We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly quiet given the very central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yangshuo West Street Residence
Ranked #21 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel was surprisingly quiet althoug it is located directly on the lively West Street in downtown Yangshuo. As the hotel is set back a little from the street and has its own small courtyard this is a great feature. right next door is a small restuarant that serves up good local dishes plus some international classics - but the best thing is - the fresh beer from their own microbrewery.

First night we were offered an upgrade to the largest room they have (with in room hot tub) since our's wasn't ready yet. However that room faced the backside of the hotel (built into a rock cliff) and was very dark, damp and moldy. Not healthy to stay in.

Got our room next morning and there was nothing to complain about. So remember, don't book the biggest most expensive room here. Unless you like your mold smelly and visible.

Room Tip: Don't go for the biggest, most expsinve rooms with hot tubs.....very moldy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OJinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent place to stay, worth the money we paid. Rooms were very clean, comfy, spacious, quiet, beautiful and uniquely decorated. Service was really good too. Strategically located on West Street with plenty of eateries, and shops.

We love YangShuo and this hotel above all!

There is NOTHING to dislike about this hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SY_C7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you consider staying here - do it! You won't regret it.
Yanshuo is a super touristy place but definitely a must see visit. Rent a bike and enjou the landscapes beauty. As great as the place itself is this hotel: You'll be located in the center of west street - thats where things are happening. And even though located in the center, what you'll find is a qiuet place offering you a good sleep. The rooms are freshly refurbished, clean and spacious and the staff is extremely helpful. Thanks to its location you won't have a problem finding a good place to eat (tipp: why not trying the restaurant right next door - turned out to be our favourite).
Nothing really to critize: we decided to pay a little extra for a nice stay in Yangshuo and we got exactly what we were looking for!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nubuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We arrived in YangShuo around 18h00 and already the streets were crowded. The hotel is a long way from where the taxi could stop and it was difficult to drag our luggage on the cobbled streets .The check in went smoothly although not all the staff spoke English.We had room on the ground floor and even though the room was dark because the window is directly in front of a mountain , it was adequate. The place was clean and well appointed. The only snag was the cigarette smoke wihich filtered in our room on the 2nd of the 3 nights we stayed there.This was probably due to a common ventilation system with other smokers' room and it was most inconvenient to be waken up in the middle of the night and having to put up with this problem . The tea refills were not done everyday contrary to the water bottles and there was some confusion with the confirmation of departing flight. This being said, the hotel is located in a very stategic place in the centre of activities -restaurants, shops, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Recommended by a Chinese friend to stay here.
Yangshuo is quite far from Quilin Airport, about 1 hour away. Paid RMB450 for a van for 6 pax from airport to the hotel. Pickup arranged by the hotel and paid to the front desk.
Once reach, the hotel staff pick us up and walk with us to the hotel from the Main Street as the hotel is situated on a walking street and no cars allowed.
The decor is very traditional Chinese, backed with an awesome rock hill.
Staff is very efficient and friendly.
Room is clean with in room heating and hot shower.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank CheeKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csourcehotel, General Manager at Yangshuo West Street Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Cheekeen,Thank you very much for taking your precious time out to write us such an excellent review ! We had a great time hosting you and your lovely family:) We are still striving to improve the experience for our guests, and seeking out new ways to connect travellers to what is authentic to the area, and we're glad it made a difference to your travel experience.
We hope to see you here again in the future!

from James Liao(Hotel GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

There is no doubting the beauty of Yangshuo - providing you escape the touristy town centre. There is real beauty in the rural areas. When staying in Yangshuo you need a place that is clean, quiet, and hopefully have some local character - and the C.Source has all this.
The location is VERY central. West Street is the main pedestrian road in Yangshuo, and is full of restaurants and shops catering for tourists. At night however, there are thumping discos, and it is a bit more chaotic.
The C.Source shares the address with the street, but it is set back quite far, and I had a mountain facing room, and it was very quiet. This hotel has a lot of Chinese character done in a very stylish way - not tacky. The public areas such as the courtyard, and hallways are lovely.
Once you are in the room, there is a very Chinese feel to it, but in a boutique hotel style. Powerful hot shower, with a separate toilet. Be warned, like many hotels these days, the shower and toilet have a frosted glass door that opens into the room, and a large Chinese ceramic wash basin in the room itself. It sounds strange, but it works!
The front desk staff were helpful, and service oriented. They arranged a return taxi to Guilin Airport at competitive rates.
If I were to return to Yangshuo, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the C.Source again.

Room Tip: The 'mountain view' rooms aren't your typical view. Yangshuo's mountains shoot up f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeLonW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csourcehotel, 總經理 at Yangshuo West Street Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you,Mike , for such positive feedback. We are all very happy that you and your family were able to truly experience another side of Chinese life in our Yangshuo home. Many guests comment on our unique location, which is "The location is VERY central,but it is set back quite far.“Your words embody the spirit and mission of the C.Source, and remind us how lucky we are everyday. Because of guests like you, we are able to continue improving, and we enjoy giving everyone who stays with us the same feeling. Thank you.

Warm regards,

James Liao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We just returned from three nights at the C.Source, and we had a wonderful time. It's the people who make this place so great. We were met at the airport even when our flight was late, driven to the West street where our luggage was picked up in a little cart (you can't drive in to West street ), and then escorted down the charming cobblestone streets to the C.Source West Street Residence where we were welcomed with ginger tea and taken to our beautiful upstairs room. We loved our room and the feel of the whole place. Shirley was our favorite staff member. She was always there to help us with anything...including providing boxes and bubble wrap so that we could protect the beautiful pottery we found in the old town market. We were in Yangshuo during the Christmas Holiday and we loved wandering the streets as everyone celebrated and then strolling back to the nearby C.Source. We had a nice long chat with the owner--James,he made us feel as though we were at home. We saw that the hotel offers tours--wish we had used their services. We highly recommend the C.Source West Street Residence

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 孙俪尔
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csourcehotel, Director of Sales at Yangshuo West Street Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Now that you’ve got a home in Yangshuo – you’re going to have to come back! :) As you’ve said, we do very much aspire to bring together like-minded travelers from around the world, and our goal is to create a second home for you in beautiful Yangshuo, where you feel that you are surrounded by friends who can advice you on anything and everything about the place and how best to enjoy it!

The best thing about this, of course, is that Yangshuo is a region of such great diversity that its practically impossible to run out of places to see, festivals to experience, cuisines to savor ! On your next visit here, we’d be delighted to put some trips together for you that can give you a C.SOURCE Insider’s experience of the area – and allow you to enjoy the best that the season has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.1 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 483 in Yangshuo County
175 reviews
4 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 483 in Yangshuo County
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelling With Hostel
Travelling With Hostel
#13 of 483 in Yangshuo County
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 483 in Yangshuo County
309 reviews
3.3 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#23 of 483 in Yangshuo County
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo West Street Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo West Street Residence

Address: No.79 West Street, Yangshuo County 541900, China (Formerly Hongfu Hotel)
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yangshuo County
#9 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: £24 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yangshuo West Street Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
C.Source West Street Residence is located along the lively and historic West Street. Housed in a 260-year-old courtyard, the charming property features classic Chinese-style decoration, free Wi-Fi in all areas and a terrace where guests can relax. On-site parking is free. C.Source West Street is 500 m from Yangshuo Bus Station and a 5-minute walk from Li River. Offering free wired internet, all rooms come with air conditioning, a flat-screen TV and a writing desk. En suite bathrooms include shower facilities and hairdryers. Car rentals, day trips and ticketing can be arranged at the tour desk. The hotel also provides bicycle rentals, a chargeable airport shuttle service and meeting facilities. For meals, there are a variety of local eateries located along the West Street. This is our guests' favourite part of Yangshuo, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Yangshuo West Street Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hongfu Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing