We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for 1 night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Huangshan International Hotel
Ranked #7 of 471 Hotels in Huangshan
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Adequate for 1 night!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This is a big worn hotel catering for large conferences and overnighters like us on the way to Yellow Mountain. We didn't expect 5star and certainly didn't get it!
The room is tired and in need of good maintenance like the whole hotel. Breakfast is buffet offering good Asian, but no western food and the restaurant was so full we were out in the corridor.
The wifi only works in the lobby which is also the smoking area!
Remember to leave your bags here and just take a small pack up the hill - it's a long walk from the cable cars to the hotels.

We walked down to Old Town for dinner and a stroll - that was a treat and not to be missed!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KaiTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    86
    42
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
30
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The most convenient place when you're going to climb Yellow Mountain. Visiting the nearby "Old City" for atmosphere and inexpensive shopping is very close. Convenient eateries located there. Hotel was clean, up to date, rooms a little small but adequate. Loved the local artists just off the lobby and the pianist on the grand piano in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocmaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our room was supposed to be a non-smoking room but the room was smoky when we entered. There was an ash-tray and a box of matches sitting on a small table. Why a non-smoking room has these features? This hotel is convenient for staying over if you need to go up to the top of Hunagshan the next day. The hotel has the provision for travellers to store their luggage overnight. Note that carrying luggage to the top of the mountain is not an option.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph20131008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We come to this area often. The friend introduced this hotel for a trial, since it is a new one. We found all the facilities are very comfortable and new. As we brought along a small group of guests, (we are the host), and the cost is very reasonable, that compensates our budget for this trip.

I do not have any complains, but the compliment for the hotel's facility and good services with reasonable costs.

A definite re-visit to this hotel and recommedation to the other vistors.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niubull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The city of Tunxi is the gateway to go to the Yellow Mountains. It is a very old town surrounded by the new city. Yet it is still a small city, 1.5 million people, small for China. The hotel had a large lobby when you entered, that was clean and comfortable. There is a spa and massage services. I had the foot massage which was reasonable and excellent. The breakfast buffet was tasty and huge, lots of options, Chinese as well as western style. Our room was spacious and clean, good AC, big bathroom with amenities, even slippers. We had a refrigerator and bar too. Our room had a large picture window with views of the river and the pedestrian traffic along the river. We could see people fishing, washing clothes and a picture perfect sunset. The old town is a 10 minute walk, or for fun ride a pedi-cab.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marynaturelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We expected a 5-star hotel and got a decent 3-star. The room and bathroom were not very large, clean but not spotless (e.g. the joints in the bathroom were mostly black, the bathtub white-ish bordering on yellow).
The breakfast buffet is pretty good, but only had chinese food. The coffee is good and they also have hot milk. I wouldn't recommend the hotel's restaurant for other meals though, as it is a little expensive and not that good. The restaurants in the old street nearby are much better.
The hotel offers decent internet in the rooms and wifi in the lobby.
The staff spoke very limited english.
Overall a good hotel for a one-night stay, but don't expect what comes with a western 5-star label.

Room Tip: Make sure your trip to Huangshan includes a plan B for rainy days, we were a little disappointed whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of our 2 day/1 night tour package to Huangshan.
The hotel website is beautifully done, and as such, our expectation was a bit high considered also the fact that it was advertised as a 5-stars hotel.
In hindsight, our expectation was just not realistic. Everything about this hotel seems to be okay – Hotel Lobby was nice, room was roomy and comfortable, service was acceptable, and the breakfast was fine – lots of food, but also lots of guests. The amenities and toiletries were of good quality. You could see the investment being put into this hotel. I could image it to be a pretty grant hotel when it first opened its door (not sure when). However, it seems that this hotel has never been able to keep up to its old glory.
The issue with this hotel, in my opinion, is the lack of quality upkeep and maintenance. For a 5-stars hotel, you would expect the place to be clean and tidy. However, the moment you entered the hotel, you will notice that the carpet was a bit worn-out and dirty, the floor wasn’t polish, and you can smell cigarette smoke. Same with the room – we found dead small bugs next to the sink, the carpet was a bit dirty, the bathroom could use more cleaning (think mildew) , and I also saw a few mosquitos resting on the curtains (which I killed with my hands). Again, as I said, these deficiencies that I saw can be attributing to my unrealistic expectations. However, I felt like I should still point it out so my fellow travellers know what to expect. Or better yet, if the hotel management can remedy the situation.
All in all, our 1 night stay is okay. If I were to visit Huangshan again, which I probably will, I may try to stay in a foreign chain hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid visit Huangshan in June - all we see was RAIN! but then, it gives us excues to come back again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilvinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
Xihai Hotel
#2 of 471 in Huangshan
263 reviews
Beihai Hotel
#156 of 471 in Huangshan
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huangshan Resort
Huangshan Resort & Spa
Huangshan Resort & Spa
#9 of 471 in Huangshan
95 reviews
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
#161 of 471 in Huangshan
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huangshan International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huangshan International Hotel

Property: Huangshan International Hotel
Address: No 31 Huashan Road Tunxi, Huangshan 245000, China
Region: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 471 Hotels in Huangshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Huangshan International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing