We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel I've stayed in, in Yangshuo”
Review of Charming Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charming Inn
Ranked #171 of 446 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel I've stayed in, in Yangshuo”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

This hotels pictures on the website don't match with what it really looks like. Rooms are super tiny. The man in reception was very nice. But it is located just off west street so SUPER noisy the whole night. Not very nice if you have driven for 8 hours to get here. Booked for 2 nights but did not stay for 2 nights. And completely over priced.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashpash24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
4
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent a Saturday and Sunday here in mid-Sept after four nights in a more rural location. 120RMB a night, seemed like good value for such a central location. Room was decent size, clean and well-appointed. En-suite Western toilet and shower. The owner was helpful, renting us bikes and helping us book tai chi lessons. It is a small place with no bar or anything but you are in central Yangshuo so that's not really an issue. We were right on the top floor facing away from the street, it was quiet and had a great view over the rooftops of the old town.

Room Tip: Try to get one that doesn't face the street. We were right at the top, which is a pain with suit...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Charming inn is located at a fantastic place on west street. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Jack was nice and arranged for us to watch the light show at a good price. Couldn't access Facebook even though that is part of the ad which was ok not having fb of awhile is ok. We were up on the 4th floor which had an interesting view but it was a nice room. I didn't particularly like the bathroom but hot water for the shower was a good thing. Well done jack and stay friendly!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed at charming inn from the 25 January 2013 to 27 January 2013. We booked 3 rooms for two nights. The owner of Charming Inn, Mr. Jack is really nice and charming. He is friendly, kind and most helpful. It is a small and cosy place, with a very excellent location. Located just right in the middle of all the happening and yet it is just away from all the hustle and bustle. Just a few steps out from the main entrance you are already right on the happening street of West Street. The pricing for the rooms are most reasonable.

The rooms are decorated very attractively and it was definitely comfy and all of us had a great stay there.

We also would like to thank Jack for such wonderful stay at Yangshu.

Definitely would recommend Charming Inn to budget travelers.

Room Tip: Try to get the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianakpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangshuo County hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Things we liked: Good location, room was fairly clean.

Thing we didn't like: Room was very noisy and bathroom smelt bad. Also, the owner - he completely tried to rip us off by adding some '15% service charge' to our stay. I was having none of it and refused to pay the extra as we had booked through hostelbookers. After this, he was very unfriendly and made us feel uncomfortable. We planned to stay for 5 nights but left after 2 - and got a room for much better value with a lovely balcony.

Room Tip: One away from the street may be quieter - but will be dark as they look straight on to a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharpysharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charminginnjack, Owner at Charming Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
I`m so sorry, my mistake .I mixed you up with the other two guests who book our room from booking .com .Cause the 15% of service charge is not included from booking.com. We never rip off our guests .please trust me .I was very tried that day ,I didn`t do anything unfriendly to you .The West Street is always very busy ,that`s why the tourist like The West Street. Thank you for comment.
Jack
Yangshuo Charming Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The Location is very central just a few seconds from the main strip which makes it easy to pop out. My room was very clean and you get the feeling that they have made a real effort to make the place nice (something that is sadly lacking in most of China). Wi Fi was good. Lastly the owner Jack was a legend and spoke good English which is a godsend in this country

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JohnJo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I've stayed in Yangshuo for 2 nights at the beginning of my one month trip in China. I do not speak any form of Chinese...
Jack has been most kind and helpful. He showed a lot of knowledge of the area and helped me a lot: whether it was walking with me to look for a traveller's book, trying to book stuff online, taking me to the right bus, booking tours of the area, etc.
Plus this hostel has FACEBOOK access!!!!!
and WIFI (:
Really recommended

Room Tip: contact Jack via email - he'll respond asap
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergirl717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
2.9 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 446 in Yangshuo County
228 reviews
2.5 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 446 in Yangshuo County
1,068 reviews
4.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 446 in Yangshuo County
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 446 in Yangshuo County
591 reviews
3.3 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 446 in Yangshuo County
290 reviews
4.0 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#7 of 446 in Yangshuo County
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming Inn

Property: Charming Inn
Address: West Street, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 446 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Charming Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facebook works in our computers!!!Perfect location! Excellent service! Fair price! All at Charming Inn.CHARMING INN is located downtown at West Street, 5 minute walk from the bus station, and 5 minute walk to the Li river .All our rooms have a private bathroom with western style toilet, 24-hour hot water, air-conditioning/heating, and a television.There is a great view from the rooms, all are very quiet , clean and comfortable. Some of our rooms have a private balcony.In our lobby you can use the internet for free. All common areas & rooms have Wi-Fi. We speak very good English and can help you with all your needs.We even have a laundry service .So Whether you travel to YangShuo with your family or for relaxation by yourself, choose the CHARMING INN! It will be a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Charming Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing