We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, tranquil and phenomenal food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yangshuo Outside Inn
Ranked #4 of 443 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Outside Inn for a week and absolutely adored it. It is as rural and authentic a location as you could hope for, with chickens roaming around your feet at breakfast and the rooms all housed in old brick outhouses. We stayed in a first floor room overlooking the reception, which had a double bed and a single bed (crucially, with mosquito nets. Use them.), a wonderful wet room-style bathroom with shower (with hot water, for those travelling on a budget and wondering...) and a lovely little table by the window which we sat at in the evenings with a bottle of wine (local, if we'd overstretched our budget... not for the wine-connoisseurs).

The place has a very welcoming feel, helped by the lovely staff who will book taxis, recommend places to eat, draw maps for the adventurous (if they say a track 'might be hard to find', take them at their word) and generally help you find your feet. Given the rural location, it is a bit of a stroll to a neighbouring restaurant for dinner (although taxis are cheap and bikes can be hired by the day), but if you're interested then we highly recommend the Giggling Tree. However, the food at the Outside Inn was truly fantastic so don't feel obliged to stray! We had been in China for 4 weeks by this point, so any variation on noodles and dumplings may have been welcome, but we wholeheartedly recommend their pasta dishes. We also took their justifiably-popular cookery class on a rainy day.

You can organise all manner of day trips, but we either hiked or hired bikes for the day (available from receiption and they have plenty to choose from, including tandems) to explore the area. Obviously the countryside around Yangshuo is stunning, but we also loved foraging in the local markets and our day trips by bus to the surrounding villages. Be brave and take the local minibuses, which stop for anyone waving to them at strategic stones, speak no English and pick up people irrespective of whether they are 'full' in the conventional sense of the word.

The Outside Inn is the perfect base to explore the beautiful Yangshuo. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked the "Outside Inn" for our chilly springtime stay in the Yangshuo area and we were not dissappointed: having read the other reviews, we knew what we could expect - rural China (which we wanted), restored mudbrick houses. What we got was a nice, clean and spacious room with a/c, ensuite bath, a perfect bed, "all day" hot water shower - quite "luxurious" for a small chinese village.
Wendy and her staff were extremely friendly and helpful and spoilt us with tasty chinese food, hot ginger tea and a warm fireplace when coming home from our cycling excursions.

What else can we say?! Thanks! A perfect stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKKAnaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have been to Yangshuo before and the town has exploded in tourism. the good thing about that is that there is more and more choice in restaurants and there are more and more nicely styled shops, but it's also very crowded and noisy. The Outside Inn is beautifully located at the end of a small village, 5 km from Yangshuo. As crowded Yangshuo is, as quiet and peaceful Outside Inn is. Lovely staff that speak great English, cosy decorated rooms in traditional mud-brick buildings and also some more modern styled rooms and family suites in their apartment building.

A very friendly atmosphere and within a few minutes walk you're in the middle of the karst mountains without a sign of tourism! Ask them about "The lost world plateau" walk which brings you in just 20 minutes or so on a small field surrounded by the karst mountains. magical!

Room Tip: The rooms in the mudbrick buildings are very charming but don't have tv/dvd (which you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a great stay in Outsite inn. The superfriendly Dutch owner showed us around and gave us good tips for activities in the surroundings. You can go swimming in the Li River, go for a hike in the mountains behind the resort or rent a bike to enjoy.

The rooms in the resort are big, clean and comfortable. There are mosquito nets over the beds so the bugs won’t bother you at night. The resort has some good foods on the menu. When you are eating some friendly chickens stop by say hello.

We stayed for about a week, but wished we could have stayed longer. It felt like paradise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ko s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Hello, we really enjoyed our stay there, it is very quiet and peacefull there, since it is at the end of the village, so there is no traffic. Very good with children. And although it is in a small chinese village you have all the western comfort. Only the nights were a bit cold since we stayed end of December.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you repeat how wonderful spending 5 days at this hotel at the end of December was, there will be too many people in the future. So, if you're asked, please say it's ugly, badly located, noisy, in a 25-story highrise, with several highly-polluting factories around, more than 15 miles from the nearest river, with terrible food. Please do, so we can enjoy again one of our most relaxing vacations ever. We even left our 6.5-year old kid play by himself the whole morning and have the best time of his life while we were exploring the nearby trails and river.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We really appreciate this place. It has a very good organization and the location is perfect for biking, hiking and move around. The traditional construction is amazing and the villages near very beautiful to visit. We also had a very good and cheap Chinese lunch and really good western breakfast.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lapotanzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
2.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
626 reviews
3.2 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 483 in Yangshuo County
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Yangshuo Village Inn
Yangshuo Village Inn
#3 of 443 in Yangshuo County
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yangshuo Wada Hostel by Yulong River
Yangshuo Wada Hostel by Yulong R...
#3 of 53 in Yangshuo County
59 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Giggling Tree
The Giggling Tree
#2 of 443 in Yangshuo County
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Outside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Outside Inn

Address: Jima Chaolong Village, Yangshuo County, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 443 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range: £17 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Outside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Outside Inn - The Original Countryside Experience. The Outside Inn is a friendly small guesthouse with a unique character, located in a set of traditional farmhouses and an apartment building, ideally located just outside Yangshuo in a beautiful setting with lush gardens and the karst peaks right at your doorstep. The traditional farmhouses are renovated into comfortable rooms and family houses with western standards. Close to this complex of farmhouses is our apartment building with more modern family apartments and rooms. The Outside Inn offers guests a very quite place where you can experience the real traditional China. A stunning swimming spot at the Yulong River is a few minutes walk away and if you want total peace you can walk in 20 minutes to "The Lost World Plateau", a small field up one of the karst peaks where you are just by yourself surrounded by the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Yangshuo Outside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Outside Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing