We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Enough”
Review of Dunhuang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunhuang Hotel
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Dunhuang
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here in September 2013, and we found the place to be well positioned with a night market not that far away. It was a nice enough place but the only problem l found was that there was no seats in the lobby area. We unfortantly arrived the same time as a biog bus of 40 or so tour group so we had to wait around standing up for a half an hour before we could check in. The beds are typical HARD chinese beds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

I really liked this hotel. It wasn't fancy and the bathroom was kindof weird and the breakfast down the street was ok. But I just loved how helpful the desk people were with arranging our tour. We only stayed one night so the other details faded away but am glad that they were able to quickly arrange a driver for us to see the Crescent Lake/Echoing Sand Dunes + the Mogao Grottoes AND take us to the airport the same day for just a couple hundred RMB. We saw everything we wanted to see in Dunhuang in a day with an hour to spare and were very happy with the experience and the price. Also the night that we arrived we were able to walk around the Dunhuang area and see all the neon lights and find some random really great family-run local Sichuan restaurant down the street because the hotel was so centrally located. P.S we were able to speak Mandarin though the ladies were nice enough that presumably some pictures and gesturing could help you get the same deal..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubacheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This place was amazing- so helpful. Make sure you have your request ( ie ... do you gave a double room for one night? etc) English translated into Chinese before arrival ( I did this using google translate then took a screen shot of it on my iPhone), showed the receptionists who try incredibly hard to talk to you in broken English.

Moments later We had free wifi on our phones, a trip to mogao caves, cressant lake and the whistling sand dunes booked with a private driver ( a 3hr trip) for 150 yuan! Great value!

Lovely staff ;)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chirpyandcheerful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Did not stay at hotel but I accidentally booked the hotel online for the same day (one night) instead of 2 months later which is when I'll be going (2 nights). Hotel would not refund money for that one night after a "no show".
1) While I understand that they do have the right to charge me for that night, it's not like the hotel rooms were full otherwise I wouldn't have been able to book that room at all for that night.
2) Not sure how smart the people are, but I think 2 nights > 1 night in terms of revenue.
3) Accidents happen, and Mar looks like May which is the reason for the mistake.
Not a lot of money but it's a matter of having good business practice / principle.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Henny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room was really spacious and had lots of amenties including in-room wifi which we really appreciated in between visiting the various sites in and around Dunhuang. Rooms were really clean and very comfortable. Only downside here was it was the hardest time we have had in 5 weeks in China communicating with hotel staff - though nothing that multiple attempts and some good miming couldn't solve.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

You get all what you pay for and more ,it is in the middle of the city where most of the hotels are ,and it is clean and the rooms nice and fresh ,which is very rare in china for a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aboudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel location is excellent, caves bus across the road, 5mins to the night market and western style cafes nearby if you want something simple to eat quickly.

Rooms were clean, good hot water pressure in the shower and reasonably quite at night- except for the phone in our room and hall outside that would ring at all hours of the night- I ended up pulling the plug out from the wall. Breakfast was poor. Front desk were not very helpful and little English is spoken. Quite a few quirks to the hotel too: for example there were free respirators provided in room(think gas masks,) Mickey mouse phones in the bathroom and a tariff card that had some very entertaining chinglish. we booked with ctrip, the double room cost 300rmb with breakfast, tariff rate is 588rmb.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunhuang hotels
0 mi away
Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel
Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel
#1 of 156 in Dunhuang
352 reviews
0 mi away
Sun Grand Hotel Dunhuang
Sun Grand Hotel Dunhuang
#10 of 156 in Dunhuang
66 reviews
0 mi away
Super 8 Hotel Dunhuang Feng Qing Cheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Carnival Boutique Hotel
Carnival Boutique Hotel
#2 of 156 in Dunhuang
12 reviews
0 mi away
Dunhe Brand Hotel
Dunhe Brand Hotel
#49 of 156 in Dunhuang
7 reviews
0 mi away
Soluxe Shazhou Hotel
Soluxe Shazhou Hotel
#9 of 156 in Dunhuang
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunhuang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunhuang Hotel

Address: No.373 Mingshan North Road, Dunhuang 736200, China
Region: China > Gansu > Dunhuang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Dunhuang
Price Range: £9 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunhuang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dunhuang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing