of 482 in Huangshan
374 reviews
Huangshan International Hotel
#37 of 482 in Huangshan
163 reviews
Shilin Hotel
#68 of 482 in Huangshan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng

Address: No.1 Huizhou Avenue, Tunxi District, Huangshan 245000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 482 Hotels in Huangshan
Price Range: £74 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng 4.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing