We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pearl Hotel Starlake
Ranked #13 of 169 Hotels in Zhaoqing
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very helpful front desk staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is coveniently located in the center part of Zhaoqing compared to the less convenient OYC Hotel which is has fastfood shops, restaurants, supermarkets, Walmart just around the corner. The hotel is also facing the Starlake with a clear view since there are no other highrise around. The rooms we had were upgraded with a larger bathroom than the usual rooms and with windows being able to see the views down below. The lighting in the rooms are a bit too dim and it is necessary to switch on all lights at night in order to read. There is free Wifi connection on all floors including gym and lobby and the connection is quite stable. The gym is well-equipped with a wide variety of facilities but I guess the usage is pretty low since a lot of the equipments are off when I went to the gym.

What I appreciate most is the staff of the hotel being very helpful when my grandmother was not feeling well at night and the night shift manager and front desk staff were very helpful in helping us to arrange for ambulance and provide us with some medicine for use which might not be too common in a lot of 2-tier cities hotels in China.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmys704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    28
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
1
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed here for a night on a package tour. These are my observations:

Recently refurbished the fit out and presentation of the lobby and guest rooms is excellent. Rooms were clean and tidy, with quality linen and furnishings.
In room airconditioning was quiet and set at just the right level for a good night's rest.
Generous size beds: I was sharing a twin room and the room had two double beds. Mattress was very comfortable and got two pillows per bed (a high firm one & a low soft one).

Nice panoramic views of Zhaoqing city and surrounding landscape for when you are taking your breakfast or dinner at the restaurant at the top of the hotel. At night time, the dining area becomes a revolving restaurant. So you can take in the views without having to leave your seat.

Location is good. Within easy walking distance (5-10 mins) of two shopping malls, cinema and McDonalds/ KFC.

Had a quick look at the other amenities but didn't get the opportunity to try them out. Gym equipment (cross trainers, running and climbing machines) appears new (TechnoGym brand) .

Swimming pool is bit on the small side,especially taking account of the maximum capacity of the hotel. It would start to appear crowded if 20 people showed up.

Small astroturf putting area and mahjong rooms are also available for hire.

Room Tip: Depending on the room you are allocated, bathrooms come with a view or without a view. Best to ask a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzzieOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

July 2011 was my first stay at the Pearl Starlake. Usually, I stay at a competing Hotel in Zhaoqing, the O.Y.C., which I have reviewed at TripAdvisor last year.
My business associate prefers the Pearl Hotel because it is very close to his own home in Zhaoqing, which makes pick up and travel to our factory very easy.
The hotel is beautiful inside and outside. The Outside has a modern round shape, with distinctive Revolving round restaurant atop the hotel structure. The inside lobby is beautiful, with floral presentation in center of lobby, and well maintained marble floors and clean and plentiful sitting areas.
Location is the best in Zhaoqing. Directly across from the main Starlake new plaza/square and park, and across from the large Starlake Mall. Crossing the street to the lake and mall is an adventure - the traffic can be great. I always find and follow the oldest lady or man, and cross with them. Experience and old age go together, so I safely cross each time.
Zhaoqing's Starlake is a real attraction, and from this hotel location, you can see most all of the 7 Star Crags in the lake.
The hotel rooms are of large size, and because the hotel is a circle, the rooms are like slices of a pie - wider at the window than at the entry door. What is most interesting is the shape and huge size of the bathroom. Certainly the shower, bathtub and sink areas are new, in great working order and clean, clean, clean! Extra water pressure makes for a relaxing shower.

Beds are a little harder than at the OYC Hotel, and much harder than a western based Hotel like the Pullman Forum Dongguan. Still, I have slept on much, much harder beds in China, so these I would call medium firm. Bedding was clean, new and fresh smelling. My local associate tells me the hotel was completed recently, but there is none of that "new hotel smell" that you can get, like from degassing adhesive under the carpeting. This is a clean, new hotel.

Check in was slow and a bit confusing, with only 1 attendant speaking a little English, but I can not actually complain.

The resturant on top allowed for free breakfast for each guest. Food was good, however, the omlette station was full and only 1 chef meant long wait times. This could be improved with two chef's during peak hours. More Asian than Western offerings for food, and I can only suggest real juices instead of canned or powdered orange drink mix for their orange juice offering. Not that tasty.

It will be difficult for me to decide on my next stay of the Pearl or OYC in Zhaoqing as my hotel of Choice. Both are very good hotels, and the Pearl is certainly worthy of any traveler's time and money. I would return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSk8Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

I stayed here as part of a big group in town for a family reunion. The Pearl Hotel is a large establishment which really stands out given it's distinctive round phallic like design. The front desk service was a little haphazard, not helped by the fact that there so many of us. The staff do not speak English, so I could imagine it could be a little difficult for non Chinese speakers. The rooms were nice and modern having been renovated quite recently. The revolving restaurant served an extensive buffet breakfast which was great. Just be warned that the waitresses will not allow you in without a ticket, even if breakfast is included with your room as they don't have the facility to check this - obviously a quick phone call to the front desk is just too hard. I also dined at the other restaurant and was impresses with their food. In particular the veal spare ribs were just sensational - worth traveling to zhaoqing just for these. The hotel is well located, opposite the two major shopping centers in town, a great legit massage place, the main town square on the lake and the night markets. Overall it is a good place to stay. Just be prepared to speak Chinese!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YG500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 933 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2006

You have to keep things in perspective, ZQ is a small town. I mostly agree with the previous review. For instance my bed was rock hard as well, it reminded me of when I go camping and sleep on the ground. But Chinese people for the most part prefer a very firm mattress. I enjoyed the view on the lake, it's a welcome change from busy GuangZhou. Of course the staff doesn't speak English, this is to be expected. The food was good. Really I have stayed in much worse places than this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank World_Citizen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2005

The Star Lake Hotel is the posh looking hotel of Zhaoqing City. I am sure its the object of a lot of local pride being the largest building in a surprising little city that is really worth a visit to enjoy.

How to get here:

Zhaoqing is 2 hours westish of Guangzhou, Serviced by Train ( Note the Station is outside of town proper ) or by Bus ( There are 2 depots in the town Bus come from most places to here ) or if your coming from Hong Kong its a 3 hour ferry trip ( The trip is scenic and Zhaoqing is the third stop on the ferry )

Star Lake Hotel is located on the main road of the town, Its surrounded by shops of all types ( Some dubious antique stores ) a block north of the McDonalds and Texburger and about 3 blocks north on the opposite side of the road of the new Shopping Mall that opens in late Sept05 )

The hotel features a wide range of services, numerous restaurants including the areas only revolving restaurant serving special western food. The hotel also features a Pool Area, Bowling Alley, Mahjong Rooms with auto cleaner ( Whew now were talking classy ) and a Nightclub and Karaoke Bar.

Rooms - I had room 3101 on the 31st floor it had a great view of the Lake and the surrounding region, Pity about that Chinese Smog that makes the smog of LA insignificant. The room was nice enough but did have a bunch of things wrong with it.

1. The Bed - You could land a Mig on the Bed it was so hard, They do give you lots of pillows however and with a bit of work you can a reasonable nights sleep.

2. The rooms need a make over, The decor is dated, The carpets need replacing or at least steam cleaning ( My carpet was a gallery of stains some of which were frightening ) The Power Switches didnt always work particularly if your trying to charge a Mobile Phone. The TV didnt work all that well either. There is however plenty of hanging space, cupboards, roomy desk, lounge and coffee Table. With a bit of work these rooms could be nice but dont think for a second they are 4 or 5 star standard.

3. The Bathroom was for the most part quite okay, The plumbing fittings were okay and worked well, You cant drink the water but there is an ample supply of bottled water and for a laugh read the lables of the personal cleaning kits they try to sell you from the holder in the bathroom. The Bathroom could do with a paintjob but certainly was very clean and at least a 3 star western standard.

Service - Most of the staff dont speak English! If you dont speak some level of Chinese its going to be fun communicating. However be patient and you will be understood as the staff here to try the very best they can. A few of the staff do speak a level of english thats more than enough to get done whatever needs to be done, And there is always someone else hanging around more than willing to help in some shape or form.

1. Front Desk Staff - These folks try hard and after a little bit of work in any conversation you will get done whatever needs to be done. Im my case someone else was able to help me explain what I needed and everything was fine.

2. Housekeeping have no idea of English, Use the latch on your door as I think they will just rock up after knocking and start cleaning around you. If you want to avoid any possibly akward moments use the latch. I did greet one of the cleaning staff when they knocked on my door and they were very confused and simply smiled and walked away.

3. The Business Centre staff speak a little english. 2 Yuan to use the PC and 2 Yuan to Print per sheet. They are freindly and efficient.

The hotel features a wide range of services so they do have you covered in that area. There valet and dry cleaning service is excellent and so cheap.

Conclusion - Its not a bad place to stay it just needs some work and they need to learn a little more english if they want to be going after the western tourist $$$. The hotel hallways could also do with some freshening up as they are a little dark. All in all considering the only other decent hotel in town is the Dynasty Hotel this place is an equal choice to the alternative and somewhat better than the other local options from my own observations.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Novemberbravo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zhaoqing hotels
1.7 mi away
OYC Hotel
OYC Hotel
#1 of 169 in Zhaoqing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zhaoqing International Hotel
Zhaoqing International Hotel
#76 of 169 in Zhaoqing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Garden Phoenix Hotel Zhaoqing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shanshui Trends Hotel Zhaoqing Duanzhou Road
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Jiahu International Hotel
#5 of 169 in Zhaoqing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ming Tien Inn
Ming Tien Inn
#21 of 169 in Zhaoqing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Hotel Starlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Hotel Starlake

Property: Pearl Hotel Starlake
Address: No.37 Duanzhou 4th Road, Duanzhou District, Zhaoqing 526040, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Zhaoqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 169 Hotels in Zhaoqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pearl Hotel Starlake 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Pearl Hotel Starlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing