We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr Hu restaurant - good food and reasonable prices”
Review of Mr Hu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mr Hu Hotel
Ranked #82 of 493 Hotels in Huangshan
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Our review is about the restaurant which is part of the hotel. Food served in this restaurant is tasty and they serve big portions. We ordered some vegetables, rice and noodles, all of which was freshly prepared. We also had cheap beer (5 yuan). Prices are quite reasonable and the meal is worth it, so no complaints here.
The restaurant is not far from the main road and is in one of the side streets. It is not hard to find, however, we did not have to look for it. We wouldn’t have known about this place if it hadn’t been for Mr Hu himself, who is a nice man speaking English and offering his help to ‘lost’ foreigners.
He appeared when we were getting off a bus from Tunxi (the driver stopped somewhere in Tangkou – not at the bus station – and asked us to leave). We suspect this is how it works – a driver lets Mr Hu know about foreign tourists on board, and Mr Hu comes. Anyway, Mr Hu approached us and asked which hotel we had booked and when we told him, he said that the hotel was about 5 km away and that it did not offer a shuttle service. He offered to give us a lift to our hotel for 10 yuan, to which we agreed.
On our short way there, he told us about his hotel and encouraged us to have a meal in his restaurant (plus free ride to and from). He also showed us a thick notebook with testimonials from grateful foreigners. Then he accompanied us to the hotel reception and even helped communicating with the staff.
We decided to have a meal in his restaurant at noon, especially that he told me that that there was the only cash machine of China Merchants Bank right next to his hotel (I really need this particular bank’s ATM). And here is the first thing that was evidently wrong: After we arrived there, it appeared that it was not China Merchants, but China Construction Bank’s cash machine. I got angry but we stayed and enjoyed our meal at his restaurant; and we don’t regret that.
Another thing is that later we found out that our hotel was much closer to the place where we were left by the bus driver (not more than 1.5 km, which we could walk or take a taxi for much less than the price we paid. And we also found out that the hotel offers free shuttle. Another thing was that when we were trying to find out where east gate was, Mr. Hu, whom we accidentally met again, misinformed us, claiming that the east gate is just across the bridge. Well, just across the bridge we found not the east gate but a bus station from which we got to the foot of the mountain (20 yuan). One more thing – as if to make sure you don’t leave, everyone will tell you ‘tomorrow it will be a very nice weather’, which was not true in our case…
To sum up, the restaurant is ok, but we have mixed feelings about the owner. Our advice is - just be very careful while staying in Tangkou. Be aware that there is a lot of confusing information and often not enough of it, so tourists might be easily taken advantage of.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ela_Radek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked the YHA hostel next door but for some reason it was closed in April 2014, so Mr. Hu ended up recruiting us to stay in his budget hotel. The hotel is decent enough...although stay on the side facing the courtyard as the other side is noisy.
We ended up eating in the restaurant many times (decent food at decent prices), doing laundry, and booking bus tickets through Mr. Hu. We found that Mr. Hu is all about the transaction and will try to sell his services every chance he gets. I didn't get the sense that he was friendly...he's simply running a business and he is not so helpful if one has a question that he cannot profit from.
What also bothered me was that we heard him charging others less for their rooms even without haggling, and what we paid was above what is charged online...not a big difference but leaves a bad taste in my mouth nevertheless.
If the hostel next door reopens, that would likely be a better option, but if not, this may be one of a very few english speaking budget options in Tangkou.

Room Tip: Ask for the courtyard side...the side facing the alley is noisy to the extreme. You will hear honks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahl899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable.

The restaurant is squarely aimed at westerners, but has simple tasty meals.

Mr Hu speaks good English (a real benefit for western tourists!) and offers free pick-ups and drop-offs to the local bus station for the mountain etc.

So far so good? Well...sadly I think you need to keep an eye on them.

I think I was overcharged for meals a couple of times, and Mr Hu was trying to push a particular meat and vegetable dish before I'd really looked at the menu. On looking at the menu the meat dish was 66 yuan (most cost 15-18 yuan) and the vegetable dish was 25 yuan (most cost 5-8 yuan).

I also arranged airport transfers and a tour to Hongcun. The price changed (upwards) twice. Also departure times suited whatever the driver was up to, not when I wanted to go - twice I was rushed to finish food/drink as the driver was waiting...a good 1-2 hours before I said I wanted to go! I ended up being at the airport 4 hours before departure!!! And at Hongcun the early tour meant I didn't see sunset.

Mr Hu has apparently been a big help to tourists in Tangkou - so by all means stay here. Just keep an eye on him and confirm and reconfirm everything!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

In comparison to other hotels, what makes this one good is the great service that Mr Hu provides and his family/staff. The rooms are cold (probably due to no carpet & all tiled floors) but the staff will help you with anything you need and they try to speak English (very rare in China). The full breakfast was good to have as well instead of Chinese food for 3 meals a day.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chigga13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but we ate there and used Mr. Hu for transportation to our Hotel in Tunxi (lovely Hui Boutique Hotel).
We arrived in the afternoon where Mister Hu picked us up from the bus station (we came from Shanghai) and took us to his hotel, to leave the backpack there over night as we stayed on the mountain.
The deal was that we would eat at his place the other day and pay him for transfer to Tunxi - we found that pretty cool and fair from him.
BUT: When he drove us to Tunxi (he did not drive by himself - he was the co-driver) he called the hotel to ask for the exact direction. He said in advance that he knew where the place is. But instead of taking us to the right spot he just drove us somewhere nearby (15 minutes walk away). He said that the hotel is direct on the corner. So we left the car and walked to the corner...but there was not the hotel! In the meantime he already drove away. Thank god we had the phone number of our hotel and that the owner spoke English. So he came then with the car and picked us up where we got out after a chinese lady explained him over the phone our location. So I guess this was a typical "I don't know where the hotel is, but don't want to loose my face. So I tell them it is there and drive away". After all the positive things we found on the net about him, this was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank paros_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I arrived in Huangshan late in the evening by bus and asked in the local restaurant that we were looking for Mr Hu's place and believe it or not he appeared like a Chinese Mr Ben. He transported us to his establishment and we booked for 2 nights in room 201, twin room was the only room available.

Lovely and clean, the room faces the front so a little noisy until the street noise calms down, but lets be honest we are here on a Chinese holiday so Tangkou is packed. We have eaten at Mr Hu's as well and recommend the sweet & sour chicken.

The entire family are involved and create a great atmosphere.

They also have taken care of laundry, as a chargeable service but delivered very promptly the next day.

We would strongly recommend this establishment.

A big thank you to Mr Hu and his family

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Like many before we were picked up at the bus stop by Mr Hu. Unfortunately we had not read about him so took a gamble as we had no clue where we were going or how to reach the mountain. He mentioned breakfast including coffee, eggs, toast and hashbrowns so he had my commitment straight away.

Arrived at his hotel, had breakfast ( which was great) and he told us about the mountain etc. we booked a room up the mountain and booked a night back with him on our return.

All in all this guy is a god send, he sorts everything for you and takes no commission. As the directions to the moutain are pretty confusing and a lot of travellers just "wing it" he really is on hand to assist.

His rooms are lovely and well furnished, they are pretty cold but he provides thick duvets and blankets. The food is also great as we enjoyed another meal with him on the evening when we returned.

The only negative to mention is the room he sells whilst up the moutain, it's literally a cleaners closet behind the message parlour in a 4star hotel. There is no lock on the door, its absolutly freezing, no washing facilities and nothing in the room other than a bunk bed. We opted not to stAy in it and shelled out 80quid for the hotel.

On arrival back to Mr Hu's he gave us our money back for the room without any fuss so we were happy!

Thanks again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenFreethSelway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
123 mi away
Xihai Hotel
Xihai Hotel
#3 of 493 in Huangshan
278 reviews
154 mi away
Huangshan Cheng Jin Hotel
Huangshan Cheng Jin Hotel
#1 of 493 in Huangshan
70 reviews
154.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
123.5 mi away
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
#159 of 493 in Huangshan
260 reviews
153.4 mi away
Home of Huangshan Hostle
Home of Huangshan Hostle
#46 of 493 in Huangshan
24 reviews
122.9 mi away
Shilin Hotel
Shilin Hotel
#67 of 493 in Huangshan
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mr Hu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mr Hu Hotel

Address: Tangkou, Huangshan mountain area road no. 3, Huangshan, China
Region: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 493 Hotels in Huangshan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing