We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosewood Inn
Ranked #26 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in a double room with balcony. The room is really cosy, beds are very comfortable (a rarity in China) and the room was spacious. The entire room is pine which I think gives it its cosy feel and the bathroom was large with good hot water throughout our stay.
Staff were nice but some struggled with English, however there was always someone around who could speak English that they were able to fetch if necessary. We also noticed Rudi, the general manager was around the area every evening to help if you had any problems.
A good buffet breakfast was available on the site of their sister hotel, 2 minutes away, with a discount for hotel guests at either hotel. There are also many other breakfast options on nearby West Street if you prefer to try somewhere else.
The location is ideal. West Street is pretty manic in the evening and seems like a pickpocket's paradise so we largely avoided it and instead went to the street directly across the bridge in front of the hotel which whilst still a little busy, was much quieter and had some good restaurants. The hotel is not on West Street but in fact a few minutes walk away and the location is in fact rather peaceful with absolutely no disturbances to sleep. The company also owns a number of restaurants and bars just along the road from the hotel which offered good quality English and German cuisine for any Europeans missing the comforts of home! There are numerous Chinese restaurants nearby too as well as many bars.
They also offer several tour options as well as bike rental at pretty reasonable rates and can help you with hiking maps, adventure activities or even cooking classes and Chinese lessons!
One thing I would say is that there were no non-Chinese TV channels available. Apart from that though it was pretty perfect and I would most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    93
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
83
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is just okay. It rained for five days solid and we had food poisoning so our stay was probably tainted by the fact we had to spend so much time there and the rooms are small and dar despite the pine vibe. There was no hot water in our first room and we switched to a room where the shower and bath leaked so the floor was permanently flooded adding the alright damp vibe of Yangshuo in April. Nearly all of the staff were sweet, but when we arrived the person who greeted us was very unfriendly and was very frustrated that she didn't speak english and we didn't speak Chinese. Fortunately we didn't see her again. If you're looking for somewhere cheapish to stay in Yangshuo town for a couple of days you could do worse than here though. We didn't love Yangshuo town much though. It's noisy, busy, touristy with english and german pubs, and relatively expensive - Bike Asia was twice the price of other bike rental places and the meals were pricey compared to outside the town. Would recommend eating at Pure Lotus if you are vegetarian and the juices from Mango, and keeping Yangshuo town to 2 nights. Also don't pay full price for market things. Things they asked for 500RMB for they ended up giving us for 40RMB without us even haggling.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenAvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maracielo, Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Helen
New York

" we all live with the objective of being happy; our lives are all different and yet the same."-af

We would like to thank you for staying with Rosewood Inn, feedbacks from our guest motivates us in becoming better in what we do. Inquiries, special arrangement and request, the management and staff are always happy to serve you.

We hope to see you again and Goodluck!

Best regards,

Maracielo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne,Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I recently stayed for 2 nights with my 2 daughters at the Rosewood Inn. We had a family suite with balcony which was actually 2 separate rooms but could be joined by a door across the hallway being locked. Therefore it had 2 bathrooms, great for bathroom hogs!!
It was located close to a range of restaurants, serving both Chinese and western food. It was close to West St for easy access to shopping and bike hire, but not close enough to be disturbed by the noise of clubs and partying at night.

Room Tip: Check the beds early and make sure there is a softer pad on top of the hard base, otherwise you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maracielo, Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Newby50,
Melbourne, Australlia

"The simple act of saying 'thank you' is a demonstration of gratitude in response to an experience that was meaningful to a customer or citizen".sm

We would like to thank you and your family for staying with Rosewood Inn, feedbacks from our satisfied guest's inspired us to continue on improving not only the hotel's facilities, service, activities but the Rosewood Company in general. in line with this, we would like to inform you that aside from our diffrent international restaurants, recently we open new restaurants namely...Oyster Bar and American Steak House". that you will surely love.

'Creatiity takes Courage" hm

We will continue to create a friendly atmosphere and give you nothing but the best..Goodluck!

Best Regards,
Maracielo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I just came back from Yangshuo and I really loved the city. One thing that helped me enjoy even more my vacation in Yangshuo was my stay in Rosewood Inn. The location could not be more perfect: it's 3 minutes away from the busy West street, but in a very calm area, so you are not disturbed by the noise coming from there. There are also many options of good food (local and Western) nearby. The hotel itself is very good: sleep quality is great, there are little "surprises" like chocolates near the bed, fruits... Try to get a room with balcony, it's very very pleasant. Staff is friendly. One thing that could be better: wifi is somewhat unstable. If it wasn't for that, it would be a perfect 10!

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maracielo, Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear CarolCha,
South Korea

"Thank you' is the best prayer that anyone could say. I say that one a lot, Thank you expresses extreme gratitude, humility and understanding".aw

Thank you for a very nice review. your feedback has been very much appreciated, It is indeed our pride that we satisfy our "guest".

we are looking forward to see you again having dinner with us in all of our Rosewood Company Restaurants, we have different kinds of international cuisines offered by our International restaurants. SEE YOU AGAIN!

Best Regards,
Maracielo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

My friend and I spend 5 days at the Rosewood Inn. It was a lovely place and the room was very nice and clean. Felt a bit like staying in a cottage in the Alps.
The location was perfect and very quiet at night. There are lots of small restaurants just nearby and it was not a problem avoiding the busy and noisy West Street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sinoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maracielo, Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Sinoha,

"Perhaps you will forget tomorrow the kind words you say today, but the recipient may cherish them over a lifetme". pn

We would like to thank you and your friends for staying at Rosewood Inn. we are glad that you and your friends enjoyed the unique atmosphere not only the Rosewood inn but the Yangshuo County in general.
Your feedback give us not only motivation as well as inspiration to continue on improving.

We will be waiting for your next vacation. Goodluck!

Best Regards,
Maracielo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilin, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I have stayed here numerous times. Less than five minutes away from the main tourism street, but far enough not to hear the noise. Free TV, refrigerator, Wi-fi, tea and teapot, bottled water, chocolates, fruit, slippers, bathrobes. Soft drinks to buy, in the refrigerator. Any problem using anything receives immediate friendly attention.

The best for us is a balcony. Sitting on the balcony late in the evening, looking out past the lanterns over the tree-lined river, is like being transported to a fairyland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maracielo, Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Jim H
Guilin China

" the moments of happiness we enjoy take us by surprise. It is not that we seize them, but that they seize us."

Thank you for always staying in Rosewood Inn, we really appreciate your feedbacks as it always inspires us to keep on improving and aim for the best.

We will be looking forward to see you on your next vacation.

Best regards,
Maracielo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My family included three adults and one baby and we were booked into the family suite for three days before Christmas at the Rosewood Inn in Yangshou. The booked space was too limited for us and the Inn upgraded us with two rooms side by side with our own balconies facing out onto a quiet lane. The rooms are clean and cozy. The girls at the desk and cleaning staff were very accommodating and sweet. The weather in Yangshou at this time of year is cold and they gave us housecoats, slippers and heat in the rooms. If you want peace and quiet and still be in the middle of town, this is the spot to be. i would definitely stay here again on my return to Yangshou.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maracielo, Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Jackymd,
Canada

Rosewood Inn and Hotel would like to thank you and your family. your feedback has been very much appreciated and always inspire us to continue improving not only the Hotel and Inn facilities, service and putting up new restaurants, international cuisines that suit your individual taste. recently we have just open Tapas Bar and Oyster Bar that you will definitely enjoy.

"think of all the beauty still left around you and be happy"

We will be waiting for your next vacation, Goodluck!

Best regards,
Maracelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#25 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morning Sun Hotel
Morning Sun Hotel
#28 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
CTN Li River Hotel
CTN Li River Hotel
#35 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelling With Hostel
Travelling With Hostel
#13 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamboo House Hotel New
Bamboo House Hotel New
#29 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.3 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Inn

Property: Rosewood Inn
Address: No.95 Guihua Road, West Street, Yangshuo County 541999, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosewood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Yangshuo, hidden amongst trees in front of a small stream, the Rosewood Inn is also very close to the Li river and surrounded by the world famous karst mountain landscape. Even though it is only a few steps away from the animated center of the West Street the environnement of the hotel is very calm. It offers quality and confortable rooms with a blend of chinese traditional decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing