We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are at the heart of this hostel”

Backstreet Youth Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backstreet Youth Hostel
UK
1 review
“Staff are at the heart of this hostel”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hostel boasts an excellent location, great prices and excellent breakfast but the true selling point of this hostel are the amazing hostel staff. Willing to go out of their way to help you, nothing is too much for them. They really did make our experience of guilin.
The rooms are basic but no more basic than other hostels at the same price in China. If you stay on the opposite side of the party street you are not disturbed by noise at all. The lounge area is super chilled with a fantastic atmosphere, you can watch movies play games and even sleep! Which is extremely helpful if you check out early and your flight is in the evening. Overall fantastic experience thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The staff were very helpful and friendly and all spoke English very well. They were happy to organise an airport transfer to the hostel for us via email (extra cost). The common area was cosy with computers and internet provided. The staff were very helpful when organising tours, they helped us arrange a tour to the Li River and a bus to Yangshuo and there is a big book with all the tour options available. Reception staff were keen to get everyone involved in karaoke on karaoke night and even all had a go themselves. Happy hour was great value, two cocktails for 30 yuan! Breakfast at the hostel was great value, delicious and filling, make sure you have breakfast at the hostel because almost no cafes/restaurants open for business before 11:30am (except McDonalds).
The only bad things was that the beds were a bit damp because of the humidity and the linen a bit smoke-smelling from the street. The bathroom was very basic, with the shower in the corner right next to the toilet and no shower curtain/screen. Was a bit noisy at night time with people coming back from nights out, but understandable since it IS a youth hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenhookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The first thing I tried in the hostel was the shower, and if it was possible I would camp out there. It was the best shower I had in weeks. My bed was huge and there were curtains between the beds. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff is friendly and speaks good English. They really help you on getting around and finding the best trips for you.
The food is nice and you can eat it in a very nice atmosphere. If you want it at the bar, on a couch or while hanging in the cushions.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne1010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grover Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I stayed at this hostel 4 nights while staying in guilin. I had a private room on the 4th floor. The room was clean and spacious. The lobby had a nice atmosphere played good music, however the music was loud at times. The staff was friendly spoke very good english. They were very knowledgeable with side trips to yangshuo, and helpful booking tickets. The location is in the marketplace of Guilin. Plenty of good restaurants and pubs close by. This hostel is a very good value and I highly recommend it to travelers.

Room Tip: The staircase is 5 stories. If your luggage is heavy I recommend a room on the first or second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We spend 3 nights at this hostel, it's a great place for young travellers! The staffs is so kind, and were very helpful with booking train tickets to our Guilin - Hanoi trip:)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casperbigom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Ideal location but staff sit about chatting all day and watching tv with volume loud either on tv or on pc screens almost treating it like a front room. Toilets are squat type that smell through to your dorms. Having said that you can rent decent mountain bikes cheaply but on the whole cheap but expect nothing more.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russellosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.0 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 462 in Yangshuo County
245 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 462 in Yangshuo County
1,085 reviews
4.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 462 in Yangshuo County
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 462 in Yangshuo County
600 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 462 in Yangshuo County
294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelling With Hostel
Travelling With Hostel
#15 of 462 in Yangshuo County
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backstreet Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backstreet Youth Hostel

Property: Backstreet Youth Hostel
Address: No.27 Guihua Road, West Street, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Backstreet Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing