We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Overseas Chinese Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$65
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Quanzhou Hotel(Quanzhou)
US$69
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$35
US$34
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
Trip.com
View Deal
US$40
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hongchang Hotel(Quanzhou)
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Garden Hotel(Quanzhou)
US$49
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
Trip.com
View Deal
US$53
Trip.com
View Deal
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
3
26
16
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
26
16
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslayouttemplechinesechinafloor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2012

As part of a temple trip that my temple orhanises every year, this is the hotel of choice. As its name suggests, this hotel is well known amongst the chinese diaspora that visit quanzhou from Taiwan, Singapore and other parts of China. The last time i stayed at this hotel was almost 10 years ago and the very first time i stayed in this hotel was as a child on my first temple trip to China, almost 18 years ago.

This hotel has an air of familiarity as i kinda grew up staying at this hotel whenever i went China, the most remarkale thing about this hotel is that in the many years since i last visited, the scent of the hotel has never changed. The lobby layout has and the rooms have definitely been refurbished and facelifted, a welcoming change from the old dated layout of the hotels of the early 90s.

However do not expect a modern and chic hotel. The room still retains its 90s feels, albeit now with a flat screen TV and cable TV (which only has dialect and mandarin speaking channels - No HBO or International channels available)

Location wise is quite ideal as it is a short walk away from a few modern and chic shopping streets and a supermarket.

It seems to be the venue of choice for weddings as every night we were there, including weekdays, there was a wedding banquet happening at the restaurant.

View from the room is quite nice to, a good unblocked city view offers a nice chilly morning breeze as well.

10 years on, this hotel, apart from the facelift hasnt changed much and i do not expect it to change anytime soon too.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank AlanXavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

A good hotel in Quanzhou,Fujian,China.Reception process was fast but don't expect any smile.Staff can't speak proper English but luckily we do speak Chinese.Lobby was huge but sofa upholstery was old and dirty.Room size was quite big.Ordered 2 single beds in the room but the bed was wide enough,Comfy as well.Room was very clean .Toilet was tidy.

Breakfast area was good and clean by 3 star standard.Food was ok but staffs were not friendly at all.C'mon put on some smiles in this line of bizniz.
Opposite hotel there was a temple. Stayed in this hotel last january(Winter) and it was a great experience.
Nearby: Shopping area and Shops ,so food was not a problem. Make sure Western traveller polish up your Chinese or else you will not enjoy this City.

Verdict: Nice Hotel to stay in after a hard day work.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpapple2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Very good for a mid-range Chinese hotel. The mattress was NOT as hard as a board. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and tidy - perfectly serviceable. The breakfast included a few more western style choices than many others of this category. It is located in a convenient part of town and overall value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stayed one night in the Overseas Chinese Hotel after an overnight bus ride from Shenzhen.

Good points: we could check in early - around 11am; room was clean and comfortable; reception spoke some English; buffet style breakfast included and was very good for China; location good within walking distance of the mosque and Guandi Temple; broadband in room free of charge.

Need improvement: i think just the CCTV English channel on TV. Internet very slow.

I booked through elong - got a discount and paid 300 Rmb.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews