We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable twin room in Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Li River Hotel (Decui Road)
Ranked #152 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Twin room in block A. Slightly concerned about security as stairwell is open to public. That said room had secure locks on door and we had no issues. TV in room but no English channels. Beds comfortable and clean. Bathroom bit tired and tiny bit of mould on tiles but plenty hot water although pressure drops at peak time.
Good location for wondering around Yansghuo and close to eateries and bars.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Background: This Diecui Road hotel is the older, cheaper, 3-star sibling of the newer 4-star hotel (of the same name) located on Pantao Road. For some reason, our escorted tour company chose this one for our tour group's two-night stay in Yangshuo as part of a three-week circle tour of China.

PROS: Location... location... location is its best asset. Situated at the city centre, it is within walking distance to several shops, restaurants, banks, malls and other attractions. Just at the next block are good eateries for the foodie in you: Golden Dragon Village, Lucy's Place and Pure Lotus Vegetarian Restaurant (see their respective reviews). Nearby as well is the pedestrian-only shopper's mecca: West Street. The rooms are moderately-sized and has the usual perks: TV, A/C, heater. There is free WiFi (need to ask for the password though), free parking and an in-house restaurant. The lobby comes equipped with a beverage cooler with water and softdrinks. (This is one of the few places in China where I found Pepsi Cola!) Starting from ¥658 for a standard twin room up to ¥1,800 for a deluxe suite, it is relatively inexpensive compared to its peers for its 3-star rating.

CONS: Several come to mind --- The first thing one notices after check-in is that this hotel as well as the three-storey high annex next door do NOT have elevators. Granted, I brought a backpack so it wasn't a problem for me, but there were several in our tour group who had to lug their giant suitcases up several flights of stairs -- without help. Second, categorized as a "Superior Tourist Class Historical Hotel," this hotel skipped the "superior" feature but had the "historical" aspect down pat. Hence, the lack of elevators, the dated furnishings, old scuffed rug, tattered linen (see picture below), musty odours and overall tiredness of the room. Third, it lacked the other perks that are expected from a 3-star establishment: No fridge, no hairdryer and no complimentary bottles of water (costs ¥10 each). Fourth -- and this is weird -- they had several white towels covering parts of the 2nd floor carpet of the annex. I reckon there might have been a water leak. Now, speaking of leaks, the plumbing in my toilet got plugged and started to back up. Fifth, all the annex rooms face the noisy main street. I was awakened by a passing funeral procession one morning. Lastly, service could be better. Staff did not speak English and generally unhelpful. Case in point: No one helped carry luggage up or down the stairs.

Verdict: This hotel has the potential to be a very nice one, if only management had bothered to upgrade, if not refurbish, it. I'm not a fussy traveller but, if you only use the hotel to sleep in, it does the job. Just lower your expectations. Then, lower it some more. Oh, and bring ear plugs. Grade C+.

.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my family in 2 rooms in September 2013 and found it to be a most unpleasant experience. The rooms are dirty and musty - the mould in the bathrooms is a sight to see. The other issue which really annoyed me was the scam they have go going whereby at check out if your room key has any scratches on it or is anyway not perfect they hit you up with a USD 10 fee. So check your room key upon arrival and reject any that may look a little worn and hopefully you can avoid this scam!

The only upside to this hotel is the location (walking distance to everything) and we did love the Yangshou region - it is a must see region when in China.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Geeman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The room was clean and its size was okay. So was the bathroom.

What I didn't like were the floors. 1. Rooms were located in a separate building, which was accessible for everyone. 2. There was no elevator. 3. To cover the carpet in the floor (I assume), they put towels on the ground!!! Also right in front of the stairs. Several times, I've almost stumbled over them!

In addition, service was very unfriendly. If your towels have some spots, you have to pay for the laundry or wash it yourself! Shouldn't this be the job of the hotel?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FragrantHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hotel is located in the city centre of Lijiang and within short distance of the shops and many, many bicycle rent places. A bakery and supermarket can be found within 100-200 metres from the hotel (go to the road and turn right). There is a restaurant at the hotel but for as far as we could see it was not open / used during our stay.
However in the centre there are many options available for both breakfast and lunch (Western and Chinese options available everywhere).

Our room in this hotel was located on the 3rd floor of the annexe and there was no elevator (the main building doesn't have one either). We had backpacks but many within our tour groups had heavy suitcase which they needed to "drag" up themselves.

There is WIFI in the room, it does stop sometimes but always starts up again. The bed is soft and we had a nice view from our window.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HW0uters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for a few nights on an organized tour. The hotel could be a little cleaner (extra pillows were mouldy) and the bathroom is OK. Free wifi in the rooms was nice. The hotel is conveniently located but Decui Rd. is pretty loud. Average compared to other hotels where we stayed in China.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside, away from the street if you want more quiet. You won't have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirage2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed here on our tour, thankfully it was only for 2 nights. On arrival after a hot trip in 49 degree heat we found we had no hot water for a shower which whilst being hot was OK. The ne t day was not so funny, however the zircon did not work so after the cold shower you soon warmed up.
We requested a new room and was moved to a hot damp room that had been vacated from our guests in our group which they failed to mention even in Chinese.
We eventually found a clean room at 2AM and then had a 1hour debate about keeping 2 room keys until the morning to refrain from packing up my old room at 2 AM.

This hotel makes faulty towers look like a premium hotel.

If you want a really good laugh stay here, you appreciate how fortunate we are at home even in a poor BB.

The best I can say is it has a good central location, however anyone can just enter the front building and break into rooms, take care if valuables, however being on the 4th floor
With no lift was our main security protection.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBrooks133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
2.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 483 in Yangshuo County
265 reviews
4.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 483 in Yangshuo County
264 reviews
2.5 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelling With Hostel
Travelling With Hostel
#13 of 483 in Yangshuo County
122 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 483 in Yangshuo County
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Li River Hotel (Decui Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li River Hotel (Decui Road)

Address: No.33 Diecui Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: £19 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Li River Hotel (Decui Road) 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Li River Hotel Yangshuo is located in downtown Yangshuo-a beautiful and picturesque scenic spot, and surrounded by west street, bus station and Yangshuo Park in east, west and south side. The distance to Yangshuo ferry is ten minutes by foot. Decorated according to four star hotel, all 95 guests rooms have individual air-condition, digital TV, IDD & DDD phone and free Wifi internet. The Hotel is the best choice for your tour journey and business trip in Yangshuo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Li River Hotel (Decui Road) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing