We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just enjoy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Secret Garden is a place which you will enjoy from the beginning to the end! Reservations of room and transfer via email works perfectly, hospitality very friendly, communication in English without any problems, rooms excellent value for money, cuisine stunning (we had the chinese), organization on site of outings within 1 h! I can only recommend this place if you just want to spend a few days surrounded by wonderful nature and relax completely.
Keep it up, you have done a great job!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MakeawishandDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you so much. We are all pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here last week and absolutely loved it. So peaceful. This hotel has a lot of character - it is made up of several gorgeous little renovated houses in the village which are 'blocked off' of sorts and have cute little gardens and places to sit built between. The room we had was a comfortable, and super clean, albeit a little dark. However the beautiful grounds and many nooks for sitting in outside more than made up for this. The western breakfast was delicious (by China standards) and great value. We loved that the team organised everything for us and it all went smoothly, allowing us to just sit back and enjoy the experience. We were really happy to stay outside of Yangshuo: to enjoy the peace and quiet, wander around the village taking pictures and also riding bikes further afield. It was a truly restorative experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Myself and the rest of the Secret Garden team are so glad that you enjoyed your peaceful stay in our lovely village. We all hope you find the time to visit us again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Location: fantastic. It's in a small village surrounded by mountains and paddy fields, far away from the madness of Yangshuo City. The Yulong River is within walking distance. We went to the city twice but found we hadn't missed anything. It's noisy, annoying and full of tourists.

Property: Beautifully restored old buildings and gardens.

Rooms: We had two rooms and both were tastefully decorated. Beds were comfortable enough. Watch out for mosquitoes and spiders. This is countryside after all. The bathrooms are rather plain compared to the bedrooms. The door to the shower was a sliding metal door. Well, it didn't really slide since it got jammed all the time, so we gave up after the second day. The water pressure was rather low, which made showering a challenge at times. In general, the bathrooms lack imagination and functionality.

Meals: breakfast was good and inexpensive. Lunch was tasty too, though nothing special. There's a restaurant next door (just opposite the bike rental) which serves slightly better food and is a little cheaper. But nobody there speaks even a word English. We are Mandarin speakers, so that wasn't an obstacle, but it might be a bit challenging for non-Chinese speakers. They do have a menu in English though. In any case, give it a try if you stay for a few days.

Service: erratic. Faye was very responsive to my emails and arranged our airport pickup perfectly. In general, staff was friendly and helpful. They arranged kayaking (highly recommended), bamboo rafting and Longji drifting for us and were always ready to provide some advice.
On the day we were supposed to go drifting, things went horribly wrong. We were supposed to be picked up at a certain time, so we needed to have an early lunch. We told the staff we needed to hurry but didn't realize they were very busy with a group of tourists. Half an hour later and we still didn't have a single dish. We were then told that we needed to wait for another half an hour. It's just impossible to put a tourist group that was just there for lunch ahead of hotel guests. So we cancelled everything and went to the restaurant next door, which was also very busy that day. Eventually we only managed to get some take-away, which we ate in the taxi to Yangshuo where we were supposed to catch our bus to the Longji drifting. But once we had arrived in Yangshuo we were informed that we had been given the wrong time. The bus had left long ago and we needed to wait for another hour for the next one. So all that waiting and stress for nothing. The hotel staff should know better, since this is one of the most popular things to do in Yangshuo.

We were left with the impression that we could pay by credit card, but a day before our departure we were told that the credit card machine got some problems, so we needed to pay in cash. I wonder if they even have credit card facilities. Point is that we could have gotten that cash before arrival instead of wasting time going back to town to that ATM machine.

Overall, the Secret Garden is certainly a good option in Yangshou. I do love this place and I hope they can resolve certain issues over time. I was tempted to give it an average rating, but it's better than that. Excellent it isn't though.

Tips: if you're in Yangshou for a couple of days, do kayaking on the Li River. That part s closed to most traffic, so you'll hardly come across any other boat.
If you go bamboo rafting, do so in late afternoon when most tourists have gone. It's a zoo during the day. And don't start at Yulong Bridge. There's another bridge about 1km north, which is far better. It gives you more time for the same price. We cycled from Secret Garden to that bridge. They took care of our bicycles and we picked them up again at the end. The staff at Secret Garden told us to ride along the north bank of the Yulong River on a rocky path. We got lost twice trying to find it until a local told us that we should just cross the bridge. It was smooth riding from there. No idea why Secret Garden wouldn't recommend that path in the first place. We arrived at the bridge at 5pm only, but we had the whole river to ourselves. There was no other raft for the next 90 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kookoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your thorough review. I will certainly work on the points you mentioned to try and improve all aspects of our hotel. What a pity you didn't mention the small issue with the shower door at the time. I could have fixed that immediately for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great place to stay and great staff except for one. I am writing this review so that they would treat guests with respect, after all thats the most important thing in hospitality industry. Faye, the lady at the reception was very rude, their website mentioned that they offer train tickets service and we asked for tickets to Hanoi and she said she would get back to us, its of no problem till then but the next day we had to ask her twice about it again and she wasn't clear enough what the status was. We were absolutely fine with that and there is nothing wrong if she couldn't arrange for the tickets but she was talking to the person next to her in Mandarin that we were "troublesome". Now we do speak mandarin and understand mandarin, thats an unacceptable behaviour. The next day me and my friends were having breakfast and an old Canadian/American couple were sitting across from us, they happen to have had a good time and the lady was laughing out load, faye walks in to take the order and she didn't notice we were there and then she turned around and started imitating the old lady with sarcasm. On the other hand, the other staff were super friendly especially Peter who helped us with everything we needed and was a super friendly guy. The rooms were top class and the food was very good. I hope they won't repeat such things in the future. I would have give 5 stars if that lady was friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UdayTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback which Faye would like to respond to. Her meaning was that it was obtaining the soft sleeper tickets that was 'troublesome'. Her comment was not intended as a complaint or criticism. She is very distraught that you felt this was directed at you personally and apologises for any unhappiness this has caused you. We are glad you were happy with all other aspects of your stay with us and apologise for this misunderstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I travelled to Guilin/Yangshuo for 4 nights and spent some time debating where to stay (Guilin vs. Yangshuo and then noisy Yangshuo town vs. a quiet village). I'm so glad I chose to stay at the Secret Garden because I was looking for a quiet place with beautiful views. The hotel turned out to have a great location, very personal service and has been built in a unique traditional style with various areas to explore!

The hotel is in a small, traditional village surrounded by fields, mountains and close to the Yulong river yet has all the basic needs to help you feel at home. With great English speaking staff, decent Wifi and even delicious home made Western food (and of course safe, yummy local food) on the menu it makes your stay very comfortable. I found all the staff to be very helpful, (Faye, Peter and my driver among others) - they were a great help to advise on tours and will arrange everything for you which was important to me as I travelled alone and have no Chinese language skills. I recommed that you make the most of their tour suggestions and also take the time to explore the surrounding village.

One piece of advice that I can suggest is that due to the boutique nature of the hotel, sometimes the reception staff are not sufficient to deal with people visiting the restuarant, asking questions about tours, calling in on the phones etc. so don't be afraid to directly order your food with kitchen staff or ask other staff around for some help - their English may not be as good but if you can convey what you need then they will be very happy to help you!

Whether alone or with friends and family, I would definitely go back for more!

Room Tip: A suite on the top floor is great value and has a lot of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vikrams8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

On behalf of Faye, Peter, Mao (your driver) and the rest of our Secret Garden family, thank you for your kind words. We will be here waiting for you when you do 'come back for more'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Quaint 11 room boutique hotel about 1/2 hr from Yangshuo . If You need relaxation after the hustle of the city this is your place. Most flights are from Gillian and then it is up to the traveler to decide to arrive by boat, bus, or private vehicle.
Don't be fooled when you arrive! The entrance is a little "quaint" , But once inside you will find the best service ever. Tonya and say will do anything to make their customers happy. The rooms are scattered over a large area of the hotel with sitting areas in many different spots. There are nooks and crannies everywhere for sitting or just enjoying the company of the other guests. One of the most delightful features is the Ecclectic group of guests from all over the world. The rooms are very large, comfortable with a large bathroom space. The beds are soft and comfortable with enough hellos and a nice comforter to be able to get a good nights sleep. The air conditioning controls are written in Chinese therefore I wrote out a new paper to be handed to the guests so that they can understand how to make the air-conditioning work. I had the misfortune of not understanding and spent the first night very uncomfortable. There are many attractions to go to from this area also. The walking paths are very quaint and I and easy safe walk anywhere you want to go. A lot of photo ops are on these quaint walks. You can also rent a bicycle right outside the hotel. a driver can be had at any time to take you to any of the attractions My favorite above all else and not to be missed is the evening attraction in Younshuo called the Light Show .It is a musical display by one of the Beijing Olympics choreographers that plays out on a lake with magnificent lighting and a cast of hundreds. People come from all over China to view this and it is an inside look to the culture and the music of China. To me, it was one of the highlights of my trip to China. Unfortunately I did not get a chance to see the race patties in the hills which requires a all day trip however those that went said it is a trip not to be missed. I also took a raft ride down the Li River which was a relaxing two hours. There are many other things around to be done. Many people rent bikes and just ride around the countryside often with guides.Two things to keep in mind when coming to this area one is to bring an insecticide as mosquitoes are quite prevalent in the rice patties. Two is to bring cash as credit cards are not accepted even though the travel sites say they are. All in all this is a very special area of China to visit to see the way the real Chinese live

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perWarrenton_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Tanya, Faye and the rest of us are all happy you enjoyed our hotel and beautiful surroundings. We are also glad you got the opportunity to meet and interact with some of our other wonderful visitors whilst you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel pretty much tops our list of places to stay.
We arrived very late in Yangshuo after a heavily delayed flight, however the hotel arranged airport pickup from Guilin and the hotel manager, Tania, stayed up and guided our taxi through the pitch black, winding country roads to the hotel by phone. We arrived at 130am, and were made to feel very welcome.
The level of service maintained by Faye, Tania and team throughout the rest of the stay remained excellent, and all our needs were met.
They arranged everything from transport (taxis, e-bikes, gas scooters and motorcycles) to rafting, caving (with mud bath) and cooking (and many more activities), while ensuring our time at the hotel was relaxed and fun.
The hotel is about 30 mins from Yangshuo town, but is worth venturing to because of the unspoilt surroundings. The hotel is made up of a collection of old, rustic village buildings in the heart of a small Chinese village, surrounded by local farms (that you can wander) and an amazing cast landscape. (If you are in doubt about the distance from Yangshuo you need not worry due to the hotel's ability to arrange transport at short notice, and with each visit to the delightful town, we were still eager to get back to Secret Garden).
The various courtyards throughout the hotel make for peaceful reading, eating and drinking, and the level of effort and detail the owners have put into the layout means you could spend days relaxing in the grounds without having to leave.
The kitchen also has a good range of local and western food, and we couldn't fault anything we ate. Their pizzas rivaled western ones and we're the best we've eaten in our two years in China!
Our two young children (6 and 4 yrs old) thoroughly enjoyed their stay, and were made to feel as welcome as we were. They enjoyed exploring the nooks and crannies of the hotel, but the multitude of uneven steps probably means parents of toddlers may want to delay their stay until their kids are more stable on their feet. The staff gave guidance on safety of local activities for the kids.
The only recommendation we gave was to build a swimming pool - then we'd never leave!
We will definitely return here.


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajphelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thanks from Faye, Tania and the rest of our team for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed exploring and relaxing in our buildings, courtyards and gardens. We all definitely look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
1.3 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
626 reviews
4.3 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,125 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 483 in Yangshuo County
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 483 in Yangshuo County
308 reviews
8.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 483 in Yangshuo County
254 reviews
4.7 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#5 of 483 in Yangshuo County
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Boutique Hotel

Address: Jiuxian Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: £26 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden is a boutique hotel and restaurant near the Yulong River in the stunning Yangshuo countryside. Our hotel consists of Qing Dynasty buildings that have been beautifully restored in order to preserve the historic character, while providing customers with a unique and inspirational environment in which to relax or explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Secret Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing