We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“somehow different hotel experience with staying in here”
Review of OYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
OYC Hotel
Ranked #1 of 170 Hotels in Zhaoqing
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
130 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“somehow different hotel experience with staying in here”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

/at breakfast young girl mermaid swimming in aquarium pool
/toilets big fish aquarium inside
/hot massage pools with bikini ladies dancing around for extra charge in hotel can be used "recommended"
/room huge included 2 bath tubes
/room style ok already more older touch
/location next to the lake excellent for a walk as well to enjoy evening light show

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    131
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
6
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Overall this hotel is great and relatively better than most hotels in China of the same range. There were quite a few nice touches in the room; e.g. very powerful shower heads, its in-shower sound system, bed-side clock that lights up when you pick it up, remote control for the curtain, access to the closet from the bathroom, "memory pillows"...and amongst others. It was also very clean and its linen was soft and comfortable.

Outside the room however, its staff were not so friendly / helpful / flexible. Limited English / Cantonese Chinese and just overall didn't seem to care for their guests. The mermaid breakfast thing was weird also.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bpsyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed there for 2 nights. The rooms are nice, with excellent view.

I suggest you always take room at 6th floor if ever possible. There is a line of tree in front.

Some rooms has balcony with even a bath tube there. I personally like the one without balcony, but take note that there is a strange plastic curtain "of a bright photo" (you have to see it to understand what I meant ;-) inside the room separating the bed and the in-room bath tube, and that might affect sleep quality if you are used to turning on night lights while sleeping.

The equipments inside rooms are good too - you won't have much doubt if you lie to yourself that you are at four seasons or ritz, as long as you just stay at room.

You should always go outside for other things such as food or massage.

Room Tip: Always 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W___X__
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2010

This is the most fantastic and fascinating hotel I´ve ever seen

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasH38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed at OYC with my family for 3D2N in August, the hotel is huge, room is spacious; however, the service at the ladies changing room is terrible. The worst 5 stars hotel ever!!! There is no communication between reception and the staffs in the changing room, the reception told us A while the staffs told us B. I respect the hotel's policy but the staffs' attitude were awful. They treat us like a prisoners more than a clients. Also, some of us got food prisoning from the dinner buffet in the western hotel. Based on the above, I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Moooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

This is a big big hotel. Everything is big, starting from the lobby area which is big enough to play a couple of tennis matches in. I stayed in a Super-Deluxe (?) Lake View room and it was definitely a great room - the bed was King Size as large tv (even the remote control was big!), with soaking tub overlooking the lake. The separate bathroom has its own bath, separate shower and toilet, dual sinks and separate powder bench - plus two tv's.

Obviously this hotel is not on the tourist route, so don't go expecting to find english speakers everywhere (or even caucasian guests), but there are a few who speak english and the staff were always very very polite and helpful. The spring pool in the basement is... hmmm.... interesting. It is a very Chinese thing, but is kind of nice. You do have to pay extra for this (Y83?).

The hotel is well management, with friendly staff and I would recommend it if you are having to travel through the area. The only downside is that there is not enough blue sky.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

I travel to Zhaoqing on busniess about 4-5 times each year. Every trip I will put in about 5 days at the OYC. I've grown to love this hotel over time.
First, it's huge. You could fly a single engine Cessna in the expansive lobby. Ok, maybe a bit of a stretch, but this hotel is so large that you should be in shape walking from your room to the lobby and across the entire lobby to the resturant. This hotel is on a scale similar to MGM Grand Las Vegas, Possibly larger. Ok, it's big. Aside from the Great Wall, quite possibly only the one other man made object visible from outer space!

The rooms are very large. The bathrooms are also huge. Walk in clothes closet, dressing room, large bath with jets, flat screen tv in the bathtub wall, flatscreen tv in the toilet (yes, you read this correctly), very large multi head shower, marble, textured marble to stand on, all the toiletries and shampoo/conditioner/soaps and body gels.
Clean, no sparkling. Towels are huge, thick, fresh and extremely absorbent. Enough about the bathroom.

The rooms are well appointed and large. Large LCD flat screen (samsung) plus DVD player. More closet space and drawers then I can fill for a 6 day stay. Bedding is soft. Did you hear that??? Soft. In China. Remarkable. Comfortable linen, super soft pillows and plenty of them. Perfect working desk, great internet access cables handy, and all tucked away in a flush mount top drawer on the table, so all your cables, power cables, net cables all go neatly into one space. Net access is fast, and only one time did the hotel lose Net access throught their ISP. It was a bad deal the hotel did not have control over this one. Lots of business people milling about, looking disorineted, including me!
The View - Zhaoqing can get blue skies when Guangzhou and the rest of the Pearl River Delta is coated with that horrid gray overcast. When the sun shines in Zhaoqing, and you have a lake view room, well, it's possibly the most beautiful view I've ever had visiting south China. This lake is an interesting formation surrounding limestone crags. The crags look like mini volcanos and they're dotted about the lake. I think it's called the "Lake of the 7 mystic crags" or something like that. Don't quote me on the exact number, but I do recall they're "mystic"! You can go down a few blocks into Zhaoqing proper and get a boat ride around the lake. The water is swimmable (though I've never done it, I see dozens of local swimmers plying the water in the early morning mist) and you can see that clear water during your boat ride. Another interesting part of this lake is a small island connected by a tiny isthmus. On the island is a preserve / protected area for a very special white crane bird. Saw some on the boat ride, but at a safe distance. Honestly, I'm a paddling/ kayaking enthusiast, and it'd be fantastic to keep a kayak at the hotel simply to be able to get up in the morning and paddle this lake before the start of a workday.

Check in at the OYC is faster than most China hotels. At least 1 desk staffer speaks very good english, and at times more than 1. Furthermore, the hotel concierge desk, usually staffed by the assistant hotel manager, is right in the lobby adjacent to reception. One manager was an australian gentlemen, on another visit it was a local chinese man who's english was excellent.

I've only enjoyed breakfast in the hotel, but it is good and at first I was the only one who knew about the OYC, so my associate and I at times were the only one's in the resturant. Now the OYC's been discovered, and breakfasts are jumping, lots of patrons but the food keeps coming and is fresh.

I've not enjoyed any of the excercise or luxurious spas or pools yet. Way too busy with work, but I vow on my next visit in April 2009 to hit the pool just once. How could you not? The photos of the pool and spa areas in every elevator show the most beautiful California Girls in bikinis photoshopped into their pool. Those photos are always a great source for a chuckle on each visit. I'm from California and perhaps only I get the joke...
In all, this hotel is a welcome retreat for anyone wishing to visit what I loosely call the "Lake Tahoe" of South China. Also a great business hotel for weary road warriors.
Price? Pricy. I've had some equally great rooms in Dongguan and Shenzhen for 1/2 the price, but the view and location lack everthing compared to the OYC.
I'll keep coming back.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheSk8Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zhaoqing hotels
1.7 mi away
Pearl Hotel Starlake
Pearl Hotel Starlake
#13 of 170 in Zhaoqing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jinzuan Hotel
Jinzuan Hotel
#3 of 170 in Zhaoqing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
2.5 mi away
Zhaoqing International Hotel
Zhaoqing International Hotel
#76 of 170 in Zhaoqing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
Jiahu International Hotel
#4 of 170 in Zhaoqing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
4.2 mi away
Country Garden Phoenix Hotel Zhaoqing
1.6 mi away
Shanshui Trends Hotel Zhaoqing Duanzhou Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OYC Hotel

Property: OYC Hotel
Address: Xinghu Avenue, Duanzhou District, Zhaoqing 526060, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Zhaoqing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zhaoqing
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zhaoqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — OYC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your OYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyc Hotel Zhaoqing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing