We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just not good enough”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yangshuo County
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yangshuo Friend Hotel
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We arrived in Yangshuo worn out and carrying heavy bags. We struggled to a few hotels/hostels and so by the time we got to Friend Hotel, we were past caring. This is just as well as, if we had come across this hotel first we might have rejected it.

As it was, we negotiated the price down to 180 per room per night. As we were checking in, friends who were already in Yangshuo said that all the hostels they look at on West Street were quoting 100 per room per night. So we told the lady that we didn't want to stay here any longer and she reduced the price to 100 per room. So bear that in mind because you will be pretty annoyed if you pay more and then spend a night there.

For 100rmb per room it's just about acceptable but if you're looking for comfort, go somewhere else. Everything is shabby, broken or the cheapest they can lay their hands on. There was no love put into anything at all in the whole place. In fact it was a bit demoralising having to go back there at night when others were going somewhere much nicer for cheaper.

If you're desperate then it will do but if you still have the energy, walk a bit further and book yourself into somewhere else... anywhere else!

Good things.... The wired internet worked well. The shower was ok. The air-con worked.
Bad things....The bed was as hard as nails and bedside lights didn't work. The towels were the size of a face cloth (no I'm not exaggerating) and shabbiness prevailed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanchang_Nel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

left our rucksack on the floor, the next morning it was full with ants. the stuff was unpolite, the coffe was horrible..

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kastumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed here for 5 days in June 2011. The location is the best you will get in Yangshuo; right in the middle of the centre but in a quiet street, across the big pond with an excellent view on the typical Karst-hills (if you think away the McDonalds sign).

The family is very friendly and speaks good english. It has a B&B feeling over it since the family also lives here. The food in the restaurant was good value for money, although we mostly snooped around in the neighbourhood.

The room was good value for money. I would recommend the balcony room; the balcony is very spacious and offers amazing views. The room itself was very basic and can use an update. The bathroom had a western style toilet but was simple.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_ToscaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Me (student in Shanghai) and my grand pa landed in this really nice place accidentally as we had not booked anything in advance. the place is very good located, right within the hot spot in yangshuo but far enough from the closest bar to have a very good night of sleep. the rooms were very clean, warm, hot shower, cheap, wifi in the rooms too, and even had a nice balcony! we had all our meals at the place because the main room had a good atmosphere and the staff was really relaxed, nice, and could speak English. on the last evening, i lost my passport and they manage to find it! they were really helpful. i would also recommend the travel agency right next to the 7th heaven hotel . the lady was nice and gave good advice without trying to rip us off. i definitely recommend this place! I'm even planning to go back there with a whole bunch of friends in May.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anouk1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Just spent the one night here on our way to somewhere else. Hotel is in an excellent location - right by the shops, restaurants and nightlife. Room was basic, but spacious and clean. Staff was helpful enough. This would be a good place to stay if you're spending some time in Yangshuo and don't mind being right in the middle of the all the tourist hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Our room was very comfortable with a balcony too! The downstairs cafe has fantastic food, don't have breakfast anywhere else! Their nightly movies are fantastic too, we watched "I Love You Man" under the stars! Go cycling in the countryside with their bikes for 10RMB, no deposit. I'd definitely come back. Ask for a discount if they organise your Light Show tickets.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

I have just been too this friendly place watching a movie on the outdoor screen and having a late evening snack, all the while checking e-mails on the free WiFi of the cafe.
Service was good and in passable English, as was the menu. That has a good variety of western and chinese food and quite some alcoholic drinks from beer via wine to shots and longdrinks.
Prices are fair for the area (everything seems to be near double the price I payed in Beihai). Iced milk tea came for 12RMB, chocolate ice cream shake was 15, and about ten deep fried pork dumplings cost another 15RMB.
The location is nothing special but fine enough and the cafe itself is newish and nicely decorated.
They also have rooms there and it wasn't very loud outside the cafe. Have no idea about the prices though.
I would defenetly recommend this place over the Lonely Planet recommended Kelly's cafe.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
2.5 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 479 in Yangshuo County
1,107 reviews
2.8 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 479 in Yangshuo County
259 reviews
4.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 479 in Yangshuo County
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 479 in Yangshuo County
622 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 479 in Yangshuo County
298 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 479 in Yangshuo County
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Friend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Friend Hotel

Address: No.2 Chengzhong Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Yangshuo County
Price Range: £11 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing