We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service. Bad restaurant.”
Review of Yangshuo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yangshuo Resort
Ranked #25 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good landscaping and gardens by the river. That's the only valuable point.
Expensive and very poor quality, specially the restaurant. The dishes they serve have nothing to do with the description and photographs. Servise no professional at all.
Long distances to rooms.
It is not a five star luxe, as priced and described in marketing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranciscoG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked thru booking .com first 3 days for 2 rooms and following that 2 more days for 2 rooms.
When we checked in reception did not have our 2nd reservation. I gave them my reservation numbers for both reservation they refuse to listen. Weather was very hot no air condition working in the reception area. Finally they agreed to check us in after half an hour. They advertise smoke free resort but when we checked in the room there was an ashtray in the room. Service at the restaurants are very poor. Workers do not seem they have much experience . Beds are like rock very hard I had hard time sleeping. Also there was very strong cigarette smell, coming thru air conditioning system(I think) until 2 am. For breakfast buffet , almost everything had pork. If you are Islam or Jewish you will have hard time to find anything to eat.Did I mentioned a lot of Mosquitos .
Good thing we were out of hotel everyday for site seeing.

Room Tip: Suit is double price which is not much different than regular room. It is not smart to get suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdo1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were guests of the hotel for 1 night following a Li River cruise. Our goal was to see what was reputed to be a gorgeous part of the country, bamboo raft on the river, and see the much lauded Impression Sanjie Liu show.

Our travel agent's ground agents, located in Guilin, said this was the very best hotel in the area and one that would be suitable for our requisites.

The hotel's location and the property are magnificent. There are views of the river and part of the property is right beside a karst. We particularly liked sitting directly alongside the river at one of the hotel's bars.

We were upgraded to a beautiful corner suite that had a huge master suite with large soaking tub, TV , separate shower and water closet. There is a privacy issue. The bathroom is enclosed by a curtain, so it works only for those in an intimate relationship or travelling with someone who vacates the room while others are using the facilities.

There was also a generous living room with another TV, and powder room. The balcony was off the living room and had the most amazing views of the river. We could have spent hours on that balcony, sipping wine, reading, and watching the rafts go by. We regret that we had only the one night.

There were issues, however. The walls of the powder room in our suite had many stains. We shudder to think what they might be. The hotel admits to turning off the air conditioning at various times throughout the day. There were times when are room was a sauna and unbearably hot. We had the breakfast buffet included in our room rate. It was fine but lacked the variety of other properties we stayed in during our month long visit to China. We also had dinner in the same restaurant. The food was OK. Service was tentative. It could get old pretty quickly if one stayed for more than a couple of days.

Service generally is not the hotel's strong suit. I understand that this is a more rural area and there are staffing challenges, but even the front desk lacked grace. We did not feel particularly welcomed.

This hotel has the potential to be an excellent one, but it does require some significant fixes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fearful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This could easily be a four star resort, the natural beauty of the grounds, the sound of the water fall on the river, the surrounding karst mountains, what more could you ask for.......the restaurants at night are open but vacant of staff....after we had finally been served our ham and cheese sandwich which we waited for over an hour we were told "we didn't have deposit to charge meal to room".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linjo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Okay the hotel itself and the property is absolutely beautiful. There are walkways around the property and along the river that are just marvelous. BUT. The staff is a disaster. Someone explained it as "the left hand does not know what the right hand is doing" and that could not have been truer. The restaurant was awful. We were the only people there and they took an eternity to come back to take our order. Then a good hour to make dinner. Which were 3 ham and cheese sandwiches. They had no idea how to charge the dinner to the room and insisted we pay on the spot. Other places around the hotel had no problem charging to the room.

Room Tip: Don't lose your room key or they will charge you for it! Also, carry money with you because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a room with a river front view, albeit most rooms would have a lovely aspect with some water view.
Our room was in block nine, not a problem for us as it was very quiet and a long way from the main building.
We found the large bed to be very firm, too hard for a supposed five star hotel.
The coffee by the river, extremely expensive, 106 yuan for two lattes, $8-9 for a coffee, it would have to be good, but it wasn't.
Rooms were very spacious, certainly a pleasant environment to spend a day or two, but for us, it is time to leave China.

Room Tip: Block nine on the third floor with a riverfront view, very peaceful, enjoy the walk by the river for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fvm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What a gorgeous resort. The location could be right out of a Chinese brush painting. My only regret is that we could only spend one night here. It's a place to relax and enjoy the beauty and serenity.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10,911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
5.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 483 in Yangshuo County
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
#17 of 483 in Yangshuo County
25 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
#12 of 483 in Yangshuo County
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,134 reviews
3.9 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#5 of 483 in Yangshuo County
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Resort

Address: North side of the Gongnong Bridge, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Yangshuo County
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangshuo County
#25 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: £80 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Yangshuo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Yangshuo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing