We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Ranked #17 of 475 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We have a lovely stay here for four days. Amazing scenery, lovely breakfast and great people.
Mountain bike riding is a must to experience the real Yangshuo and its great scenic views and local villages.
The hospitality and kindness shown by Jan and Anita has been outstanding. We hightly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: the river view room with balcony is very nice
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Yangshuo Dongling Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

we stayed at the resort for three nights and despite the fact that it was raining on and off almost the whole time we were in yangshuo, we loved it. we'd reserved a standard room w/ a garden view, but were given a room in the new section with a river/mountain view w/ no price increase. the resort is located about a ten minute cab ride outside of town. it worked for us because we wanted a quiet and relaxed retreat after mostly city traveling in china. we hid out and rested in the quiet of our room and the resort during the day and headed into town at night for dinner. the restaurant onsite is also very accommodating with a lot of food choices if you don't feel like leaving. we didn't find the seclusion a problem - the front desk was very good about ordering cabs for us and we didn't find it problematic finding ones in town that would take us back for 30 rmb. the staff, as mentioned by others, is wonderful (though maybe a little overwhelmed when there are a lot of guests in the restaurant for breakfast!) and very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skirtandsupersuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Dongling Resort is a perfect place for someone who likes to stay near Yangshou but not in Yangshou (a noisy and very touristic city), who loves a quiet and cosy sourroundings and who wants to recover from an exhausting day of hiking or cycling.
The rooms (take the rooms with view) are spacious, simple and clean, the staff is super-friendly, helpful and speaks a decent English. We stayed there for three days and got everything we wanted - advice for nice tours&massages, dinners at 10 pm (even though the kitchen was already closed), bikes for rent and fair taxi arrangements.

As said - the place is a bit outside the city. However, taxis from the hotel bring you to the city for around 3,5 Euros. Back to the hotel you need to bargain with the drivers but at the end you shouldn't pay more than 4 Euros. Walking to the city is a bit long but worth as you cross Li River with a Bamboo boat!

All in all a highly recommendable place for some relaxing days around Yangshou!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieClyde2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I am writing this review as I stay my last night at this fabulous place. It is a family business and it was a joy to stay here for 4 days. The most important thing is that everyone is really nice and goes the extra mile to satisfy you and address all your requests. The views speak for themselves, it's just lovely. I was getting fed up with Chinese food after traveling for a while in China but when I got here, everything changed. The food, cooked by the family mother, was divine.
The bathroom was great, with a very nice shower. The room was very comfortable and with great views from our private balcony.
It felt like staying home, everything was great and they also helped us incredibly with tips, maps, and long descriptions of what to do and go outside the beaten track. Only small remarks would be that the bikes that they rent could be in better condition and that the television did not have any English speaking channel. Overall it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noyoudont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I only explainations I can think of why this place has such high rating is 1) most of the reviews are written by Chinese travelers (probably backpackers since compare to Guilin, not so many people actually stay overnight in Yangshuo) 2) for the price of under $50, I guess one really doesn't expect too much, and perhaps this extremely low expectation made the actual impression ok.

Objectively, I think it is a 2-star place. (maybe a 3 star if the bathroom doesn't stink so badly) It looks nice and all on the photos, but in real life, all the details are overlooked. cheap tiles (imprinted with wooden pattern) throughout the room. in fact not only the toilet stinks, the water from the faucet also stink! I had to brush my teeth with bottled mineral water....

The other place I considered was Mountain retreat. but the local guide I hired told me Dongling and Mountain retreat are 2 comparable places, similar in every aspect. But when we were rafting down one of the rivers, i saw a beautiful resort (a real resort, not just the single building as Dongling is). That looks like a place that would suit much better my taste. But sorry to report that I don't remember the name.

whever you stay, think twice about Dongling. look at the tripadvisor rating with a grain of salt.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zc12_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is a beautifully located hotel on the top of a hill partially overlooking Yangshuo and directly opposite from the "Domestic" ferry pier (where the cheaper boats dock and tourists are forced to walk along a long corridor with merchants). It has its own grounds that are large and in a sort of garden setting (it was originally a relaxation resort for cadres from town and the older part still has this feel). The newer rooms are also very nice with their own balconies (the older rooms leave much to be desired but will be renovated later this year).

There are three major drawbacks. While beautifully located, it is very isolated on top of the mountain. No other food options, and often the restaurant is out of certain things (and there is no Western food or snacks, etc.; also no small shop to buy things like snacks). The road up is not paved but gravel. Having one's own transport is really the best means to stay there (taxis are at least RMB 30 one way to town and catching one in town can be difficult since drivers try to get RMB 50 or refuse to go up the road). So, the best option is renting a motorcycle. With experience traversing the steep gravel road is no problem, but not recommended otherwise. So, the isolation is a big drawback (there is also not much to explore around the hotel by foot unless you are willing to hike down to the river; certainly nothing on par with the hotels located along the Yulong River and around Moon Hill).

The second point is that the water source for the hotel is a well that can be influenced by big rainfall (the water turns brown in color). Finally, the hotel is family managed, so to say, with many students (or distant young relatives) helping out. So, this is certainly not a professionally managed place, but the staff, especially the managers, really really try. Extremely helpful and friendly.

I would recommend this hotel for shorter stays just to get the feeling of being up on a hill in this wonderful environment (different angle to look at the craigs) and to those who do not mind the isolation/taxi rides or have motorcycling skills.

PS: unfortunately no swimming pool - it would be wonderful to have this up on the mountain in the heat of the summer:-)

Room Tip: Try to stay in the newer rooms (more expensive) which overlook partially the river, and have very ni...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 288WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We chose the Dongling for what we hoped would be amazing views. (Isn't that the point of going to Yangshuo?) We weren't disappointed. From our balcony, and the lush surrounding gardens, we could see the gorgeous karst mountains, the Li River and West street off in the distance. Being a family of four, with our two sons, we chose the Deluxe Suite. Our room was immaculate with plenty of space. Anita and Jan were wonderful in helping us with planning day trips and taxi service. Anita's mother makes amazing handmade noodles which we ordered everyday... a must try. Jan showed us the new wing about to open. All of the rooms had first rate views.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MistyBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
2.8 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 475 in Yangshuo County
1,093 reviews
3.9 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 475 in Yangshuo County
610 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 475 in Yangshuo County
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#6 of 475 in Yangshuo County
463 reviews
3.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 475 in Yangshuo County
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#21 of 475 in Yangshuo County
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Dongling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Dongling Resort

Address: Hillside Dongling Road, Yangshuo Town | Yangshuo, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#13 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: £28 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Dongling Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Yangshuo Dongling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Dongling Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing