We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the most impressive&awesome youth hostel in China”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Senior Leader International Youth Hostel
Ranked #67 of 436 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2012

i heard of that this hostel is pretty famous between chinese backpackers,while the experience of staying here is still far beyond my expectancy.i really enjoy the harmonious social atmosphere which is created by relaxing layout in public space and would definitely help anyone meet other travellers easily,that is very important to a youth hostel.some negative comments on hostelbookers said majority of guests here are chinese so that the foreigners will hardly feel like home,but during my stay,i saw almost all the foreign guests here getting very well with chinese,so maybe this hostel can be an awesome place to make friends with chinese if you want. Additional,considering its great location and reasonable price,i highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LU-XIAOFANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Senior Leader International Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is definitely one of the best Youth Hostel that I've ever stayed.
The location is great! Even though it's just a stone throw away from West Street, it is very quite in the hostel. You can have all the fun in West Street and yet still have quality sleep back in your room.
Our standard room is quite spacious. It's very clean and the beds are comfy.
The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. We got some great guides from them. We bought the "Impression SanJie Liu(印象刘三姐)" tickets from them with cheaper price and with free transport :)

阳朔老班长国际青年旅舍是我住过的最棒的青年旅舍,干净、地点上佳不在话下。最重要的是,他的员工们全都亲切友善,整个旅舍有着浓浓的家的感觉。
我们第一眼看见这旅舍,就爱上了。那时候,天气冷得很,我们刚刚舟车劳顿地从黄姚转车到钟山再打的到阳朔。一拉开老班长的大门,即看见客厅内沙发上坐着两个带着绒帽看DVD的老外,很温暖的感觉。我们和柜台的小妹妹有说有笑的,要了一晚的标准间。
一进房间,看见两张铺着干净洁白床单的单人床,开着暖暖的空调,享受死了!结果,我们最常做的事,就是走到柜台前说:“续房”。也没有什么特别的事可做,就只是享受阳朔的无所事事,睡到自然醒,在西街、漓江旁晃来晃去,这么一住,就住了三晚。
老班长养了一只小猫,它有着清澈的眼眸,纯真而天真地看着这个世界。每天晚上我们在客厅内上网,它就会在我们俩之间徘徊,不怎么爱猫的我们竟然也任它胡闹。在老班长无所事事时,它和窗台前那只毛茸茸的玩具熊就成了我们最佳的模特儿。
我们对于老班长那种心灵上的依赖说起来有点儿不可思议。由于老班长与西街仅尺之遥,我们吃顿饭想上厕所也得走回老班长、外套不带在身边天气转凉也走回老班长、有事没事都得回老班长转一圈。
如果你想到阳朔去,就住老班长吧!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnderBigHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

As the owner has been seriously injured during his travel to Guangdong , the hostel is currently run by a few computer savvy girls, who are often busy with their messenger chats. The staff aren't impolite but rather indifferent and reluctant to help. Asking anything about Yangshuo and their answer is either short or "I dunno" so that they can get back to their computer QQ chat immediately. Even if a guest wanted to put something into a safe box, the staff also looked very reluctant to get away from their computer for a few seconds.

The hostel is supposed to play a movie on a big projector every night, but the schedule depends on the mood of the staff. When the staff wants to listen to music, they will simply turn off the volume of the movie and politely ask everyone to watch the subtitle instead of "listening to the movie", making everyone in the hostel look like a dumb.

Shower quality is also a disappointment. Hot water is unstable and it drips water slowly. Don't expect a decent shower quality to brush away the dirts after a tiresome rock climbing tour. The squat toilet ..... some people may like it , but it's not me, especially if you have a sour muscle.

The place resembles a youth hostel but its management style is more like a cheap zhao1 dai4 suo3 around a train station, practicing a policy "Don't ask, just pay and sleep and go."

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dullmau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

great banana bread!!!
very nice staff
space in the room
comfy bed

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

As the hostel is located at a quiet street, I was unable to locate it using just the address of the hostel, until I asked around for 20mins with my heavy backpack. Once I found it, I stayed for a week. There is almost no noise from the West Street night bars, or sounds of horn from vehicles.
The reception staff is outstanding. They patiently explain the places to go in Yangshuo. The price from the hostel is much cheaper than buying directly from the place of interest. They even bring me to the bus station personally. Whenever I enter or exit the hostel, the staffs will greet me with a big smile. All staffs make it a point to communicate to their guests. Just next door to the hostel is a laundry shop (8yuan/kg, collect within the same day), which makes it very easy if you do not want to wash clothes yourself.

The downside of this hostel is the squat style toilet. The room may be vulnerable to cigarette smoke if guests next room smoke or someone smoke at an alleyway where the aircon compressor is. But I only encounter this problem for an hour out of my 7 days stay. After complaining this matter to the staff, they took immediately actions to warn the guests next door to mine.

One of the best youth hostel, especially the reception service, I ever stayed in China.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper_Ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2009

Stayed for three nights. The location, the price and especially the stuff wrere good , but the rooms weren't clean enough . as whole enjoyed our stay !!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pazitush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

This place was great,, the best hostel overall in China. I've stayed 3 nigths from July 20th, 2008. The hostel is located on a small street, about 200 meters from West Street (yangshuo's pedestrian street). The building in very clean, looks new, carpet floors, wodden beds, has 2 Pcs w/ free internet ( good fast conection, much better than other free internet hostels..)also Wi-Fi in rooms, and the staff is great, speak perfect english, always smiling and great atmosphere. I've stayed in room 203, 4 bed-room, A/C, 35 Yuan per night, and if you have a Hosteling International Card or Utels you get a discount and is only 30 Yuan.
I highly recomend this place!! and Yangshuo aswell..

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarianoRedondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
2.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 475 in Yangshuo County
1,093 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 475 in Yangshuo County
250 reviews
4.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 475 in Yangshuo County
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 475 in Yangshuo County
610 reviews
3.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 475 in Yangshuo County
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lucy's Hotel
Lucy's Hotel
#18 of 475 in Yangshuo County
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senior Leader International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senior Leader International Youth Hostel

Address: No.36 Fuqian Valley, Diecui Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 436 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range: £11 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Senior Leader International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing