We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place on the beautiful countryside, 5 km outside Yangshuo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yangshuo Outside Inn
Ranked #4 of 450 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have been to Yangshuo before and the town has exploded in tourism. the good thing about that is that there is more and more choice in restaurants and there are more and more nicely styled shops, but it's also very crowded and noisy. The Outside Inn is beautifully located at the end of a small village, 5 km from Yangshuo. As crowded Yangshuo is, as quiet and peaceful Outside Inn is. Lovely staff that speak great English, cosy decorated rooms in traditional mud-brick buildings and also some more modern styled rooms and family suites in their apartment building.

A very friendly atmosphere and within a few minutes walk you're in the middle of the karst mountains without a sign of tourism! Ask them about "The lost world plateau" walk which brings you in just 20 minutes or so on a small field surrounded by the karst mountains. magical!

Room Tip: The rooms in the mudbrick buildings are very charming but don't have tv/dvd (which you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a great stay in Outsite inn. The superfriendly Dutch owner showed us around and gave us good tips for activities in the surroundings. You can go swimming in the Li River, go for a hike in the mountains behind the resort or rent a bike to enjoy.

The rooms in the resort are big, clean and comfortable. There are mosquito nets over the beds so the bugs won’t bother you at night. The resort has some good foods on the menu. When you are eating some friendly chickens stop by say hello.

We stayed for about a week, but wished we could have stayed longer. It felt like paradise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ko s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Hello, we really enjoyed our stay there, it is very quiet and peacefull there, since it is at the end of the village, so there is no traffic. Very good with children. And although it is in a small chinese village you have all the western comfort. Only the nights were a bit cold since we stayed end of December.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you repeat how wonderful spending 5 days at this hotel at the end of December was, there will be too many people in the future. So, if you're asked, please say it's ugly, badly located, noisy, in a 25-story highrise, with several highly-polluting factories around, more than 15 miles from the nearest river, with terrible food. Please do, so we can enjoy again one of our most relaxing vacations ever. We even left our 6.5-year old kid play by himself the whole morning and have the best time of his life while we were exploring the nearby trails and river.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We really appreciate this place. It has a very good organization and the location is perfect for biking, hiking and move around. The traditional construction is amazing and the villages near very beautiful to visit. We also had a very good and cheap Chinese lunch and really good western breakfast.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lapotanzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I had a solo mini-vacation for a few days at The Outside Inn at the end of November and found it to be the perfect combination of privacy and friendly interaction. The owner, Ron, and the staff were attentive and helpful at all times. The room was rustic, charming, and met all basic needs. The fellow travelers were a marvelous mix with which to share stories and tips. A quiet haven yet close to all the action!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 391Andie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I really loved this inn! My husband and I (late 20s, experienced backpackers) stayed here for two nights in November 2013. The price was great as November is the low season, so we paid essentially hostel price for this great inn. Owners are really friendly and helpful, and gave great advice and assistance with planning activities. The renovated farmhouse concept is really cute, all adobe architecture with red lanterns, and even chickens running around. Nice outside patio and the lounge area is very cozy as well (complete with fireplace!) The food is a little on the pricy side, but nothing particularly unreasonable. Our room was comfortable and clean, and also decorated nicely. The bathroom was clean and hot water was plentiful. It's a Western toilet but the bathroom is in the Chinese style where there's just a shower head, no separate shower. We paid a little extra for a room with heating, but I don't think it was really that necessary as the heater was not very strong and was located so far up on the wall that it basically blew over our heads all night.

It's located in a rural neighborhood outside Yangshuo - a taxi from the bus station costs 30 RMB. I preferred the more rural setting, rather than the hustle and bustle of (in my opinion, overly touristy) Yangshuo, but if you want to be in town, this place is probably a bit out of the way for you. We walked into town one day and it took about 45 minutes. This area is really nice to just walk around and explore.

Take note that this can be a little hard to find - the taxi dropped us off on the main road (parking lot with a basketball hoop just in front of a different inn/cafe) and you have to walk down the alley a little ways to get to the Outside Inn.

I highly recommend this inn to anyone looking for a relaxing experience in Yangshuo!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KD A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
1.6 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 483 in Yangshuo County
276 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Giggling Tree
The Giggling Tree
#2 of 450 in Yangshuo County
651 reviews
3.9 mi away
Yangshuo Village Inn
Yangshuo Village Inn
#3 of 450 in Yangshuo County
354 reviews
3 mi away
Yangshuo Sudder Street Guesthouse
Yangshuo Sudder Street Guesthous...
#5 of 450 in Yangshuo County
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Outside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Outside Inn

Address: Jima Chaolong Village, Yangshuo County, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 450 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range: £16 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Outside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Outside Inn - The Original Countryside Experience. The Outside Inn is a friendly small guesthouse with a unique character, located in a set of traditional farmhouses and an apartment building, ideally located just outside Yangshuo in a beautiful setting with lush gardens and the karst peaks right at your doorstep. The traditional farmhouses are renovated into comfortable rooms and family houses with western standards. Close to this complex of farmhouses is our apartment building with more modern family apartments and rooms. The Outside Inn offers guests a very quite place where you can experience the real traditional China. A stunning swimming spot at the Yulong River is a few minutes walk away and if you want total peace you can walk in 20 minutes to "The Lost World Plateau", a small field up one of the karst peaks where you are just by yourself surrounded by the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Yangshuo Outside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Outside Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing