We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good climber's retreat on a climber's budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Climbers Inn

Climbers Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Climbers Inn
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good climber's retreat on a climber's budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Arriving in Yangshuo I was looking to meet other climber's and was told of the climber's inn so I went and Checked it out. when I got there I met the owner Li Lea who was very helpful. She even went climbing with me that afternoon. Good basic rooms with HOT! water and good pressure. wifi, cupboards and hangers for your climbing gear.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
7
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Climber's Inn, a refuge from the wonderful madness of Yangshuo, is tucked into a little alley in the center of town. As a climber it doesn't get better. My room is aptly called Lei Pi Shan - the name of a great crag in the area where I have many climbing projects (other rooms are also similarly named after climbing areas nearby). I've stayed here for for over a month now. If you've heard the expression 'the owner makes the place', this is it! Lily is absolutely wonderful. As a climber herself, she loves having other climbers over and takes motherly care of us. Giving us all kinds of info about the place, lending us her guidebooks, taking us out for dinners. The place itself is small but kept very clean. Meeting other climbing partners is a lovely bonus. I'll definitely want to stay here whenever I return!

Room Tip: The upper rooms can be expectedly a bit noisy because of the bars in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tantrikclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

I am a climber, and CLimbers Inn is the best place ever to meet other climbers! lots of different levels, so you should fin a 'shoe that fit your foot'. Also, Lily is very very very helpfull and trustworthy. I moved out of Yangshuo after a few days, but I kept coming back there for advice about things around Yangshuo, where to book train tickets, etc... I also booked a tour to the Longji area through Lily (the price was also 20% cheaper than the quote of another hostel I had stayed at on the first night in Yangshuo)

If you are not a climber though, you might be a little bit disappointed, though it still is a good place to stay for the advice you can get from Lily on all sorts of things.

The amenities and rooms are OK, but average.
Mostly, you hear people from other rooms, in the corridor, and/or noise from the street, depending on which room you are staying in (I stayed in a few different ones). As it is in the centre of Yangshuo, it can be very noisy, with loud music late at night in some period. But then, it might have been so bad due to Golden week only.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneTraveller173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

My experience at Climbers Inn was pretty bad. I had booked at least two weeks in advance and everything seemed to be ok. They even called me in the afternoon to check what time I was coming.

To my surprise, once I was there the owner told me that she had very good clients before me, and that one of them wanted to stay in the hostel one more night... So I had no room for that night. She took me to another hostel, much worse, no wireless, bad service, wet towells... It seem to me they didn't even know each other.

After 5 years in China, I think this has been my worst hotel experience. There's no real common areas in the hostel, not very nice atmosphere and the location is right in the middle of the town, which means a lot of noise at night. My advice: don´t stay here and don´t stay in Yangshuo, all the other small towns around are much nicer places to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We visited 8 southern cities in China, including Hong Kong and Macau, last December. This hostel was the best of all the hostels we stayed at during our trip. The manager, Lily, is very knowledgeable about the area. She has great local connections and a friendly attitude and can help with arranging tickets, rentals, and discounts to local attractions. She also has wonderful recommendations for local restaurants with authentic food. Anything we requested she was able to help us with. You don't have to be a climber to stay here. (We certainly weren't.) This is a great hostel with friendly, knowledgeable service. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed here during a 12 climbing trip. Lilly (the owner) is a very nice host and helps you with everything! Rooms are basic, but clean. Especially considering the price, I really would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Invator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

I didn't sleep in this hostel, but came around very frequently to meet up with my climbing friends met there before. It's a really friendly and familiar atmosphere as the owner knows the forenames of her guests and mostly also what they're doing. There are two sofas in the lobby for relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N8kind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
2.6 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.2 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#22 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Lotus Hotel
Green Lotus Hotel
#17 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Showbiz Inn
Showbiz Inn
#6 of 51 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
11 Youth Hostel
11 Youth Hostel
#10 of 51 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Climbers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Climbers Inn

Property: Climbers Inn
Address: No.21 Guihua Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
climbers inn is located at 66 Guihua Rd, in the centre of Yangshuo town, only 30 metres from West Street.We have standard rooms with: Twin or double bed En-suite bathroom (western or chinese style) Air conditioning 24-hour hot water Free internet access, with a network cable to each room Laundry service Telephone with international dialling Room service We also offer a rock-climbing guide service, ticket information and a tour guide service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Climbers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing