We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yangshuo Village Retreat
Ranked #12 of 446 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a great experience!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed 7 nights in March 2014 following a visit to our son in Hong Kong. We were a little anxious about our first visit to China but we needn't have worried. Gerd responded immediately to my request to organise a taxi from Guilin Airport and from being greeted there with a sign with our names we never looked back. We had a lovely double aspect room looking out directly on the karst mountains. Gerd and his team gave us advise on and organised our trips which went on the bill. They couldn't have been more helpful and although we at in Yangshuo for variety or because we were in town nothing matched the hotel restaurant with its choice of chinese and western dishes.
The hotel is in a village outside Yangshou but it is an easy walk into town along the Li river and they run a courtesy bus if that is too much.
Gerd and Jenny take time out to talk with guests and we had some great conversations with them. We hope that by now their third child has arrived safely. Their story is amazing and well worth hearing! We wish them every success with their future plans in this very beautiful part of the world and hopefully will get back there someday!
Dave and Anj Martin

Room Tip: Request a Mountain View double aspect room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    85
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
68
104
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My friends and I recently rented the penthouse suite and had the most amazing holiday! Staff are friendly and helpful and food is reasonably priced! The receptionists were friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English!We will definitely return!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Donlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The service and personnel of this hotel are great. The food at the restaurant is good and prices are very reasonable. But the rooms need renovation. Cleanliness needs to be improved. We stayed there in winter and it was very cold inside. Hopefully there are electric blankets which keep you warm when sleeping. Although prices of the rooms were more than reasonable, but let' s say that regarding the quality of the service, you are expecting more from the rooms. I supposed than if it was summer, the stay would have been more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melaniemei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Comfortable, clean, affordable room. The restaurant was very good. The people at the reservation desk were very friendly, spoke good English and were very helpful when we wanted to venture around the countryside. They had plenty of choices in excursions to choose from. The shuttle was very helpful when we wanted to go into town. They have bicycles to use for the hour or day. We had a very good experience here. The biggest plus for us was when we reserved a room they arranged a driver to pick us up at Guilin airport at 11:30pm and take us to Yangshuo Village Retreat and already had the room ready for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combloux, France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The biggest positive is the great, friendly welcome and help that we received during our stay from the owner, Gerd, and all his team. Gerd is Belgian and speaks perfect English. The food was very good. The rooms are somewhat unusual but large and very good on a value for money basis. Refurbishment work is being undertaken on some of the rooms and we believe the accommodation will go from strength to strength. It is located about a 15 minute walk from the town centre, in a quiet village. The walk into town is pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RASHFORD740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinalunga, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Comfortable and cozy room. Clean and spacious too! Lovely environment and surrounding. With lots of greenery. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was nice and i really enjoyed the food there. And they are quite near to west street. just a 15 mins walk away. And you can enjoy a great view while walking towards the town. Relaxing too!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My wife and i stayed 4 nights at the village retreat, and true to their word, they quickly arranged to pick us up when we arrived at the Yangshou bus terminal in a nice aircond vehicle.
The site is about 20 minuites walk from town, and we picked it for the quiet and relaxed atmosphere correctly described by other users.
The room was quite adequet, with good hot water and toilet facilities, and was quite comfortable. The in house restaurant was good, and the food good value. During our stay my wife became ill, not from anything at the lodge, but from something before we arrived here. I must say that the concern of the front desk staff was genuine in wanting to assist, and the restaurant staff, without any prompting cooked and brought up to the room some soup especially made for her, which was much appreciated, a very genuine act.
The front desk staff also did much to assist me to rearrange my itinary and flights due to my wifes illness, and I could not have asked for greater help
The only problem with the distance from town was when walking back to the hotel the are no lights of any sort along the road, and we were in pitch dark conditions and could only see the road edge by using our phones for illumination.
All in all though we had a good time there, and congratulate the staff on their attentivr and helpful actions during our stay, which also included booking our trips etc. Well done

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.6 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 446 in Yangshuo County
1,068 reviews
0.4 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#7 of 446 in Yangshuo County
444 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 446 in Yangshuo County
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 446 in Yangshuo County
591 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 446 in Yangshuo County
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#15 of 446 in Yangshuo County
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Village Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Village Retreat

Property: Yangshuo Village Retreat
Address: Shi Ban Qiao Village,45, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 446 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yangshuo Village Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Yangshuo Village Retreat, an established 4-star Belgian-Chinese family retreat in the beautiful and peaceful countryside near Yangshuo, Guilin, China. We provide a free shuttle service to town all day per comfortable mini-van that takes you to the heart of Yangshuo in 5 minutes. For longer stays we offer every 7th night free of charge! Located in a quiet village, nestled in between mountains, rice paddies and citrus trees, our Yangshuo hotel offers the perfect base to explore the countryside, its rural features and amazing scenery, and provides the ideal environment to sit back, relax, and enjoy the idyllic landscape Yangshuo is famous for, with the comforts of home. And with only a beautiful walk along the Li-river bank to Yangshuo’s main shopping and entertainment area, the Yangshuo Village Retreat might have the best location of all Yangshuo hotels… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Yangshuo Village Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing