We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Simply Best place in the Yangshou Valley, The very best!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stone Bridge-Home Sweet Home in the Valley
Ranked #8 of 410 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Vernon, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Simply Best place in the Yangshou Valley, The very best!!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Since arriving home after spending 25 days traveling in china I've looked forward to writing a review of The Stone Bridge Home Sweet Home in the Valley. It’s rare when ones expectations are exceeded by your experience. So let me state my feelings as clearly as possible: This was the highlight of my entire time in China. The Stone Bridge combines the best of two Worlds 1) Western comfortable accommodations & 2) while being surrounded by the most incredible natural scenery that the Eastern world has to offer. Steve and Jessi have combined the nice touches found in a 4-5 star hotel and the freedom of a youth hostel. That is the joy of finding out something out on your own is the adventure of traveling. So don’t expect any hand holding but the attitude of independent self exploration is encouraged here, and before you leave make sure to take the provided bikes out for a ride in the nearby country side. It’s the number one method of commuting the 10 minutes back and forth to Yangzhou but be sure to take jessi’s up on her offer of head- lamps, especially when returning after the sun set as there are actually stars visible (no street lights) and frogs singing (you are surrounded by nature). It’s amazing what can be found only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of city life. If I could have stayed longer I would have as I found 4 nights to be a minimum and I recommend at least this much time. It is reassuring and comforting to know that there is truth in their Name “Home Sweet Home in the Valley” When I want to escape from the hectic daily pace I just close my eyes and dream of returning to the Yangshou valley and a visit with Jessi and Ah Long (Steve).

Room Tip: Headlamps are a must for returning home after bark and they are provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjmccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    12
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
59
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stone Bridge was an amazing experience and allowed us to see a different side of Yang Shuo. The owners Jessie and Ah Long fast became good friends and were instrumental in making our stay such a memorable one.

The location of Stone Bridge initially seemed like quite a way out of town. But we soon realised it only takes about 15 minutes to cycle from the guesthouse into town, so it still is in a very convenient location. The room and toilet we had were simple, comfortable and exceptionally clean (the cleanest I've seen in all the guesthouses/ B&Bs that I've stayed in!) Jessie and Ah Long can arrange day trips and other tourist attractions at a good deal. While some might prefer booking trips themselves and might even sometimes find better deals outside, I recommend to just book through the guesthouse because they can guarantee the quality of the trip. Chinese tricksters are more than plentiful and are always on the look out for unsuspecting tourists. The area also makes for some good exploring on your own and people are friendly.

Breakfast is available (Yes, do try the muesli - all the other reviewers are raving about it with good reason), and if you want other meals you would have to tell Jessie in advance. Bicycle rental and laundry service is available too.

We came on this trip looking for some respite from the big city, and we got exactly what we were looking for and more. Lounging outside on the porch at sunset every day provided us with some excellent conversations (and sunsets) plus the other guests at the Stone Bridge are a wonderful bunch. Nightly cycles in the dark, though slightly unsettling at first, made for a good (safe) adventure and if you're lucky you might even get to see fireflies along the way! Stone bridge is a good place to meet new people, while at the same time offering you as much privacy as you might want.There is tons of fresh air out here and at night all you'd hear are bullfrogs and crickets - aside from the one or two scooters driving past.

Jessie and Ah Long have created something wonderful here at Stone Bridge, thank you!

* Do bring sunscreen/ sun protection and lots of insect repellent!

Room Tip: If possible, try to get the rooms that face the West, there is a stunning view of the mountains and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This Hostel was absolutely perfect! It's very clean, well kept, and the owners give phenomenal service! They are a very friendly couple! The location is great and in a beautiful area. Right outside of the shopping area which is a lot more peaceful and feels like you are in real China. This honestly does not feel like a hostel, but more of a very cheap hotel. The price was more than reasonable! It's too nice to be considered a hostel! It seriously made the trip even more enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brook35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olpe, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This guesthouse is an amazing place. There is a great atmosphere. When you stay in yangshuo you should definately go to this place. Its a little bit outside but more quiet then in the city. Thx for the nice stay.:-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank freerider20010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The facility itself (room, furniture, bathroom, building) is 2-star quality which can be expected as this is a B&B.

The reason to go here are the owners who are really helpful and friendly. We got some awesome hints and advice from them.

They rent bicycles at a reasonable price which is something I recommend as it makes getting everywhere a lot easier, there are some really great nature spots in the areas surrounding Yangshuo. Another service that really comes in handy is laundry which they do at a good price even on a short notice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kkirjala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonebridgeyangshuo, Owner at The Stone Bridge-Home Sweet Home in the Valley, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
2 Star? a little harsh but fair enough :)
we do have a simple village building with basic furnishings but its quiet, safe, clean, the rooms are big, no huge and the bathrooms must be the biggest in Guangxi.
This is where Great Value comes in, we are priced accordingly, as the rooms lack character and opulence this is reflected in the room price, you do get comfort , all be it in a simple style, :) & at a great price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel delivered everything good we saw on the reviews. It is clean, the rooms are really fine, the staff is amazing and helpful.

However, the location only suits those who really want to stay away from the noise and turbulent center of the city. It takes about 20 minutes walking to get from the center to the hotel, which can be painful in the hotness of Yangshuo, specially if you are carrying stuff. Also the way at night is completely dark, there is no light at all. So if you go there by walking, it turns into a little adventure to walk completely blind. If I didn't know where it was and a taxi driver was driving me there at night I would think he was kidnapping me. Anyway, if none of these bother you, stay there. Apart from the location, we had an amazing stay.

One more thing. Actually the staff was really helpful explaining everything we wanted to know about the city and the main attractions, but they repeatedly told us that their hostel prices for tours and sight seeing tickets were generally the best, that the average prices were higher and so on. Turns out that we walked a little around the city and found better prices than theirs. Actually in the first agency we stepped in, they offered 25% less than what the hotel offered us saying it was a great deal. So I would recommend that you research prices a little bit before accepting their tours, mainly if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroRSilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonebridgeyangshuo, Owner at The Stone Bridge-Home Sweet Home in the Valley, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello and thanks for your input on visit to Shibanqiao village.
Very glad that you had a comfortable time at our place, but regarding the distance from town, we are 2 k from town and its clearly stated on the "description" here on Tripadviser and on the Booking agents websites, one must either choose to stay in town with all the convenience that goes with it or choose to stay out of town in a quiet village setting.
Prices vary hugely on everything in China, cheeky agents will try and sell anything and everything at all different prices. We are a registered Hostel and we co operate with the Govt Tourism Dept. and only use Official ticket sellers to obtain tickets for our guests, guests are free to "bargain" with the touts in town and secure tickets to shows on their own or guest may choose to buy tickets from us, we are able to offer good deals on tickets and tours in Yangshuo. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanning, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Anybody looking to stay in a nice cool mountain valley with a sparse population, out of town but not so far out of town that you can;'t walk there in ten minutes, should try this place. Owners are warm, homely people, speak both Chinese and English fluently. Rooms are clean and big and simple. Very peaceful on the balcony. Woz ere wiv Anna, 2013.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamkamkamstien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 438 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#8 of 438 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 438 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#14 of 438 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 438 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
3.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 438 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone Bridge-Home Sweet Home in the Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone Bridge-Home Sweet Home in the Valley

Property: The Stone Bridge-Home Sweet Home in the Valley
Address: No.26 Shibanqiao Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 410 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stone Bridge "Home Sweet Home in the Valley"Are you looking for the Countryside Experience in China? YANGSHUO has it -Glorious Karst Mountains set in rural farmland. The town of Yangshuo is a typical Chinese town, it’s vibrant and busy both day and nights. Days are the time for exploring the area in all its wonders and the nights are for eating drinking and having a great time. When it’s time to rest and get a peaceful night’s sleep, it’s time to leave Yangshuo’s rather loud club and party noise and Escape to the quiet Village of ShiBanQiao aka Stone Bridge Village. 20 min walk from West St / 5 min bike ride / 2 k north of town and your home :)Once well rested and after a terrific breakfast, hosts Jessy and ahLong are only too happy to hand out advise on local and regional travel. Anything you have come to see and do, your hosts can assist with, such as buying tickets/tours/bike hire/laundry and so on. Local knowledge from long time China residents fluent in English and Chinese. This Aussie couple runs by far the tidiest/cleanest hostel in China with recognition from Tripadvisor with 2 x Travelers Choice Awards 2013 & 2014 and from HostelBookers for Best Value 2013.There are 9 rooms in total, so we are a small husband and wife operation who personally take care of all your needs so that your visit to Yangshuo was the highlight of your China holiday.With an Eco Friendly approach to running the building we set examples in reducing our environmental footprint, we work to keep Yangshuo clean and beautiful for you to enjoy. Relax in our Deluxe or Ex. Deluxe rooms in a spotlessly clean B&B / Homestay Type guesthouse. We have closed our dorm rooms and rearranged the room layouts to offer more and better choice to you, the Special Guest. The Stone Bridge treats everyone with extra care and can arrange rooms to suit you. Rooms have rice paddy views and mountains or village and mountain range views, Ex. Deluxe rooms have an outside balcony. All rooms have reverse air conditioners and the western styled bathrooms are a pleasurable surprise. The rooms have free Wi-Fi, soft beds, rain shower with hot water, towels and shampoo/body wash is supplied. A wardrobe for your belongings and coffee free (1st night Only), a kettle is supplied to make boiling water for food/drinks and you may eat in your room. We do have a small kitchen on the ground floor serving breakfast, lunch and dinner-a mixture of Western and or Chinese food. Other food /snacks should be obtained in town before coming home as there is NO store in the village. We however are stocked with F&B and open for breakfast at 8am till 10am. Great sandwiches and snacks can be enjoyed all day and dinner is a family styled sit together where usually, a Local styled Chinese meal is served, often it’s a mix of local, Cantonese and western food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Stone Bridge-Home Sweet Home in the Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing