We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Chinese Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xin An Country Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Xin An Country Villa Hotel
Ranked #128 of 448 Hotels in Huangshan
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
650 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Typical Chinese Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The grounds are nice, better kept than the rooms. The corridor and room was somewhat smelly. The air conditioner made such a racket, they changed our room - very nice of the staff. Everything was slightly shabby, not in a good way. The bathroom had lots of mould as evidenced by the doorway wood rotting away in the bathroom.

The restaurant closes tight by 8pm. There are pictures to order by, but don't expect your order to resemble the picture and remember what looks like a meat you recognise May be something completely different.

No English speakers, but staff was very pleasant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a booked China tour through an agent. Got an extremely spacious room for myself with kingsize bed and bathing tub + shower. Very clean and nice.

Not sure if I would have booked the hotel myself as it was way above the standard that I would have needed for 1 night.

Location was very good though, as the main attraction "the old street" is only 10min walk away. Safe place also to walk alone at night.

Practicalities:
- Staff in the front desk does not speak English, so I was happy that my guide helped with the check in.
- Very comfortable beds.
- Wifi is available only in the lobby - good speed.
- there is cabled internet in the rooms with good speed as well. So if you have a laptop it's working fine.
- Water cooker and tea in the rooms for free.
- Chinese Breakfast (no highlight for a Western person). But cafes in the city offer cheap "western breakfasts" and good coffee, so it wasn't a problem. If you don't have to, I wouldn't book the breakfast and rather go straight to the cafes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luzifrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

We were brought here as part of our china tour for 2 days. Unfortunetly our guide didnt speak english nor did the front desk, which is odd since it is expected for service staff to speak english.

pros
-nice lobby, some scenic areas to take pictures
-bug deterent plug in thing
-beds were soft

cons
-dirty carpets
-small room, small bathroom
-

Overall, average hotel. could be better but could be worse.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maadmanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We travel to China by tour and stayed in Huangshan for 2 nights. We arrived at the hotel st night. First night at Xin An was a nightmare, we were put into a very old building. The corridor is very dark and we didn't see any single guest on our way to the lift. The smell of old building was very strong. Added to our nightmare the room is very gloomy, smell of cigarettes, carpets are very dirty and smelly. Luckily our tour operator accepted our complain. Tomorrow morning we were moved to the new building. The rooms are totally different. Carpets look new and thick. Room also more modern and looks new. Bathroom have bathtub, clean and spacious. Breakfast not too much variety.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youlee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed here on two separate days during a visit to Mount Huangshan. The hotel is well kept, and the staff are courteous. Like in most places in interior China they dont speak english, so we had to communicate through our guide. The rooms were clean and nice. Good Breakfast. We also had dinner there once, and ordered a lot of exotic dishes and it came out great. The staff actually waited for us well beyond closing time ( We didnt know that till we were stepping out ) .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robby_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Very nice room with spacious bathroom (both bath and shower). Twin beds are actually larger than twin. Firm beds but yet very cushionny for China (as some are like planks). Great pillows. Lobby with art work, nice resting area with wifi, Breakfast included is diverse and very nice (Chinese breakfast).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

It was overall nice, the chinese breakfast was plenty plenty of food, we asked for an extra bed which was very very hard so we had to share beds because that was just unacceptable, Nobody speaks chinese, if you bring your laptop you will have some trouble setting up the internet because the instructions are in chinese and it is not so easy to set up, It is very close to Tunxi all street, around 10 minutes walking and also very close to the bus staiton to take the shuttle next day to Huangshan.

Room Tip: MmM try to get the rooms in the not so old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
31.9 mi away
Beihai Hotel
Beihai Hotel
#156 of 448 in Huangshan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng
31.8 mi away
Xihai Hotel
Xihai Hotel
#3 of 448 in Huangshan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 mi away
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
#165 of 448 in Huangshan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tunxi Lodge
Tunxi Lodge
#24 of 236 in Huangshan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Street Youth Hostel
Old Street Youth Hostel
#1 of 34 in Huangshan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xin An Country Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xin An Country Villa Hotel

Property: Xin An Country Villa Hotel
Address: No.3 Huashan Road, Tunxi District, Huangshan 245000, China
Region: China > Anhui > Huangshan > Downtown , Tunxi , Tunxi District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 448 Hotels in Huangshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xin An Country Villa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Xin An Country Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing