We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain View Retreat
Ranked #81 of 479 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I went to Yangshuo for 3 days with some of my university friends last week. At first I was a bit hesitant as I have read both good and bad reviews for this hotel. However I really wanted to stay here as it is close to many attractions such as Moon Mountain and the mud baths, and at a reasonable price.

I was really glad that I chose this hotel. The staff are really nice, especially the receptionist Sam who was very warm and nice to us. The other staff are very interesting including a man called Ao Bama (Obama) who actually looks a bit like the president himself. The food was also really nice and the waitresses all are nice and speaks very good English. I feel that the bad reviews of this place is wrong as I have enjoyed a memorable stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CHRIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huo you l, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Chris,

Thanks for such a kind review. We really pride ourselves on the friendliness and welcoming nature of our staff and so we're glad to hear that you had such a pleasant stay.

Best regards and looking forward to seeing you again in Yangshuo,

Ao Li
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

I had stayed at the hotel for 3 days. the staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was more than satisfaction even for a foreigner like me. The hotel also has really good views. Love it, definitely going to come back here next time, I visit CHina

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huo you l, Owner at Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you sir for your reply. I am really glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and our view of the local mountains. I sincerely welcome you to stay at our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I had stayed at this place for just a few hours but totally were happy with the foods. They provided us with some good foods, especially fish cooked with beer. My cousin order one thing shed never tried before which is chicken cooked in bamboo tube and it turned out to be more than expected. I strongly recommend u guys try them if u have chances to get there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huo you l, Owner at Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Thank you very much for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay and food at our hotel. We sincerely welcome you to stay at our hotel again and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The hotel beside several attractions in Yangshuo, like moon hill, Darongshu etc.But not peaceful enough because it's besides the road. There are no POS? May be it like a rural home inns more than hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etripchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huo you l, Owner at Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Thank you for your reply and I am glad you enjoyed the convenience of our position. I sincerely apologise for the noise of the road as again the roads are supposed to be much quieter as trucks are banned as this is a national nature area, unfortunately this isn't enforced properly. As for POS, we do have POS both at reception and at the bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel is next to the main road crossing big trucks, therefore very noisy. Above this all a 100 men force of Chinese working men having a day out came to have dinner in the restaurant. Producing a lot of noise. The rooms are oke, beds sleep conformable. The overall location is only semi good for a day trip biking along the river, although there are numerous hotels along the river with is more quiete and have a better starting point for the trip. The breakfast is very basic, regular coffee or thee and an egg with toast and jam. No extras. The food in the restaurant is expensive and nothing special. Do no go here is you also want to enjoy a beer and the sunset. The view of this hotel is also highly overrated. Also the day tours offered at te reception desk are overpriced. Other people taking the same tour booked elsewhere ended up paying 30% less.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Freek25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huo you l, Owner at Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

I sincerely apologise for your poor stay at Mountain View Retreat but I feel your review is slightly unfair. Our hotel is next to a main road due to convenience. Officially the government has banned trucks here due to environmental and tourist reasons however it is not enforced properly. I apologise for the dinner last night as it was a government sponsored event because our area is very popular with the view and food. We agreed beforehand with them that the event should close at 9.30pm however they didn't follow that time and ended at 11pm, we couldn't have done anything about this sorry.
Our breakfast to you was free as part of the stay hence the choices were very limited for your price, however we do have a larger choice for paying customers. The restaurant's price is actually typical of Yangshuo as the city is a very touristy area therefore prices are higher than normal. As for the tours, we try to look after our guests by using official tour guides which are safe, legal and with insurance hence their prices are slightly higher. However we do also provide cheaper tours however they tend to be unsafe and illegal hence we tend to not suggest them to customers
Thank you for your review, and I have noted your objections and we will make sure that future stays here will be better accommodated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Me and my family were extremely happy to have stayed here during our summer holiday. The staffs were very helpful and responsive, the room was also comfortably very large. We also find the food very delicious. Couldn't ask for more for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I went for a short holiday a month ago with my friends to relax before yet another stressful semester of university studies. And I was more than surprised! Magnificent view, GOOD value for money and hospitality at its best! The staff is really trying to make you feel comfortable and you are experiencing rural China, while enjoying the most of the luxury that this hotel can offer. Definitely recommended. Thank you for such great holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luan_cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.8 mi away
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
#21 of 479 in Yangshuo County
10 reviews
3.8 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 479 in Yangshuo County
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 479 in Yangshuo County
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 479 in Yangshuo County
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
#16 of 479 in Yangshuo County
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 479 in Yangshuo County
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Retreat

Address: Sangaoyuan, Moon Moutain Scenic Spot, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 479 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: £20 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Retreat is a newly opened, family run retreat. Situated in the beautiful countryside amongst the amazing Karst peaks of Yangshuo. We have 24 luxury villas all decorated in Chinese style but to high western standards.Our adjoining farms provide produce for our organic restaurant where you can enjoy both Chinese and Western food. You can venture into our strawberry fields and pick strawberries to enjoy with chilled champagne in your private whirlpool bath. Or take advantage of the passion fruit vines overhanging our restaurant.We have extensive travel services and local knowledge, bike rental and a pool and table tennis table. If you're looking to escape from city life, Yangshuo Mountain View Retreat is the perfect getaway. Perched near the Moon Hill Park and surrounded by towering limestone peaks, you'll experience views that have inspired poets and artists for millennia. Built with great considerations for feng-shui, here you can enjoy the beauty of nature, tradition and local culture in harmony. We can help you organize activities like cycling, hiking, rock climbing, bamboo rafting, Chinese cooking lessons, kung fu and Tai Chi lessons, and lots of other excursions. Our staff can arrange taxis, tickets to the Sound and Light Show, as well as train, bus and plane tickets.No matter how small the detail might be, we are here to make your experience at Mountain View Retreat one that you will want to come back to and to tell your friends about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Mountain View Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing