We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avarge”
Review of Shilin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shilin Hotel
Ranked #64 of 488 Hotels in Huangshan
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Beware of the double bed room! It's just slightly bigger than the bed it holds within. Get the twin bed room if you'd needed a little bit more space to move around. Service is minimum. Get up early to beat the crowd if you want breakfast.

Room Tip: Beware of the double bed room! It's just slightly bigger than the bed it holds within. Get the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

They say this is the best hotel up in the Yellow Mountains ... don't get your expectations up!

The government-run hotel caters to large tourist groups which is an experience in itself. Especially during dinner where we being the only group of two were asked to join a Chinese family at a large round table for 10. Actually, that was a memorable experience involving lost in translation issues and lots of hand gesturing which added up to many good laughs from both sides :-)

The large groups bring along added noise during the night as the happy revelling goes on into the early morning hours. So bring your earplugs!

Also, make sure you get up early for breakfast, for by the time we got there at 0830 it was nearly over and there was no food left. So we resorted to an espresso in the lobby area which was surprisingly good.

The one positive I can think off is the shower in the room. Despite the tight space in which it is located it was easy to use with good water pressure, which always makes me happy. Oh, there is also a great rooftop bar right adjacent to the hotel from where you can watch the sunset. Definitely worth it at the end of the day.

Anyhow ... you've come here to experience the Yellow Mountains which indeed are very beautiful.

Hopefully their beauty will keep your mind off this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing outwards and not the very noisy inner courtyard. Preferably on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bojantercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Otherwise you will be disappointed.

The breakfast is very average, the service is just so so and the room is very very small.

Still it's one of the four four stars hotels on the mountain. Don't take the four star seriously.

My first two days are in Beihai(North Sea) area, the location is good.

Anyway, I am ok with it because there are indeed not many hotel choices on the mountain.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I was prepared not to expect much on the summit and boy did this place deliver. Not cheap, in fact one of the most expensive places we stayed in China. Literally the tiniest room in history, internal facing. Room had water marks on carpet and a highly suspicious stain on one of the cushions. Gross. Bathroom so small you can shower and go to the toilet at the same time too which is handy. Other than said stains,room was clean enough.

Quite noisy - with one group of guests carrying on like banshees in the middle of the night yelling at eachother down the hall, slamming,opening,slamming, opening doors,tvs blaring -went on for ages with no sign of staff to shut them up (i had to go out there myself and ask them to tone it down, just what you need before a 430am sunrise wake up call!).

What struck most about this hotel was the complete lack of goodwill. Not even complimentary water! Shame Shilin shame.

On the plus side the hotel is well located for sunrise, the restaurant was reasonable (considering how everything gets there), the food tasty, and were accommodating of our out of hours requests (ie, lunch at 4pm). Clearly geared for tour groups. The people who run the shop attached to the hotel were more friendly and informative than the hotel staff.

I'd look hard for other alternatives but failing this Shilin it will do, for a night. Not 4 stars, 3 at best.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed one night during our Huangshan trip and enjoyed the location which is next to one of the peaks with good view. It is one of the newer hotels in the area although we can see more constructions in nearby village. The hotel has an annex which serves beer and coffee/tea on a lovely balcony overlooking the valley. There seem to be a few more rooms in the annex although my group of 14 were all staying in the main hotel block.

Rooms are small with basic electric heating panel but have the usual modern hotel facilites in rather cramped space. My room faces the slope of the mountain so we get waken up by the usual sunrise watching tourists in the morning. tea/coffee making and slippers available in room including vanity packs you can buy if you forget to bring own toiletry items. Breakfast is reasonable but Chinese selections only but there is a heated wok for you to fry your own egg to taste! Unfortunately, there was a big water pump failure just before we check out in the morning so lots of panic due to no water on higher floors. I will try to stay on the annex side next time I visit this place.

Room Tip: go for noisier rooms on lower floors if you wish to avoid no water in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

You are paying a premium to stay on top of the mountain, but there are advantages beside being able to see the sunset. Because of the operational times of the cable car, the mountain is a lot more quiet before the start of the tram and about a hour before the close of the tram.

The hotel is nothing special. It is small, and the bathroom have no doors. They do not provide complementary bottled water or facial tissue. There is no minibar, but what is worse is there is no heat. If you go in the winter time, you are expected to keep warm by wearing the down jackets they provide.

The restaurant only have one table that sits four. All the rest are table of 10 set up for tour groups. You can however go to the buffet restaurant which have more smaller tables but the food is not as good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frankcurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We were advised in advance that all hotels on Mt Huangshan were nothing special and overpriced, so didn't expect too much except for a bed to sleep in at Shilin. 
Firstly, Shilin's location is great - about 30-40 min walk from the top of the cable car, but also very close to the best spots for viewing the sunrise.
Our room was a bit faded and tired, very small, with a view of another wall of the building about a meter away(!:). It did however supply a down jacket which was nice for our evening wander.

Lots of tour groups stay at the hotel, and although there appeared to be plenty of tables, the frazzled manager of the chinese a la carte restaurant had difficulty coping with the logistics of seating two of us. Luckily he had sweet Young waitresses who did their best to get us seated and fed. Food was ok but nothing special. Infact the best meal was breakfast the next morning (additional to 980 yuan room rate) - a buffet breakfast which set us up well for the long walk down.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kypinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
Beihai Hotel
#185 of 488 in Huangshan
382 reviews
Paiyunlou Hotel
#188 of 488 in Huangshan
152 reviews
Xihai Hotel
#3 of 488 in Huangshan
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
#161 of 488 in Huangshan
260 reviews
Huangshan Resort
Huangshan Resort & Spa
Huangshan Resort & Spa
#52 of 488 in Huangshan
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilin Hotel

Address: Beihai Scenic Area, Huangshan 245800, China
Region: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Huangshan
Price Range: £35 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shilin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shilin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilin Hotel Huangshan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing