We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grim”

Fawlty Towers Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fawlty Towers Hotel
Ranked #112 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Grim”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

After staying in a series of hotels around China which we accepted to be of simple standard, the Fawlty Towers Hotel was disgracefully dirty. We were repulsed to find mildew on walls of the bedrooms, large stains halfway up walls and scum marks throughout the bathroom. Even the central location does not make up for the uncomfortable feeling when walking up the sleazy side alley towards the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacQCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jishou, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I went with experienced travelers to Yangshuo who like this hotel. It's across the street from the bus station and about a block from the beginning of West Street. Since it is tucked away along an alley, it's easy to miss, which can be a blessing at night when West Street (XIJie) bars and clubs start rocking.

Our rooms on the third floor were reasonably comfortable and clean. The hot water after the first night lost a lot of its heat, perhaps because the the inn was full or because of the late night power outages that hit us three times. We were traveling during Spring Festival, and the owner.manager (English name is Manuel) quoted us double the normal rates for the seven days of the festival. We were in three separate rooms, so we were able to talk him down a little to 190RMB a night for a single and 220RMB a night for double. Your results may vary.

Manuel speaks a little English, but don't expect long conversations. The other staff, especially the old duffer at the night desk, had practically none. They offer a variety of tourist services, though, like ticket booking and tours. However, there are plenty of agencies around offering the same kind of services, so shop around before booking anything.

Room Tip: Our third floor rooms were quiet. My single was #304, doubles were #306 and 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheatdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Great location, opposite the main street ( West Street ) for shopping, eating and partying in Yangshuo. Close to all amenities. Basic clean rooms. It is located up a small side street so can be easy to miss if you are not sure where it is. A little more pricey than other hostels/ inns in Yangshuo/ Guilin.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissRin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

Positives: great location, helpful staff, reasonable rates.

Negatives: bathrooms...very moldy, falling apart, not very clean.

Check rooms before you book. Our bathroom had mold all over the walls, shower curtains, floor. Could be a major problem for someone with allergies.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank surdatedda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangshuo County hotels

England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

Excellent hotel with pleasant rooms and friendly staff. Hotel is located just across the road from the start of West Street (Xie Jie), so is near to the lively part of town, without being surrounded by guides and touts. Luxury rooms are very well priced. I had a great view of the town and peaks. Staff can arrange a taxi to and from Guilin airport at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Keystone_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.1 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lucy's Hotel
Lucy's Hotel
#17 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.5 mi away
Snow Lion Riverside Resort
Snow Lion Riverside Resort
#9 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawlty Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers Hotel

Property: Fawlty Towers Hotel
Address: No.107 Pantao Road, Yangshuo County 514900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fawlty Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Fawlty Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing